Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Waldorf Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Waldorf Salad

    Average Rating:

    27 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 27

    Sort by:

    • on April 24, 2007

      Waldorf Salad Deluxe! This was amazing. I added some dried, sweetened cranberries, but followed the recipe otherwise. Thank you Mary for posting this delightful and scrumptious recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2011

      My favorite recipe for waldorf salad! The banana melds with the dressing to complement tart apples perfectly. All the ingredients are usually found in my kitchen, so I make it often as a no-cook side dish for barbecued meats, in place of potato salad. As JOY1998 suggested, dried cranberries are a tasty addition.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2009

      This was a very good and refreshing salad. Next time, I will only make 1/2 the dressing - it was too much for me. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2008

      Really nice balance of flavors and reminded me of my own mother's recipe. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2006

      First ime I have put grapes in my waldrof salad. Everyone liked it. No leftovers. Thanks Mary Leverington. Bullwinkle.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2013

      For some reason this salad brings back a childhood memory although I don't remember my Mom making it. Anyway it's part salad, part dessert all in one. I didn't use grapes. Be sure to toast the walnut pieces at 350 for about 10 minutes and let cool before adding. Yum!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2010

      The original recipe for Waldorf salad, which you claim this is, only contained apples, celery, and mayonnaise. While this recipe does sound delicious, it is not true to the original.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2010

      What an outstanding dish. I doubled the recipe. I couldn't stop eating this. I put some aside while I was preparing other dishes for Thanksgiving dinner. I kept going back for more. This is truly delicious.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2009

      The bananas and marshmallows take this over the top, making it my favorite waldorf salad! Thanks Mary, for another great recipe. Roxygirl

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2009

      I made this for dinner tonight...it was delish! Reminds me of my grandmothers only updated lol! Out of preference I left out the bananas and marshmallows...I added a couple of sprinkles of nutmeg...It was a huge hit...will make this many times again...Thanks so much for posting this great recipe!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2007

      Excellent! Very similar to what my mother made when I was a child, with the exception of the bananas & cream. We called it "5 cup salad".

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2007

      I made this for Easter dinner and I have to tell everyone that it is the best waldorf salad. Everyone wanted the recipe.I only added 1 cup raisins and 2 extra apples. Great recipe Mary Leverington!!! Easy to prepare.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2007

      Big Hit Made this as per your recipe. Everyone asking for thirds! Ran out. Well done. What a unique taste P.S. Try my Canadian Latke!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2006

      Your salad recipe was a big hit, although my husband has asked me to leave out the marshmallows next time!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2006

      A fairly good salad but certainly not the original. The original, as published in the Waldorf's cookbook of 1896 contained only apples, celery, and mayonnaise. Walnets were added in about the 1920's.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2005

      This was the salad I made for Thanksgiving this year. I prepared it the day before and it turned out extremely well and was very much enjoyed by all. I'm sure I'll be making it again and again. Got lots of compliments. Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2005

      Delicious! Delighted to have found the exact recipe that my mother in law used every holiday. She has been gone for many years and this recipe brought back many happy memories for my husband. Thank you so much for making our holiday celebrations even more joyful!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2005

      WOW, just like mom used to make. Everyone that tried it loved it and had seconds or even thirds. I used 3 different kinds of apples in mine. Red Delicious, Empires, and Honeycrisp. we're in appple country here.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2005

      This recipe is great and so easy to make. I had never had it with bananas but it was great. I made it one friday night and was making more again on Sunday. Thank You!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2014

      Just made this recipe and tried it before even chilling it. It is really good. I added a few dried cranberries which was the only change. My wife is going to be happy tonight. We used to get a decent apple salad a a local Family Buffet but it closed and we missed our apple salad. This one is much better and now we can have it when we want it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Fruit Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Waldorf Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (170 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 325.5
     
    Calories from Fat 190
    58%
    Total Fat 21.2 g
    32%
    Saturated Fat 3.5 g
    17%
    Cholesterol 15.7 mg
    5%
    Sodium 301.6 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 35.2 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 2.6 g
    10%
    Sugars 20.6 g
    82%
    Protein 2.7 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites