Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Waldorf Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Waldorf Salad

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on February 15, 2010

      Made this based on the ingredients I had on hand. It was a little too sweet for us and would have liked a little more celery in proportion to the apples.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2009

      Wonderful salad. I left out the brown sugar, as I didn't see a need to add it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2007

      The memories this brings back. As one of my mom's favorites, I had it at least once a month growing up. I made it with walnuts and just as written and it's perfect. Crunchy, sweet and delicious. Don't change it and don't leave anything out and it's wonderful.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2009

      Delicious. I used 4 different kinds of apples which gave this salad a great taste. I've made Waldorf Salads before but have never added the brown sugar. I love the way the brown sugar offset the slight lemon tang. We used walnuts and added some dried cranberries. Great recipe, thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2009

      Very good! I made it as written but lo and behold I was out of brown sugar! I was so sure I had some. I used white sugar instead and adjusted the amount by taste. I think next time I may leave out the celery, to me it was a bit overwhelming in taste. My husband loves "apple salad" this was simple and quick. I added a pear in with my apples and used walnuts for the nuts.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2008

      Yummy! I added a little more mayo, cinnamon and nutmeg. I also had some grapes that needed used up- so I halved them and tossed them in. YUM! I served this with grilled sliced ham, made a great summer dinner. thanks for the post Nancy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2008

      Nancy, your recipe for Waldorf Salad is wonderful. Though this is considered a "typical" recipe, I like the flavor. It allows for ALL of the items to be tasted, not overwhelmed by just one flavor. I enjoy wrapping your recipe in Leaf Lettuce and serving as a finger-food. Great for buffets! Also, we love it with cashews for an extra twist.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2007

    • on April 04, 2007

      Waldorf has always been one of - if not "the" - my favorite. Over the years by experimenting I have come up with what I enjoy as the best dressing for it. Mayonaise, lemon juice, Durkee's Sauce (careful, it is strong,) and poppy seeds. I try to make the dressing the day before to let the flavors blend.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2006

      I tried this recipe and about 4 others for Thanksgiving and I was thrilled with everyone I tried. This one was a walk down memory lane for me cuz my Mom always made this for the holidays.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2006

      I found it didn't have enough flavor as written, so I added another tsp. of lemon juice, 2 tsp of honey, and some salt and black pepper. That did it. Looking at the other reviews, it seems I wasn't alone in needing more sweetness. Good basic recipe though, and I look forward to playing with it in the future!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2005

      So simple and so good. I made mine with walnuts and Miracle Whip. We had this tonight with The Best Potato Soup Ever! # 145488 and garlic cheese toast.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2004

      Yum. I added mini marshmellows and DH and I enjoyed it as a side with barbecue chicken.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2004

      OK, now I know what was missing: time. I'd suggest giving it a few hours/ overnight just so the flavors do their thing. I shared some with the neighbor because he said this was his favorite salad. Too bad--now i have to make more for me tomorrow.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2003

      This is the Waldorf Salad that I remember as a child, simple and flavorful. For the nuts, I added my "Sweet & Spicy Glazed Nuts" (#57257)which added a nice crunch yet the spiciness was not overpowering. I know I'll make this one again. Thank you for sharing it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Waldorf Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (264 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 326.0
     
    Calories from Fat 209
    64%
    Total Fat 23.2 g
    35%
    Saturated Fat 2.8 g
    14%
    Cholesterol 10.2 mg
    3%
    Sodium 301.7 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 31.9 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 5.0 g
    20%
    Sugars 18.5 g
    74%
    Protein 2.1 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes