Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Waldorf Brown Rice Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Waldorf Brown Rice Salad

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on June 01, 2010

      I easily veganized this by using Vegenaise instead of mayonnaise and Silk brand soy yogurt instead of dairy yogurt. I made it for a vegan picnic potluck, and it was a huge hit! It was delicious but also deceptively easy to throw together. I used the cranberry option and also threw in 1/2 cup of chopped carrots. Next time I will increase the celery because I wanted to taste more of it, but that's just personal preference. I will definitely make this again. It was a hearty and satisfying take on a classic. Made as a recipenap for Veg*an Swap, June 2010.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2008

      I've been looking for make-ahead healthy things for my lunches, and this worked wonderfully. I used 3 apples (as they were sort of going bad and had lots of places that needed to be cut out), cranberries, left off the celery, and used pecans instead of walnuts. I also found that the only yogurt I had was bad so I used fat free sour cream to which I added a dash of vanilla and a dash of splenda. This has a nice mild flavor. I love that it can be made ahead of time and keeps for a few days. If I was making it for my lunch again I'd half it since I don't know if I can eat all of it before it gets funny. Thanks for a great healthy and tasty one to try!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2008

      this is different but very good, I used Greek yogurt which in my opinion improves the taste anything! the only thing I measured was the brown rice, I just eye balled the rest, used dried cranberries, I think this would be great using any kind of dried fruit, thanks for sharing Syd!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2007

      This was an easy dish to put together and used up a pile of the brown rice I had leftover! As a personal preference I used a little cinnamon in this, too. Really nice change for brown rice!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2007

      My husband and I loved this! I forgot to buy brown rice, so I used white, but it was so good. Now, my son - who is a big fan of Waldorf salad - thought this was ok, but he didn't really approve of the rice. The combination kind of reminded me of an interesting rice pudding. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2007

      I made this to take to a trivia night where it was shared with 15 other people. It was very easy to throw together. I had to leave out the walnuts due to an allergy. Used the golden delicious apples and the raisins, and some plain yogurt flavored w/ vanilla and sugar. There was too much dressing for my taste, even after I added extra rice, but everyone else seemed to really like it--some even went back for seconds (and there were lots of other choices!). I'll make this again but cut back on the dressing. Thanks Syd!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2007

      I had a little leftover brown rice and so scaled down the recipe for 2 servings. I used red delicious apple and craisins. I didn't serve over greens. A great tastiing, creamy, slightly sweet salad that I enjoyed. Thank Mike!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2007

      This is a real gem. Quick and easy to prepare and just delicious. Not sure what kind of apple I used but it was very crisp and sweet, perfect for this salad. Mixing mayonnaise and yogurt is one of my favorite ways to make a lowfat dressing - (mayo provides body while the yogurt provides creaminess) - and here they were in great balance. I was just about done making this recipe when I realized I was just about out of walnuts so my salad had only half of the stated amount. That may have given it a little less crunch, but that was amply supplied by the apples and celery.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Waldorf Brown Rice Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (114 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 140.5
     
    Calories from Fat 63
    45%
    Total Fat 7.0 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 0.7 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 2.1 mg
    0%
    Sodium 168.7 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 20.3 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 2.7 g
    11%
    Sugars 13.8 g
    55%
    Protein 2.0 g
    4%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    cooked whole grain brown rice

    nonfat vanilla yogurt

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites