180 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Amazing icing, probably the best icing I've ever made... although it was the strangest icing recipe. Overall the cake is delicious but dry, and I checked it early and took it out as soon as the toothpick came out clean. I will definitely try it again, and try to adjust ingredients to moisten it up.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SugarLandLorrie February 13, 2012

This is, by far, my favorite cake. I grew up with this cake and had it for my birthday every year. We always called it $200.00 Red Cake because of the urban legend regarding someone sending for the recipe and receiving a bill for $200.00 for that recipe. I did not know until I was an adult that the real name was Red Velvet Cake. I find it interesting that after all these years the cake is now more popular than ever! And for good reason... YUM!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
krisnjeffrey February 08, 2012

Like others, I used butter instead of shortening and half the amount of food colouring. It looks and tastes great.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shooter77 January 19, 2012

The frosting is a total winner as well, not sweet at all. It is similiar to one I have been using for years.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hilty January 09, 2012

Wow...made this for my sons birthday and this is absolute bliss. The frosting is die for! Great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sunnydaze1004 January 08, 2012

I made this cake for the first time today. It turned out beautifully (3 high layers), even at almost 7,000 feet! I'd recommend a traditional cream cheese and butter frosting, however.
The batter is extremely thick, but don't panic -- it's not dry after baking.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Durango Cook December 21, 2011

I had never had red velvet before this year. I made these for my son's first birthday party on Kentucky Derby Saturday. I picked red velvet just because I thought they would be nice "red rose" compliment to the party. I am now a hooked fan of red velvet forever!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
missteddi December 16, 2011

I have never made red velvet cake before but my cousins love it, so I decided to make it for a party that we are having friday night. It is an easy recipe to follow and really very basic. I did substitute butter for the shortening. I also just bought myself a KithcenAid stand mixer (Merry Christmas to ME!!), so when the reviews said to make sure you beat it until its really fluffy, well thats what I did! The texture of this batter was absolutely amazing! I made cupcakes and the recipe makes 24. Well, I have to make another batch today or tomorrow as I only have a dozen left. The family got into them and now they have a new favourite! Thanks for the recipe. Its a definite keeper!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
canadianeh93 December 15, 2011

My first red velvet cake to take to work. Liked the color and added strawberry halves on top of the frosting. Looked great! But, I was disappointed - it was too dry. Everyone agreed. Also, the receipe didn't specify what type of vinegar to use (I used apple cider but later noticed another recipe that specified white vinegar). Compared this recipe to others and it seemed like a great recipe. I'd like to make it again but next time I will use either butter or vege oil rather than shortening (not sure of the quantity yet) and use heavy cream rather than milk for the frosting. I wanted to give the recipe all 5 stars but the cake being dry and uncertain what type of vinegar to use, can only it 3 stars. If/when I make it again and if it turns out good, I will let you know what I did different.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Koriander December 13, 2011

Alot of work ams.I would rate mediocre, at best. NO ONE HAD SECONDS. That pretty much sums it up.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mguros October 28, 2011
Waldorf-Astoria Red Velvet Cake