Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Waldorf-Astoria Red Velvet Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Waldorf-Astoria Red Velvet Cake

    Average Rating:

    175 Total Reviews

    Showing 141-160 of 175

    Sort by:

    • on February 11, 2008

      delicious! This was my first red velvet cake ever!! I made it for my friend's 21st birthday and dusted the top with a little cocoa powder to hint at the main flavor of the cake. I used kittencal's recipe for vanilla buttercream for the frosting (Kittencal's Bakery Buttercream Frosting/Icing). Everyone LOVED it. Make sure to grease your nonstick cake pan and dust it with some cake flour to ensure that your cake comes out clean. I'm about to make some valentine cupcakes from this and add some purple food coloring to the frosting and pink sprinkles on top.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2008

      I had never had red velvet cake before and wanted to give it a try. The only problem was that since I had nothing to compare it to, I didn't know if it tasted like it was supposed to. I brought the remainder of the cake to work and everyone said it was fantastic and tasted perfectly like red velvet cake. The only alterations I made was I used margarine instead of shortening and butter and 2% milk instead of buttermilk.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2008

      I loved this! Made it for my daughters b-day party. It was time consuming but, worth it. It was a nice change from everyday cakes. I didn't realize how much red dye it takes. The little bottles are only .25 oz. Make sure you buy a bigger bottle. I used the vanilla in step 2 to help make the paste. It worked out though and the color was still red. Great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2008

      OK, so I made this cake twice. The first time in a bundt pan. Half the cake stuck in the pan. So, I did it again in regular round cake pan -- extra grease . Still -- stuck to the pans? Anyone else have this problem? I liked the flavor of the cake, but it was a little dry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2007

      Perfect! An old family tradition that was lost and now found!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2007

      This is the exact recipe my mom has used since the 1960's for every holiday meal. I made it for the first time this year and it brought back so many memories. One hint...the cake is actually moister is you make ahead and freeze. Take it out the night before, thaw, slice to make 4 layers and ice!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2007

      My Gramma used to make this cake for my father when he was a child and then when I came along I was able to experience the magic that this cake creates... But some how her recipe was lost, so thank God you have the same exact one that she made, so I went and was able to make it and it was just the same as when she was alive, it warmed my heart and brought tears to my eyes and also so many loving memories back!! I am getting married and we have decided to have this as our wedding cake, to celebrate with all of our loved ones and give them a piece of the joy that it has brought me through out my life with my gram... I will admit, I have to scrap my first try, because if you don't mix and do everything right, it does come out a little off (meaning dry and over bearing of cocoa and food coloring), but it was such a great experience I really didn't mind. So to all that are going to make this... just take your time and double check and when it comes out and you can enjoy, now you know how a little piece of heaven taste!! Thanks again, you really have made my life a little brighter!! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2007

      this is the first red velvet cake i have made at home and i loved it!!!the only difference was that i used the icing in a can instead of the recipe that came with it!!overall-loved it loved it loved it!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2007

      The recipe was dry. I could taste the food coloring and I only used ONE ounce..I can imagine if I used two ounces. I used Paula Deans recipe for the frosting and that was the best part of it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2007

      I was not impressed with this cake at all... a regular box of red velvet cake is better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2007

      The cake has a wonderful flavor and is well worth making again, but I felt it was a little dry. Otherwise, very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2007

      I had never made a Red Velvet cake before and so this was very fun and different. I replaced butter for the shortening, like many others and only used 1 ounce of red food coloring not 2, which still made it very red. Only filled up 2 8 inc. pans, and it took a little longer than 30 minutes for them to cook all the way though in the middle, but that may just be my oven. I iced it with cream cheese icing made purple (on request) for my son's birthday cake. Altogther this was a great experience and look forward to making it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2007

      My unit manager requested this cake for her birthday and it was not a disappointment - a heavy, but moist cake with a mild chocolate flavor. After reading all of the comments, I opted to use butter flavor crisco and was not disappointed - it yielded a moist, flavorful cake. I noticed that one comment said they used "1 tsp instead of 2 tsp" of the food coloring, but please note: THIS RECIPE CALLS FOR OUNCES NOT TEASPOONS of food coloring - that equates to 4 tablespoons!!! The frosting was delicious and light, but I felt that I really needed to double the recipe, especially if you cut the layers in half - I did not, just having 3 8" round layers, and almost did not have enough of the single batch to entirely frost the cake. I will definitely make this cake again!! Thanks Troy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2007

      I made this after my daughter requested red velvet for her birthday cake. I doubled the recipe and made in a dark non stick roasting pan to make a sheet cake! Turned out excellent! Also, just a note on the frosting, I usually scrape every bit of frosting OFF any cake I eat, NOT THIS! Yummy! Like sweetend butter so rich & velvety! I waivered & almost used canned, SO GLAD I made the frosting! I am drooling at the thought of this made as cupcakes with pecans oushed into frosting!!! Thanks Troy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2007

      I've made this cake for almost 50 years,it is the most requested recipe for my family at Christmas and Thanksgiving. My original recipe it calls for chopped pecans and coconut to be added to the frosting. I think it definitely adds a finishing touch to this cake. The flour and milk must be cooked and cooled completely. And butter in this frosting should also be at room temperature. The most Wonderful Red Velvet Cake. Try it

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2007

      HOLY MOLY!!!! Made this cake for a bridal luncheon where the brides colors will be black dresses and the flowers will be deep red roses. Made this recipe x 1 1/2 and 2 batches of icing.This made 4 really high layers which I had to use some wooden dowels to support this towering creation. OMG!! this was absolutely incredible! So moist and the icing is TDF!! I did use the "baker's superfine sugar" and it took no time to cream the butter/sugar/vanilla. Decorated this with a mini bouquet of dark red roses from Aldi's (2.99) on the top layer and used the rose leaves around the bottom of the cake on the cake stand. The hostess used this as a centerpiece for the table instead of the pricey floral arangement deliverd by the florist. Thanks for submitting, Troy, will definitely use this again. It was fabulous!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2007

      I have this same recipe and it is exact with the exception of the sugar. Mine calls for 2 1/2 cups, also calls for 1 tsp. butter flavoring (opt.). This is a wonderful cake. My sister-in-law makes a "Red Velvet" cake a lot for my parents, but not sure if her recipe is the same as this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2007

      Wonderful! I used 1 tsp red food coloring instead of 2 and it turned out perfectly. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2007

      This was amazing. I halved the recipe, used dutch process cocoa, and a buttermilk substitute. I've heard red velvet cakes are easy to overbake, and my oven runs hot, so I baked it at 325 and watched it carefully - took about 22 minutes. Take it out just when a toothpick near the center comes out relatively clean. It will be red, just make sure it's not gooey. Moist, fine texture, and delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2007

      this was very tasty! it seemed a little dry to me at first but after i frosted it with cream chese frosting it seemed to moisten up to my liking. i only used one ounce food coloring and it was definitely red enough. love this cake and so did my bf.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Waldorf-Astoria Red Velvet Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (148 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 511.0
     
    Calories from Fat 233
    45%
    Total Fat 25.9 g
    39%
    Saturated Fat 12.7 g
    63%
    Cholesterol 75.3 mg
    25%
    Sodium 478.0 mg
    19%
    Total Carbohydrate 65.7 g
    21%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 42.7 g
    171%
    Protein 5.0 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites