184 Reviews

Best red velvet I have ever made. Its not overly sweet, yet its delicious and moist. It is a bit time consuming but it is well worth it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
elizabethk92 August 21, 2013

I have never tried baking and only recently I decided to learn how to make cakes from scratch. This is the first red velvet cake that I have tried. I read reviews and decided to use butter instead of shortening. I also used only one bottle of red dye. For the frosting, I took some advise and added the flour mixture while it was still slightly warm, and beat well. The cake came out perfect! Everyone absolutely loved it. Thanks for the reviews that helped make this such a wonderful cake.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lmgibson02 August 17, 2013

the best red velvet cake I have tried as of yet...and believe me I think I have tried them ALL. anything that has been on the internet and even doctoring boxed cakes. trust me when I say I HIGHLY doubt there is one out there that is better. I followed it exactly except for adding a tiny bit more sugar and topping with cream cheese frosting

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sweet face August 13, 2013

One more thing, make sure you get two one ounce jars of the Wilton No-Taste Red Food Coloring for this divine cake. Don't dare ruin it by using that disgusting watery cheap food dye found in grocery stores!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lisam5305 August 11, 2013

This recipe was awesome. I didn't have cake flour so i used all purpose flour and substituted butter for shortening and it was delicious and fluffy. The frosting was just perfect. Oh so yummy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ohbaby76 May 24, 2013

I was a little disappointed in this cake - it was coarse-textured and a bit dry. I was expecting a finer-textured cake. However, my family told me that it tasted good!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anne Mossman March 11, 2013

Made for V-Day...OMG this is the BEST cake I have ever had. Was simple but time consuming, would def recommend making if you really want to show some love, just know it is very NOT fat free. I sifted flour and sugar just to be sure it was airy and lump free. Enjoy this one folks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef ccanyon February 14, 2013

I made this yesterday, but as cupcakes. I substituted butter as suggested. The cake is delicious and the icing is gourmalicious! Will be using this recipe for Red Velvet from now on. My kids prefered this icing to the usual cream chees frosting. It was easy to make and to pipe. The recipe was clearly a hit with the family, as 24 hours later, there is not a crumb left :-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Diana359 January 28, 2013

I've tried several recipes and this is my favorite. I'm actually not a huge fan of RV cake (it tastes a little plain to me) but my kids always ask for this and as far as RV cake goes, this is the best. The frosting is the best part of it. I think that the people who had trouble with the frosting don't know what to expect with it, so some additional pointers in the recipe would help (which I got from other recipes for this frosting on the web). For one, you have to cook the roux until it's nearly solid, like the consistency of brownie batter. It's OK if there are a few lumps in it - I've never gotten it silky smooth but you definitely need to whisk the whole time. It could easily take 5 minutes for it to set up completely (I start with a little flour and milk, then add the rest of the milk gradually). When it's cool, it will be a solid, gelatinous mass. When creaming the butter, sugar & vanilla (and it really is granulated sugar, not confectioner's), whip for several minutes until it's fluffy and almost white. Then add in the cooled lump of roux. It will break the frosting down and will look like a lumpy, curdled mess. Keep mixing. Walk away and do some dishes or something and come back a few minutes later. Eventually, it will pull back together and take on the consistency and color of whipped cream. It will not be thin or runny, it will hold up just fine to heat and humidity. It will have the airy look of real whipped cream and the sugar will be completely dissolved.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jwalsh2000 January 12, 2013

Made this into cupcakes. It made 16 normal size cupcakes. There were beautiful, airy and light. Not dry at all and easy to eat!! Will be making these for Christmas time to share with the family. Boyfriend loved them!
I used butter instead of shortening.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FaithFluro October 22, 2012
Waldorf-Astoria Red Velvet Cake