Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Waldorf-Astoria Red Velvet Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Waldorf-Astoria Red Velvet Cake

    Average Rating:

    175 Total Reviews

    Showing 101-120 of 175

    Sort by:

    • on April 21, 2009

      I made this for a friend's birthday party (check out the picture :) I iced it with cream cheese icing instead of the one that is posted here. Unfortunately, I wasn't able to attend the party and didn't get a piece of the cake. Everyone at the party gave it rave reviews! The birthday girl said it was the best red velvet cake she's ever had! I will definately make this cake again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2009

      I substituted one cup of butter for the 1/2cup shortening and the cake was tender and moist. I added a little warm milk to the frosting after whipping it for nearly 6 minutes to dissolve the granulated sugar and it worked perfectly. I kept the cake refridgerated until just a little while before serving. The cake disappeared and is a definite redo.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2009

      This cake turned out pretty, but the taste was just okay, nothing special. The texture was good, but dry. I baked it as two round layers and then sliced them after cooling. I made the frosting listed, mainly because I was intrigued. Make sure to stir constantly, as I left it for just a minute and it was already "clotting". I used half & half, so that may have played a part. I took it off the heat and whisked it until most of the pieces broke up, then returned it to the heat and it set up immediately. It was like a soft dough ball. I went ahead with the frosting, figuring I could always make something else if I had to. I beat the sugar, butter & vanilla for at least ten minutes before adding the cooled doughy lump. Surprisingly, it incorporated well and the taste was good except for the graininess of the sugar, so I drizzled in 2T of hot half & half to help it dissolve. After a few more minutes of whipping, I stuck the bowl in the refrigerator to firm up the frosting just a bit. I filled between the layers with this and frosted the outside of the cake with a cream cheese frosting. I have to say, I think I prefer the frosting listed with the recipe. It's very fluffy, subtle and buttery and now that I know what to expect, I will probably make it again, just not with this cake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2009

      The cake was a big disappointment. It was very dense and not good tasting. My grandsons, who are big Red Velvet fans missed the cream cheese icing too. I thought the icing was good but needed to strained after cooling, i stained it before.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2009

      Couldn't resist, had to make it for Valentine's Day. What a vibrant and pretty cake! I did notice that it was a bit dry. Several reviews mentioned this. I was careful to pull it from the oven the second a toothpick ran clean. Butter or a mixture of butter and shortening must be a better way to go. The cake was a sinch to make although, the frosting was different story. I suggest mixing a very small amount of milk into sifted flour until it forms a smooth paste, then slowly add the remaining milk and stir thoroughly If you see any lumps, start again. They don't go away even when cooked. You'll only end up with tapioca like balls in your frosting. Not good:( If you're looking for a stunner, this one's it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2009

      This cake was amazing! The only change I made was to use only 1 oz of food coloring. I made it in a 9x13 pan and then cut that in half to make my layers. The frosting was the best part! It took almost 10 minutes of constant stirring of the milk and flour but I got a nice thick roux. I creamed the butter, sugar and vanilla for a few minutes before adding the cooled roux. Beating on high took about 5 minutes for all the sugar graininess to disappear get that wonderful creamy frosting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2009

      Red Velvet Cake has been a tradition in our family for many years. We make the cake & frosting exactly as the recipe listed. We decorate the cake with green tinted coconut for a festive look. It is really a delicious cake....and the frosting is much better than the cream cheese variation. We make a double batch of frosting for this cake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2009

      I used real butter and made cupcakes with the batter and they were great. The frosting was perfect! Almost like a whipped cream but a thicker.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2009

      This was a very time consuming recipe. I even used real butter instead of the shortening. It was dry & i wasn't thrilled with it but thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2009

      I wasn't thrilled with how this turned out. I found it dry and could taste the food colouring. The frosting wasn't that great either. I would have preferred if the sugar had been icing sugar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2009

      Awesome!!!!!! As far as making a cake from scratch this was easy and it did not take as long as some of the reviews make it sound.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2008

      This cake took more time to make than I like. I wasn't crazy about the consistency of the cake. It was very dry with shortening but when I used butter, I found it to be too heavy. The cake wasn't bad but it wasn't great. I wasn't thrilled with the outcome both times and won't be making it a third.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2008

      I made red velvet cupcakes from this recipe for a birthday party and everyone LOVED them! I made three different flavors and the red velvet was gone before chocolate, carrot and vanilla! I followed the directions and they came out perfect. I did add a little more food coloring to the second batch because I wanted a deeper red,it worked. They were moist, sweet but not too sweet and gone in no time! This is a KEEPER!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2008

      The frosting is delicious and not too sweet! However, the cake came out a bit dry so I will use real butter the next time to see if it makes a difference . I baked mine in a 9x13 pan for 25 minutes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2008

      My dear grandmother made the best red velvet cake, she never measured anything, just dumped it in and it was always wonderful. She did write a recipe down to the best of her knowledge. I have lost it over the years and for 35+ years I've looked for the recipe that is like hers. This one is pretty close and was very good. I read all the reviews, decided not to use butter but used butter flavor shortening. It was good but I think it was a bit dry still. I have a friend who uses oil and no cocoa. It's always moist but I want cocoa in mine. I guess it would work using oil anyway. Well after almost writing a book, to sum it all up it was pretty tasty. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2008

      This is a wonderful, moist cake! Yes, it's time consuming, but worth it--especially the icing!! Which got more compliments than my cream cheese icing ever has. The only thing I did differently was I made cake this using 2 oz blue food coloring for my son's b-day. It went over well with adults and children alike. Just beware of blue tongues, if you use blue like I did :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2008

      I made this cake for my best friend's bday and she absolutely flipped! The cake is very moist and the frosting was light and creamy. I was a little confused about the frosting because I ended up beating it for about 12 minutes but it turned out fine. Thank you for such a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2008

      YUM!! I've madethis cake several times before, but the recipe I use doesn't call cake flour specificallly. WOW, what a difference. The cake flour makes it much softer and yummier! I would definately reccomend this to anyone who likes red cake, or has never had it. Thanks troyh.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2008

      Yum Yum! But I think it needs a bit more chocolatey goodness so I added an extra tablespoon of Cocoa.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2008

      I followed the recipe exactly. The butter substitution idea that some reviewers suggested sounded tasty but shortening blends so nicely and adds nice texture so I went with shortening. The texture of my cake is wonderful - not dry at all. I baked it at 340 degrees because my oven bakes hot. I'm sure my oven setting contributed to my nicely evenly baked cake. I also rotated my 3 pans during the baking time to ensure even baking. (I made a double recipe - 3 nine inch pans & one 8 inch - I baked the 8 inch separately). My complaint about this cake is the flavor. It's kind of blah. I also think it's not sweet enough. (I'm talking only about the cake recipe - I didn't use the icing recipe). I think the flavor was lacking but I'm not sure how to improve it. So overall, it's an ok recipe. Nice texture, easy to prepare and a beautiful looking cake but as far as flavor - you can probably find a better red velvet recipe (Or maybe I SHOULD have used butter instead of shortening!). By the way, I HAVE used this icing recipe on several occasions and it's always to rave reviews. Old fashioned recipe with wonderful flavor, not too sweet with a whipped cream like texture. It's a great icing recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Waldorf-Astoria Red Velvet Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (148 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 511.0
     
    Calories from Fat 233
    45%
    Total Fat 25.9 g
    39%
    Saturated Fat 12.7 g
    63%
    Cholesterol 75.3 mg
    25%
    Sodium 478.0 mg
    19%
    Total Carbohydrate 65.7 g
    21%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 42.7 g
    171%
    Protein 5.0 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites