184 Reviews

Can anyone help me with adjustments for high altitude on this recipe? I am at over 6000 feet. My mother-in-law has been making this recipe for Christmas for years, and we all LOVE it! The past few years we have been in Colorado, and she has not made any adjustments for elevation, and the cake has not been turning out well. This year she passed the torch to me, as I am a more experienced baker, but I am not great with cakes, and would love some help! Thanks in advance!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laurin P. December 22, 2014

I have been making this exact recipe for 20+ years, this is the first time I have seen it on the Internet. This recipe has been passed down for gererations in my family. It is an absolutely delicious cake. The only thing I do different is put the cake in refrigerator overnight before icing, it makes it even more moist.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kim C. December 13, 2014

I just finished making this for my daughters 18th birthday. Excellent! I made 24 cupcakes and they cooked for about 18 minutes. I also used special dark cocoa as it is the only cocoa I use. I don't know If it made any difference but they are so good. I also used rice vinegar because I didn't have any regular. I figured it is sweet vinegar so it would work and it did. <br/>I had also seen some reviews questioning the type of sugar to use in the frosting. I only had regular sugar so I used that but maybe would have used confectioners if I had it. It came out fine with the regular sugar, not grainy at all. I will be making these again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bellady August 06, 2014

An excellent cake. Do not skip using buttermilk or cake flour, it really makes a difference. As other users have suggested, I prefer using unsalted butter to 'shortening'. I recommend using only 1/2 oz of red food colouring, and to add it the same time as you add the vanilla. Sift the cocoa in with the flour & salt. I find the full 2oz of food far too strong, it adds a taste I don't enjoy.<br/><br/>Can't say I care for the frosting. I much prefer a cream cheese frosting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amethyst42 May 19, 2014

The Frosting is the true indulgence of this cake. My friend's mother paid $ for the recipe from the Waldorf Astoria Hotel back in the 1950's. Her recipe actually prepared the frosting 24 hrs in advance - after cooking it was to be chilled overnight! So make sure your cooked flour & milk are then chilled and firm before using. Of course, there are ways to speed that up.<br/>Also we ALWAYS made a double batch of frosting! Some don't frost the sides, but we do. And there is no harm in having extra Red Velvet Cake frosting around - it is delicious on many things!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Margaret N. May 06, 2014

PERFECT recipe! I have never liked Red Velvet Cake. It's the thought of all of that dye. Yuck! So I used Wilton gel food coloring and it became a deep red with just a tiny bit. I also subbed butter for the shortening. <br/><br/>I made sure to pull this out as soon as it was done and it was extremely moist! Those saying it was dry may want to pull it sooner or check their oven temp with a thermometer (most ovens are at least 25* off unless you get them professionally calibrated).<br/><br/>I used Alton Brown's Cream Cheese Frosting recipe and it could not have been a better pairing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PluckyMomo April 13, 2014

This is vey good. Part of the taste is the frosting made with flour,butter,and powdered sugar.Bakeries and grocery stores,no comparison. Ever get to NY city,will go to hotel just for the cake and coffee. Any time I made this cake,they all liked. With Valentine's day coming up,make this for your hubby or boyfriend. Also could be broke down to 4 or 5 inch cakes for your bestest friends. Also cupcakes too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pattibaby4 February 01, 2014

I have made this recipe numerous times and I really need to give this author credit because as long as it takes, it is worth every second! This Red Velvet is beautiful to look at and as moist and delicious as anything else I have ever tasted! I cook 3 layers in 8"round cake tins. I also serve this cake cold as I think it really brings out the moistness of the cake without falling apart. And I love cold frosting! Thank you again!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Catherine Wall January 20, 2014

I have just made cupcakes with this recipe basically because I didn't have three 8" baking tins. So as per another reviewer I halved the recipe, now I made 12 cup cakes and they came out at 15 minutes and I thought were a tad dry, so I would be interested to know how many cupcakes the previous reviewer made, maybe she made less but bigger ones. I didn't use shortening (not sure what that would be in the UK) I used stork baking margarine which is vegetable based but next time would use butter. I hadn't read all the reviews so when it came to the frosting I wasn't sure what it meant by just sugar. In the UK we have granulated sugar, caster sugar (fine granulated) and icing sugar (very fine like powder) and then we have a whole host of other sugars, golden caster sugar, muscovado, light muscovado, dark muscovado, Demerara and so on. So the upshot is I used icing sugar and then after read that it should be granulated! However I thought the frosting was superb but was 2:2 in my family on that versus regular butter cream. I think if I had used granulated the frosting wouldn't have been so sweet. The other thing was that I had bought red food colouring but when I weighed it out it was only 1/4 oz so not enough. Will make again and make the full cake but with butter.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kazd Davis November 10, 2013

Used butter instead of shortening and added 1/4 c coffee......OMG!!!! It didn't last 24 hours

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
A Taste Of Home September 25, 2013
Waldorf-Astoria Red Velvet Cake