Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Waldorf-Astoria Red Velvet Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Waldorf-Astoria Red Velvet Cake

    Average Rating:

    174 Total Reviews

    Showing 81-100 of 174

    Sort by:

    • on July 08, 2010

      This is my daughter-in-law's favorite cake recipe. I made it last year for her birthday, and she couldn't stop talking about it and kept saying how much she was looking forward to it again this year. I only used 1oz of red food coloring and it came out beautiful. I used 2 9" round cake pans, and cut in half to make a 4 layer cake. I had to make a 2nd half batch on the frosting. I'm not a big cake fan in genreral, but thought this cake is very good (for a chocolate ckae - my least favorite) and the frosting was out of this world! Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2010

    • on April 07, 2010

      SAD TO SAY, JUST OKAY. I was really looking for this to be my classic red velvet winner. I just made this today. I baked the cupcakes to 325 for 18 minutes and used butter flavored crisco shortening. Followed all the instructions otherwise perfectly. Pulled it out when it was almost toothpick clean. Also made the frosting. You MUST use the whisk for a WHILE to thoroughly combine the milk mixture with the butter mixture and after being grainy for a while will combine to a whipped texture. It also helps to have semi cold butter cut into pieces. The taste together was okay and slightly dry. One of my wedding cake tiers was a red velvet with cream cheese frosting which I think I enjoy more. Perhaps it's my palate that's not accustomed to this old classic. Unfortunately I'll continue to look for more red velvet cake recipes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2010

      This is the one and only red cake recipe. Period. My mother's hand-written recipe is entitled Waldorf-Astoria Red Cake. I was an adult before I learned that people adulterated this delicious cake with cream cheese icing or that there was another red cake out there with no cocoa in it -- yuk! To do it justice you must frost this cake with the icing recipe that comes with it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2010

      The recipe was very easy and the batter was absolutely gorgeous: shiny and smooth. My final product was a bit crumbly, which is the only reason I didn't give it 5 stars. I used classic cream cheese buttercream icing instead of what the recipe recommended. Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2010

      whoever said that this cake was dry was s lying super moist. But the amount of food coloring is...., well you have side effects. Sorry it is gross. But on taste and ease this cake is a winner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2010

      Wow, I think this is the best red velvet cake I've ever made or eaten! I didn't use the frosting provided because I used a white chocolate cream cheese frosting instead (I wanted it to be special for Valentine's Day). It was perfection!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2010

      I made this for our Valentines Day dinner. I only had one 1-oz. bottle of red food coloring, but it still gave it that red tint. I'm not sure what I did wrong, but the cake was kinda dry. We still enjoyed it, and I will try to make it again and see if the outcome is different.(I will then change my rating, if needed) Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2010

      Made this today for my wife's birthday party. The cake came out excellent but was not all that impressed with the frosting. I got many compliments from the guests. My wife just told me that I will have to make it again! Maybe a cream cheese frosting next time...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2009

      I used this cake recipe (not the frosting, though) to make a friend's wedding cake and it was a hit! The cake is delicious, moist and everything a good red velvet cake is expected to be. I, too, used butter instead of the shortening and made sure to check the cake frequently so as to not overcook. I've spoiled myself and my husband with this recipe, so much so that other RV cakes never seem to stack up. Thanks for posting the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2009

      I am very particular and used the best ingredients and followed this recipe exactly. I am sorry to say I thought it was a bit too dry. The icing was over poweringly buttery.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2009

      Beyond! Made this for the first time by special request for my 14yo's birthday. Many foodies there and they loved it. Recipe doubles beautifully. One guest had an egg allergy, so I subbed one 4oz cup of applesauce per 2 eggs. We are in an arid climate, and I baked all 4 cakes at once, which was just fine. I put a shallow pan of water on the bottom of the oven for the first 29 minutes, then removed it for the last five minutes. Wonderfully moist!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2009

      I wasn't impressed with the cake or icing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2009

      It's the all-time classic Red-Velvet Cake recipe. Look no further this is it!!! Made this cake with Kittencal's Best Cream Cheese Icing cream cheese icing as another reviewer did and the cake turned out absolutely perfect. The only change I made was to use butter instead of the shortening. I baked the cake in three 8"X1" pans and each layer took around 15-20 minutes to cook. The only thing I would change next time (besides using butter) is to make 1.5 times the recipe as the amount of batter is a little low and so did not fill my pans properly and the layers came out a little thin. But still tasted excellent thought!!!! Next time I will make 2 times the recipe and use the extra batter to make a few cupcakes and then crumble the cupcakes up to decorate the sides of the cake!!!! Excellent recipe and this will be the recipe I keep forever! Thanks for Sharing!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2009

      This cake was great! Very moist.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2009

      This is the best cake ever. Three members of my family request it every year for their Birthdays and I am one of them. It melts in your mouth and the frosting makes it heavenly. One thing I must note is that you really need to use cake flour. We made it for years with all purpose flour and it will fall apart on you. Use the cake flour!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2009

      no stars because i tried making a non-dairy version of the cake. i've used a soymilk + vinegar buttermilk substitute in many recipes and it usually works quite well. i've never actually had red velvet cake, so i don't know if i'd like a dairy version better, but this cake was very dense & dry for my taste & my family's as well, and they are diehard red velvet fans. i used soymilk & margarine for the frosting and, despite all my efforts, had the separation issue, too. i tried the add-roux-while-warm method as well as the chill-the-roux-and-use-cold-margarine method. both times the result was very tasty, just like whipped cream, but the separation was unavoidable. the frosting was grainy, but it tasted great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2009

      Great flavor, moist, awesome red velvet color. My modifications: butter in place of shortening and milk with vinegar rather than buttermilk. Also I couldn't bear to put 2 ounces of coloring and used just 1 but got a perfect color.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2009

      Not as moist as I like, but very flavorful! Will probably tweak it a bit. I did use the butter instead of the shortening. The last one I made from some other recipe had shortening only and it was even drier. It also had too much baking soda in the recipe too. You could really taste it. But this one was perfect. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2009

      I made this for a friend's birthday party (check out the picture :) I iced it with cream cheese icing instead of the one that is posted here. Unfortunately, I wasn't able to attend the party and didn't get a piece of the cake. Everyone at the party gave it rave reviews! The birthday girl said it was the best red velvet cake she's ever had! I will definately make this cake again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Waldorf-Astoria Red Velvet Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (148 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 511.0
     
    Calories from Fat 233
    45%
    Total Fat 25.9 g
    39%
    Saturated Fat 12.7 g
    63%
    Cholesterol 75.3 mg
    25%
    Sodium 478.0 mg
    19%
    Total Carbohydrate 65.7 g
    21%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 42.7 g
    171%
    Protein 5.0 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites