Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Waldorf-Astoria Red Velvet Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Waldorf-Astoria Red Velvet Cake

    Average Rating:

    174 Total Reviews

    Showing 61-80 of 174

    Sort by:

    • on March 15, 2012

      Good recipe, very moist cake, great flavor. There is one small thing I'll add...about the frosting, I go by a different recipe with cream cheese, corn starch, powdered sugar, no flour, no milk. Otherwise, fantastic.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2012

      This is a great cake. I wasn't sure about the frosting, but made it anyway. Even when the frosting was done, it wasn't my favorite. BUT once it's on the cake, it's absolutely delicious! I don't know what happens, exactly, but it blends in with the flavors of the cake and is perfect. Will make again and again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2012

      Troyh, thank you for posting this.
      I made half the batter and made 12 wonderful rich cupcakes for my moms birthday. Everyone loved them and said I should give 5 stars. The recipe was easy to follow and the frosting was good and not so time consuming as I thought, because some other reviews said so. I cooked the milk and flour mix before even starting with the cake batter, so it was cool when the batter was in the muffin tins. Than I made the frosting and it was finished when the cupcakes came out of the oven. Thank you for a great recipe.
      But if you live in Germany please note: the food coloring isn't that good, they batter turned out more brown than red, but that had nothing to do with the recipe and it didn't effect the great taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2012

      The cake is delicious. It's not difficult at all to make and not time consuming. I used 1/2 cup of butter instead of shortening and one ounce of red food coloring instead of 2 at the suggestion of other viewers. The cake was very moist. Do not overbake it.

      NOW for the frosting. It tasted a lot like Dream Whip Whipped Topping ( it is a powder you mix with milk) and I didn't care for it. My mom made it a lot when I was growing up. My family didn't like the Frosting either. Because of the milk in the frosting, I refrigerated the cake because I was afraid it would spoil. And it seemed the icing became heavy instead of light and fluffy like when I first made it. It's also time consuming. If you do decide to make the icing, double it. I used 1 1/2 times the recipe, but I really stretched it to cover all 3 layers and the sides.

      My family said that next time I make this, they want me to use buttercream icing. That's why I rated this 4 stars - because of the frosting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2012

      Amazing icing, probably the best icing I've ever made... although it was the strangest icing recipe. Overall the cake is delicious but dry, and I checked it early and took it out as soon as the toothpick came out clean. I will definitely try it again, and try to adjust ingredients to moisten it up.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2012

      This is, by far, my favorite cake. I grew up with this cake and had it for my birthday every year. We always called it $200.00 Red Cake because of the urban legend regarding someone sending for the recipe and receiving a bill for $200.00 for that recipe. I did not know until I was an adult that the real name was Red Velvet Cake. I find it interesting that after all these years the cake is now more popular than ever! And for good reason... YUM!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2012

      Like others, I used butter instead of shortening and half the amount of food colouring. It looks and tastes great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2012

      The frosting is a total winner as well, not sweet at all. It is similiar to one I have been using for years.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2012

      Wow...made this for my sons birthday and this is absolute bliss. The frosting is die for! Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2011

      I made this cake for the first time today. It turned out beautifully (3 high layers), even at almost 7,000 feet! I'd recommend a traditional cream cheese and butter frosting, however.
      The batter is extremely thick, but don't panic -- it's not dry after baking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2011

      I had never had red velvet before this year. I made these for my son's first birthday party on Kentucky Derby Saturday. I picked red velvet just because I thought they would be nice "red rose" compliment to the party. I am now a hooked fan of red velvet forever!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2011

      I have never made red velvet cake before but my cousins love it, so I decided to make it for a party that we are having friday night. It is an easy recipe to follow and really very basic. I did substitute butter for the shortening. I also just bought myself a KithcenAid stand mixer (Merry Christmas to ME!!), so when the reviews said to make sure you beat it until its really fluffy, well thats what I did! The texture of this batter was absolutely amazing! I made cupcakes and the recipe makes 24. Well, I have to make another batch today or tomorrow as I only have a dozen left. The family got into them and now they have a new favourite! Thanks for the recipe. Its a definite keeper!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2011

      My first red velvet cake to take to work. Liked the color and added strawberry halves on top of the frosting. Looked great! But, I was disappointed - it was too dry. Everyone agreed. Also, the receipe didn't specify what type of vinegar to use (I used apple cider but later noticed another recipe that specified white vinegar). Compared this recipe to others and it seemed like a great recipe. I'd like to make it again but next time I will use either butter or vege oil rather than shortening (not sure of the quantity yet) and use heavy cream rather than milk for the frosting. I wanted to give the recipe all 5 stars but the cake being dry and uncertain what type of vinegar to use, can only it 3 stars. If/when I make it again and if it turns out good, I will let you know what I did different.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2011

      Alot of work ams.I would rate mediocre, at best. NO ONE HAD SECONDS. That pretty much sums it up.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2011

      I decided to make this cake because it was the highest rated red velvet cake recipe on Google (with a substantial number of reviews). I was disappointed because the cake turned out quite dry and pretty flavorless, definitely lacking in distinct red-velvet flavor. It is extraordinarily time-consuming and pretty complicated I'd say. I did not make the frosting, I only made the cake (I made a different frosting), so I can't comment on that part of the recipe. I did use butter instead of shortening, however. I also soured regular milk with vinegar in order to create buttermilk, which is a common practice in baking and is considered a suitable substitution, but still, to give the benefit of the doubt, perhaps it was the home-made buttermilk and use of butter instead of shortening that gave a disappointing end result? Other than those two things, I followed the recipe exactly both in technique and in ingredients. This is one of the only things I have made for my friend that did not get eaten. He didn't even it half of the cake. I have made much better red velvet cakes from boxed cake mixes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2011

      IF THIS CAKE COULD KILL SPIDERS I'D GET A DIVORCE!!
      That is how good this recipe is. It was incredibly easy to follow, turned out absolutely PERFECT and I'm not usually that successful with cakes. I am SO glad that I gave this one a shot. The only modification that I made was I used unsalted butter rather than shortening, the taste is amazing. I gave a piece to my engaged friend and after just one nibble said "I have just found my wedding cake!!"
      Stunning both visually and in taste, give it a go guys & I'm sure you won't be disappointed!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2011

      I made the most delicious cupcakes using this recipe! Had some trouble with the frosting - perhaps better directions in the recipe would have helped. Read the posts below for tips with the icing - I tried again using some suggestions and the second time the frosting turned out perfectly and was soooo worth it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2011

      I looked at quite a few recipes for red velvet cake and this is the one that I chose. I will say that I am happy with the choice for the cake portion on the recipe, however, the frosting was terrible. The sugar did not dissolve and the frosting was very grainy as a result. I instead went with a lemon butter cream frosting which ended up just making the out of this world.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2011

      After a long search for the right red velvet cake recipe I chose this one. I have to say I wasn't impressed. My cake batter was very thick and once the cake was baked it was very dry. I won't make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2010

      I've never had Red Velvet cake before this so nothing to compair it to but having said that... YUM! Good cake! I only used 2 cake pans, though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Waldorf-Astoria Red Velvet Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (148 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 511.0
     
    Calories from Fat 233
    45%
    Total Fat 25.9 g
    39%
    Saturated Fat 12.7 g
    63%
    Cholesterol 75.3 mg
    25%
    Sodium 478.0 mg
    19%
    Total Carbohydrate 65.7 g
    21%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 42.7 g
    171%
    Protein 5.0 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites