Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Waldorf-Astoria Red Velvet Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Waldorf-Astoria Red Velvet Cake

    Average Rating:

    174 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 174

    Sort by:

    • on January 08, 2009

      I did read the reviews and used the butter instead of the shortening, and used 1 Tb. white wine vinegar. This cake was very moist. I did not have red food coloring, and since it was late Christmas Eve when I started baking.. what to do?? I just left it out and called this a velvet cake. I did mix amaretto & cherry juice and brush between the layers of cake, as was one suggestion. I thought that the icing was strange when I started to make, was unsure what the taste would be. I truly liked this icing. Not to sweet, not dull. I will try this icing again on Valentine's cupcakes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2003

      Really excellant recipe, Red Velvet Cake has been my favorite since I was a child. I've made different versions of this cake before, and this one was the best...by far. Although it is a little time consuming, the directions were very clear, and it all went together very well. THe end result is well worth your effort! This is the Red Velvet recipe I will make from now on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2012

      Finally , Someone who knows how to make Red Velvet Cake . It drives me crazy when people put cream cheese frosting on this cake , It ruins it . WTG Troyh!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2012

      It's a great recipe. I made the cake once and cupcakes today. The cake is just as good when it's cupcakes. The icing is always amazing. I really like this recipe, but it takes about 3-4 hours to make.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2012

      For the frosting I would like to suggest that you add a few tablespoons of the milk to the flour. Use a whisk and mix until a paste/glue consistency. You can then add the paste to the remaining milk in the saucepan. This will alleviate any lumps in your frosting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2011

      very good....i've tried several red velvet recipes and they would come out with little cocoa clumps in them and taste dry. This receips was great....the cocoa/dye paste was smooth so avoided any lumps in the batter. I made cupcakes instead of the cakes and baked for about 20min. and came out perfect. I made cream cheese frotsting since it is my fave.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2011

      To everyone who says this cake isn't good: try this, in the batter, i switched out the shortening with butter, which was way better for taste, and i mixed the cocoa into the dry ingredient mix to lighten the brown color. and i only used the food coloring last, and only enough for desired color. for the icing, instead of 3T of flour i do 1 1/2 T flour and 1 1/2 T corn starch into the milk, then i mix it up, then i strain it for lumps. then i heat it gradually in the microwave, checking it every so often and whisking until its thick and very hot. then i put in the sugar, mix it, and again strain it. then cool. when whipping flavoring and butter into it, i use a butter vanilla emulsion rather than straight vanilla. it gives it a much better flavor. and i use half the amount of butter and half shortening to hold the icing on the cake. if you do these things, it works so much better. everyone who as eaten this cake raves over it if you do it the way i did. i am a baker at a shop, and just made a wedding cake with this recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2011

      Fantastic!! My son said the frosting made it really good!
      I used butter and a tbls oil and made cupcakes. I'll definately make this again. Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2010

      This cake is wonderful! I have people raving over it every time I make it. I put the cake in the freezer immediately from the oven for about 30 minutes. I'm always asked "how did you get it so moist?". The frosting is okay, but we prefer cream cheese icing. Thanks for a great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2009

      I was completely unimpressed with the icing, and then I hardly had enough to even ice the cake with. after trying this icing, I know now that I much prefer cream cheese icing with red velvet.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2007

      Incredible cake! This is without a doubt the finest red velvet out there. I used 1/2 cup butter instead of the shortening and this cake is killer. Do yourself a favor and make a second right away cause the first wont make it through the night!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2014

      An excellent cake. Do not skip using buttermilk or cake flour, it really makes a difference. As other users have suggested, I prefer using unsalted butter to 'shortening'. I recommend using only 1/2 oz of red food colouring, and to add it the same time as you add the vanilla. Sift the cocoa in with the flour & salt. I find the full 2oz of food far too strong, it adds a taste I don't enjoy.<br/><br/>Can't say I care for the frosting. I much prefer a cream cheese frosting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2014

      The Frosting is the true indulgence of this cake. My friend's mother paid $ for the recipe from the Waldorf Astoria Hotel back in the 1950's. Her recipe actually prepared the frosting 24 hrs in advance - after cooking it was to be chilled overnight! So make sure your cooked flour & milk are then chilled and firm before using. Of course, there are ways to speed that up.<br/>Also we ALWAYS made a double batch of frosting! Some don't frost the sides, but we do. And there is no harm in having extra Red Velvet Cake frosting around - it is delicious on many things!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2014

      PERFECT recipe! I have never liked Red Velvet Cake. It's the thought of all of that dye. Yuck! So I used Wilton gel food coloring and it became a deep red with just a tiny bit. I also subbed butter for the shortening. <br/><br/>I made sure to pull this out as soon as it was done and it was extremely moist! Those saying it was dry may want to pull it sooner or check their oven temp with a thermometer (most ovens are at least 25* off unless you get them professionally calibrated).<br/><br/>I used Alton Brown's Cream Cheese Frosting recipe and it could not have been a better pairing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2014

      Thank you, thank you, THANK YOU for publishing the AUTHENTIC recipe! I have been extremely frustrated by all of the people/companies, who have been labelling dutch chocolate cakes, colored red, with cream cheese frosting as "red velvet", none of them are close to creating the scrumptious concoction that was mastered by the hotel, and that my mom has been making for 40 years at home! <br/>We?ve always sifted the cake flower 3-4 times to create a lightness to the cake, and it is HIGHLY recommended to blend the sugar in a blender to make it ?ultra-fine?. Not creating the ultra-fine sugar will leave a crunchy texture to the buttercream frosting. Well done, I?m excited that others can savor this amazing dessert now. Might I recommend a tall glass of cold milk to accompany it? Ice cream is not the same?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2014

      Made this for my granddaughters 15th birthday...she said it was the best red velvet cake she had ever had. I was worried about the icing but my husband encouraged me to use the original instead of subbing in a cream cheese icing. I only got two 9 in layers that I cut in half so the finished product was 4 layers. I used an entire batch of icing in the layers alone and about 1 and 1/2 batches of icing to ice the cake...as I did decorate it with my own butter cream roses in red and a white shell border, it was phenomenal!! Of 15-20 people, just a die hard butter cream fan was not absolutely thrilled with this cake, even one of my 2 1/2 year old grandsons passed on the triple chocolate cake served side by side (their brother turned 13 just a few days before so there were two cakes) and opted for the red velvet. I will make this again, and again, and again!! The cream cheese icing was not missed, and in this case is highly overrated!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2014

      This is vey good. Part of the taste is the frosting made with flour,butter,and powdered sugar.Bakeries and grocery stores,no comparison. Ever get to NY city,will go to hotel just for the cake and coffee. Any time I made this cake,they all liked. With Valentine's day coming up,make this for your hubby or boyfriend. Also could be broke down to 4 or 5 inch cakes for your bestest friends. Also cupcakes too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2014

      I have made this recipe numerous times and I really need to give this author credit because as long as it takes, it is worth every second! This Red Velvet is beautiful to look at and as moist and delicious as anything else I have ever tasted! I cook 3 layers in 8"round cake tins. I also serve this cake cold as I think it really brings out the moistness of the cake without falling apart. And I love cold frosting! Thank you again!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2013

      I have just made cupcakes with this recipe basically because I didn't have three 8" baking tins. So as per another reviewer I halved the recipe, now I made 12 cup cakes and they came out at 15 minutes and I thought were a tad dry, so I would be interested to know how many cupcakes the previous reviewer made, maybe she made less but bigger ones. I didn't use shortening (not sure what that would be in the UK) I used stork baking margarine which is vegetable based but next time would use butter. I hadn't read all the reviews so when it came to the frosting I wasn't sure what it meant by just sugar. In the UK we have granulated sugar, caster sugar (fine granulated) and icing sugar (very fine like powder) and then we have a whole host of other sugars, golden caster sugar, muscovado, light muscovado, dark muscovado, Demerara and so on. So the upshot is I used icing sugar and then after read that it should be granulated! However I thought the frosting was superb but was 2:2 in my family on that versus regular butter cream. I think if I had used granulated the frosting wouldn't have been so sweet. The other thing was that I had bought red food colouring but when I weighed it out it was only 1/4 oz so not enough. Will make again and make the full cake but with butter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2013

      Used butter instead of shortening and added 1/4 c coffee......OMG!!!! It didn't last 24 hours

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Waldorf-Astoria Red Velvet Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (148 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 511.0
     
    Calories from Fat 233
    45%
    Total Fat 25.9 g
    39%
    Saturated Fat 12.7 g
    63%
    Cholesterol 75.3 mg
    25%
    Sodium 478.0 mg
    19%
    Total Carbohydrate 65.7 g
    21%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 42.7 g
    171%
    Protein 5.0 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites