Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Waikiki BBQ Chicken Dish Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Waikiki BBQ Chicken Dish

    Average Rating:

    24 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 24

    Sort by:

    • on April 20, 2002

      Great recipe! I cooked this at work this morning. I used commercial BBQ sauce and didn't drain the pineapple. As I cooked it in a big baking dish uncovered in the oven for about 45 minutes, it didn't need to be thickened, the flour I dredged the chicken pieces in thickened it enough.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2002

      This made a great meal! I didn't use crushed pineapples, I used chunky pineapple and use the whole can. I used honey flavored BBQ sauce. It was wonderful. My wife loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2002

      We loved this! I cut the chicken into bite sized pieces and after browning the chicken, simmered it for 25 minutes. Served it with a side of sauted green and red pepper strips, and cucumber salad. Great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2002

      This was really good! I had mostly-frozen chicken breasts, and cooked it for about 2 hours. It turned out really moist and tender, had a real good flavor, and was very easy to make. Will definitely be making this one again, thanks dale!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2002

      This is really great. We didn't have crushed pineapples so I used real ones and just crushed it. My mom, who isnt a big fan of sweet meat, enjoyed it. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2002

      This made for a very enjoyable meal. I cubed up my chicken breasts to brown them instead of leaving them whole -- and, after I added the bbq sauce mixture (I used an eight-oz tin of crushed pineappple, undrained), I only let them simmer for about 15 minutes, which was plenty of time for the sauce to get nice and thick. Rather than add ginger, I instead used some cayenne pepper, which gave the dish a bit of a subtle punch. Tasty, fast, and easy -- a perfect quick dinner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2003

      I am looking forward to making this for dinner again. It was terrific. I skipped dredging my chicken breasts in flour and as far as I could tell, it did not matter. Thanks for posting this super easy & delicious recipe, dale!.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2003

      I cooked this as a stirfry. I added only half the barbecue sauce and some water as well as onions and green pepper toward the end of cooking time so they would stay crispy. It was really good and the onions and peppers added a good crunch. I will definitely cook this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2003

      Easy and delicious. I was out of white flour so I used whole wheat -- no problem. I used pineapple chunks in juice -- also no problem. I simmered it for about half an hour and the chicken was moist and delicious, good with rice. My family was very happy with this, and I'm taking the leftovers for lunch tomorrow. Aloha!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2009

      It was good, just not good enough to rate it 5 stars. I expected it to have more flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2008

      really good - i made this in the crockpot (on high for 5 hours) - didn't use the flour or cornstarch, and used the whole can of crushed pineapple. the chicken shredded itself, and the sauce thickened up/absorbed into the chicken...i'll be making this again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2007

      This scored a 9 out of 10 on the picky-husband-o-meter! It's an attractive dish too. I serve it with rice and bread. It was a little spicy for my taste but I think I went a little overboard with the pepper though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2007

      My family liked this meal very much. I made double the sauce...and I did not need to do that. It makes lots of sauce. I will definitely make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2007

      Easy weeknight meal. Served it with fried rice and green beans.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2006

      So easy, so good. I used a whole can of pineapple chunks and all of the juice, 2 large chicken breasts and added some onions and a sliced green pepper. I didn't coat the chicken with flour first (mainly because I forgot) and it turned out just fine. Next time I think I'll add in some tabasco or red pepper flakes to heat it up. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2006

      Nice Flavor and so Easy! I browned chicken and prepared sauce in the morning - and baked in the oven for 1 hour before serving.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2005

      This dish is so easy. I was told it was a keeper! What a fast meal to put together and be so good. I didn't dredge the chicken breasts in flour, I just browned them in a little olive oil, nor did I use the cornstarch and didn't miss it being thickened up. By omitting the flour and cornstarch and particularly using olive oil and serving it over brown rice, it made it a Core Recipe for Weight Watchers. This was delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2004

      This recipe is great, though I would use more pineapple juice so it didn't burn as much. Also very good the next day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2004

      My husband loved this. I used thick & spicy BBQ sauce & threw some broccoli in & it was yummy. I also cut my chicken into bite size pieces. A keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2004

      Very easy to make! It has nice, almosr sweet and sour kind of bbq flavor. I served this with Charishma's Hawaiian rice salad. I did only cook this for 35 minutes and the chicken was cooked through and very tender. Even at 35 minutes the sauce was trying to burn a little bit in the bottom of the pan. Next time I will add some pineapple juice to thin it a bit so it doesn't scorch. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Waikiki BBQ Chicken Dish

    Serving Size: 1 (246 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 232.3
     
    Calories from Fat 34
    14%
    Total Fat 3.7 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 0.7 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 68.4 mg
    22%
    Sodium 586.9 mg
    24%
    Total Carbohydrate 19.7 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    5%
    Sugars 11.4 g
    45%
    Protein 28.6 g
    57%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites