24 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Great recipe! I cooked this at work this morning. I used commercial BBQ sauce and didn't drain the pineapple. As I cooked it in a big baking dish uncovered in the oven for about 45 minutes, it didn't need to be thickened, the flour I dredged the chicken pieces in thickened it enough.

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JustJanS April 20, 2002

This made a great meal! I didn't use crushed pineapples, I used chunky pineapple and use the whole can. I used honey flavored BBQ sauce. It was wonderful. My wife loved it.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Curtis Jr June 02, 2002

We loved this! I cut the chicken into bite sized pieces and after browning the chicken, simmered it for 25 minutes. Served it with a side of sauted green and red pepper strips, and cucumber salad. Great!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MizzNezz April 27, 2002

This was really good! I had mostly-frozen chicken breasts, and cooked it for about 2 hours. It turned out really moist and tender, had a real good flavor, and was very easy to make. Will definitely be making this one again, thanks dale!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Teresa M July 16, 2002

This is really great. We didn't have crushed pineapples so I used real ones and just crushed it. My mom, who isnt a big fan of sweet meat, enjoyed it. Thanks!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
demi_quinn May 25, 2002

This made for a very enjoyable meal. I cubed up my chicken breasts to brown them instead of leaving them whole -- and, after I added the bbq sauce mixture (I used an eight-oz tin of crushed pineappple, undrained), I only let them simmer for about 15 minutes, which was plenty of time for the sauce to get nice and thick. Rather than add ginger, I instead used some cayenne pepper, which gave the dish a bit of a subtle punch. Tasty, fast, and easy -- a perfect quick dinner!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lennie October 26, 2002

I am looking forward to making this for dinner again. It was terrific. I skipped dredging my chicken breasts in flour and as far as I could tell, it did not matter. Thanks for posting this super easy & delicious recipe, dale!.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sunny_day July 01, 2003

I cooked this as a stirfry. I added only half the barbecue sauce and some water as well as onions and green pepper toward the end of cooking time so they would stay crispy. It was really good and the onions and peppers added a good crunch. I will definitely cook this again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Meisha-ann May 17, 2003

Easy and delicious. I was out of white flour so I used whole wheat -- no problem. I used pineapple chunks in juice -- also no problem. I simmered it for about half an hour and the chicken was moist and delicious, good with rice. My family was very happy with this, and I'm taking the leftovers for lunch tomorrow. Aloha!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Paula5 March 25, 2003

It was good, just not good enough to rate it 5 stars. I expected it to have more flavor.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AmandaMcG August 28, 2009
Waikiki BBQ Chicken Dish