Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Waffle of Insane Greatness Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Waffle of Insane Greatness

    Average Rating:

    45 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 45

    Sort by:

    • on August 05, 2012

      Nice and light. Makes 3 in the belgian waffle-maker.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2010

      These are great waffles... they come out of the waffle maker perfectly browned and crispy. For some reason, sometimes the batter overflows and we haven't figured out why. It might have to do with our altitude and the volume of eggs. I like to make baggies with all the dry ingredients and store them in the cabinet, this makes them quicker to put together later on.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2014

      These are really good. We didn't follow the directions and sprayed the iron first. DON'T DO IT!!! The waffles won't get crisp. The second go 'round we went spray free and were rewarded with fluffy crispy waffles. Perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2014

      The kids say 4 1/2 stars. I don't eat waffles/pancakes, but they thought these were quite good. The batter does seem very thin, but it works just fine. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2014

      These are the best waffles we've ever had. Perfect! I used milk with a bit of vinegar added as a buttermilk sub. and cooked them in two different waffle makers to see if there was a difference and there was. Our small round waffle maker didn't cook these as crisp as our standard square waffle maker did. They were both excellent, just different. I would say this recipe yielded three delicious servings. This will be be my "go to" waffle recipe. Thanks so much for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2014

      These are simply the best I've ever had. I made the batter the night before because I wouldn't have time in the morning. Refrigerated it and took it out in the morning before going to church. I wanted the batter to be room temp. They came out perfectly! I could only get 3 waffles with my waffle maker. Next time I'll double it and refrigerate left over batter, if there is any, for the next morning. In the future I'll add bacon or fruit after it's on the waffle maker.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2013

      This is one of my favorite waffle recipes; I've tried them all, and this makes the crispiest waffles.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2013

      I just found this recipe and tried it out. I want to thank Zula for posting it and the other reviewers for their comments which I found helpful. I used the buttermilk and my batter was not too thin. I used a heart waffle iron and a belgian waffle iron and we found the heart waffles too thin and too crispy but that is just our opinion. I think these waffles would be perfect for a scoop of vanilla icecream and fresh berries, a nice contrast in crisp and smooth.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2012

      These ARE quite good and we enjoyed them. However I was looking for a dupe for the Aretha Frankenstein's waffle & pancake mix, and this isn't quite it. Something is missing, and I think it may be cornmeal. If you aren't looking for a specific taste, this is a great go-to waffle recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2012

      Excellent. I doubled the recipe, got 5 large 4-section square waffles (I have a big old waffle iron.) Used half buttermilk and half regular milk. Each waffle took 4-5 minutes to cook. I've been looking for "THE" waffle recipe. This is it. Thanks . . . Janet

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2012

      I used coconut oil, added 1.5 tsp of cinnamon and made a powdered sugar glaze for the top. So amazing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2012

      These waffles are so good. Crispy outside and moist inside. Great taste. Thanks byZula :) Made for All you can cook buffet

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2011

      Made these waffles on a snow day last year and they were a hit! They are light and fluffy and wonderful. My husband now requests them by their very fitting name!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2010

      These have become one of our regular Sunday breakfast rotations. We always double the recipe for our family of 4. When doubled, we use 1 cup unbleached flour and 1/2 cup whole wheat flour. When we have it in the house, we prefer to use buttermilk. As many others have stated, yes the batter will be thin, and yes, it does seem weird to use so much cornstarch. Regardless, the waffles turn out great. Oh, and it really does seem to make quite a difference to let the batter sit for 30 minutes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2010

      Easy to make and so good! I added a little extra sugar and vanilla. We like our waffles a little sweeter...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2010

      This was a great recipe. Crispy on the outside and soft on the inside. We doubled the recipe and used a little less oil than called for. My daughter wanted chocolate chips and banannas added which added a nice flavor. I would definately use this again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2010

      These were interesting waffles. I have never made waffles with cornstarch before, they turned out beautifully. Great flavor, crisp and tender, just the way I like them. I was nervous because the batter was so thin, but after sitting for 45 minutes it thicken a bit. Quick and easy to make... it made 7 waffles. Thanks so much for sharing. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2009

      There was a lot involved for this batter and it really was not very special for all the work. Only made 2 waffles. I found a simpler recipe on this site that only took a few minutes to mix up and made 6 waffles.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2009

      The texture was great for a waffle - soft inside, and lightly crispy outside. But, I found they had too much oil as I ate them. I wasn't expecting that much residual oil. Next time, I will reduce the oil, or partially substitute with melted butter, and see if they can't be a better waffle.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2009

      These were very good. I think I will add more sugar to the waffle batter next time, since I do prefer my waffles a little sweeter. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Waffle of Insane Greatness

    Serving Size: 1 (127 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 339.9
     
    Calories from Fat 193
    57%
    Total Fat 21.5 g
    33%
    Saturated Fat 3.9 g
    19%
    Cholesterol 52.6 mg
    17%
    Sodium 459.9 mg
    19%
    Total Carbohydrate 30.0 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 0.7 g
    2%
    Sugars 4.8 g
    19%
    Protein 5.9 g
    11%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes