12 Reviews

I got enough batter to do 16 french toasts. So next time I'll do half the recipe with 8 slices of bread. I omitted the nutmeg and used more cinnamon. Thanks Pixies :) Made for I recommend tag game

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette September 26, 2010

This was amazing! Very easy to make and we loved it! I followed the directions and ended up with a wonderful breakfast. Thank you for a great recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
4-H Mom September 09, 2010

DH and I LOVED this recipe. It was fun, easy, and tasted awesome. I've found I really enjoy those WS recipes and this is no exception. I cut the eggs & milk in half (only 2 of us) but left the spices all the same as I wanted to really be able to taste them since I used French Bread/Baguette that I had left over and cut into 1" slices. I used a Belgium Waffle Iron so figured I needed them thick. Then served with butter, syrup AND powdered sugar - and fresh hot coffee YUMMY. Wish I could give more stars - can't wait to make this again for my DGSs.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bonnie G #2 November 01, 2009

This was a fun way to make french toast, but the result was more of a hybrid french toast/waffle, which is honestly what one would expect given the name of the dish! I'm not sure that I'll make it again, but it was fun. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Adam Wick June 12, 2008

It was delicious! I changed it up a bit, but I didn't have to make as much. I put in 1 egg, a splash of milk, 3 drops of vannila, and a pinch of cinnamon. It goes great with syrup,berries, and much more.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Taylorjolee B. September 19, 2016

This was OK; too much left-over egg mixture. I thought this was a great idea; love waffles, love french toast, but after trying this recipe, I'd rather have either waffles or french toast, but not this hybrid.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Srb~ January 24, 2010

Loved this recipe! It was just for DH and I so I cut the recipe in half - it easily made 6 slices of french toast (we like to freeze the leftovers to make for easy grab-&-go breakfast for DH during the week). DH asked me to make it again 2 days later! Thanks for a fantastic recipe, I never would have thought to make french toast on the waffle iron! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cyn May 27, 2008

I'm rating the technique here, as I didn't follow the recipe. I just started making french toast as always (which is basically the same as this recipe only I don't add the brown sugar adn always use challah bread, but i never measure anything), but cooked it in my george forman G-5 waffle plates. Wonderful!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
helowy December 23, 2007

Mmmm delicious! i scaled this down for just me and ate it with homemade strawberry sauce over the top -- fantastic!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ellie3763 May 30, 2007

Fantastic! My first time making french toast in a waffle iron-couldn't have been easier! I used a multi-grain bread, skim milk, Eggbeaters (used the same amounts of milk/eggs as TomatoGal) & used Splenda instead of brown sugar. Yummy!! Thank u for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LUVMY2BOYS May 28, 2007
Waffle Iron French Toast