11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I got enough batter to do 16 french toasts. So next time I'll do half the recipe with 8 slices of bread. I omitted the nutmeg and used more cinnamon. Thanks Pixies :) Made for I recommend tag game

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette September 26, 2010

This was amazing! Very easy to make and we loved it! I followed the directions and ended up with a wonderful breakfast. Thank you for a great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
4-H Mom September 09, 2010

This was OK; too much left-over egg mixture. I thought this was a great idea; love waffles, love french toast, but after trying this recipe, I'd rather have either waffles or french toast, but not this hybrid.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Srb~ January 24, 2010

DH and I LOVED this recipe. It was fun, easy, and tasted awesome. I've found I really enjoy those WS recipes and this is no exception. I cut the eggs & milk in half (only 2 of us) but left the spices all the same as I wanted to really be able to taste them since I used French Bread/Baguette that I had left over and cut into 1" slices. I used a Belgium Waffle Iron so figured I needed them thick. Then served with butter, syrup AND powdered sugar - and fresh hot coffee YUMMY. Wish I could give more stars - can't wait to make this again for my DGSs.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bonnie G #2 November 01, 2009

This was a fun way to make french toast, but the result was more of a hybrid french toast/waffle, which is honestly what one would expect given the name of the dish! I'm not sure that I'll make it again, but it was fun. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Adam Wick June 13, 2008

Loved this recipe! It was just for DH and I so I cut the recipe in half - it easily made 6 slices of french toast (we like to freeze the leftovers to make for easy grab-&-go breakfast for DH during the week). DH asked me to make it again 2 days later! Thanks for a fantastic recipe, I never would have thought to make french toast on the waffle iron! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cyn May 27, 2008

I'm rating the technique here, as I didn't follow the recipe. I just started making french toast as always (which is basically the same as this recipe only I don't add the brown sugar adn always use challah bread, but i never measure anything), but cooked it in my george forman G-5 waffle plates. Wonderful!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
helowy December 23, 2007

Mmmm delicious! i scaled this down for just me and ate it with homemade strawberry sauce over the top -- fantastic!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ellie3763 May 30, 2007

Fantastic! My first time making french toast in a waffle iron-couldn't have been easier! I used a multi-grain bread, skim milk, Eggbeaters (used the same amounts of milk/eggs as TomatoGal) & used Splenda instead of brown sugar. Yummy!! Thank u for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LUVMY2BOYS May 28, 2007

I made this fun recipe for my three grandkids when they had a "sleep over" at our house. They all love waffles as well as French toast...now they all love French Waffles! The results were attractive and delicious, soft and tender on the inside with a moderately crispy outside. Great, great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Geema May 06, 2007
Waffle Iron French Toast