Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Wacky Chocolate-Orange Cake with Orange Frosting Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Wacky Chocolate-Orange Cake with Orange Frosting

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on February 19, 2002

      Loved the cake, but I believe you made a mistake when you said to add water, I just added the orange juice and found it sufficient. Also I made a butter cream frosting instead and added orange juice and orange extract to it. Thank you for enhancing my days...made it twice already!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2003

      I followed this recipe to the T...and it turned out wonderful!! Visually as well. Will be posting a picture of the end product. I hope it entices you to try it too. :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2009

      Forsuch an easy and quick cake this is very good. I think the orange juice is what makes it so much better than the original wacky cake (never liked it). Frosting is excellent, easy to make and light and can certainly be used on other cakes. Highly recommend this frosting if, like us, you do not like a heavy sugary topping.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2009

      Very nice cake. I had to toss the frosting though. Everything was going fine until suddenly the cream was starting to separate into a cottage cheese type of substance rather than continue to stiffen. I believe I followed the instructions as written (I'm kind of OCD in the kitchen... and only in the kitchen), but perhaps I'm wrong. It was my first time making a frosting with gelatin. I ended up just whipping up 3 parts heavy cream with 1 part powdered sugar and added vanilla and orange extracts to taste. Spread it on the cake and dusted the whole thing with cocoa powder, confectioners sugar, and a little orange zest. Quite enjoyable. Vinegar, who knew?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2008

      Very yummy! I left off the icing, being too lazy, and used wholemeal flour to make the cake a bit healthier. This was really easy and the best part for me is that it didn't require any beating - which is always annoying when you want to make a cake quickly. Thanks for the new cake recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2008

      Well, I made this for my DH to take to work and he came home with an empty cake pan, saying that people were asking for the recipe! It was a definite hit! Just so easy and such a crowd pleaser. I added some fresh orange zest and some freshly grated chocolate on the top of the frosting, which made it look even prettier. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2007

      I loved the cake it was fairly easy to make with little clean up, you can't beat that. I didn't enjoy the frosting but I think it was just me because everyone else loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2007

      I have been using this recipe for years and it it a favorite for sure! My recipe for Grammie Bea's Special Vanilla Frosting goes very well with this cake. It is sweet, but not overly sweet, and it is a great frosting for designs. After my cake is frosted, I often take the tip of a rounded knife and press down on the frosting and then pull away and it makes picks all over the top of the cake. Very pretty, especially with chopped nuts, sprinkles, Jimmys, or anything else you might want to add on top.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2007

      I made this with some orange zest and shavings from a hershey bar on the top~ It's so easy to make and I don't have to worry about cleaning up afterwards :) Thanks for sharing~!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2007

      Yum yum yum! I've made this twice in 24 hours -- once with the orange juice and once without. I also halved the recipe, used half whole-wheat flour, and added twice the suggested amounts of sugar and cocoa (:o). I also swirled in a cheesecake topping the second time around. Versitile and delicicous --this is really good stuff.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2005

      This is a great variation of the wacky cake I've made for years. The frostng is tasty and delicate. I sprinkled some shaved chocolate over the top and didn't change anything else. I miss you Miller.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2005

      This is a very good fluffy moist cake. I made it with peach five alive, which basically tastes like orange juice anyway. I also decreased the sugar to a little less than 3/4 cup and decreased the oil to 1/8 cup + 1/8 cup water. This still left me with a delicious cake. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2005

      I made this cake with a vegetarian and type 2 diabetic in mind, substituting soft whole wheat flour for the white flour and 3/4 cup fructose for the sugar. I also increased the cocoa to 4 tablespoons. Because of the gelatin in the frosting, I substituted a simple orange/chocolate ganache which worked well. I made it by grating about 1 teaspoon of orange zest into 1/2 cup of whipping cream, heated it till steaming, and poured over 6 ounces of finely chopped semi sweet chocolate. Stir until the chocolate has melted, and mixture thickens. Pour over the cooled cake. Including the orange flavour makes a more interesting variation than the original Wacky cake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2004

      Delicious. I've been making wacky cake for years, but I have never used orange juice for the liquid. It gives the cake a nice subtle orange flavor. Instead of frosting the cake, I always sprinkle chocolate chips over the top before baking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2004

      Yummy cake. I was happy with it without the icing (my photo). Good also for my lactose intolerant friend!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2004

      The cake was very good, but the frosting was fantastic. I'm probably very biased because I love the original Wacky Cake, which I make regularly. I will most likely use the frosting on other cakes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2002

      I make the original version of this cake on a regular basis. But this is a twist I know will be great- orange & chocolate yum! Something different & ever so fast.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Wacky Chocolate-Orange Cake with Orange Frosting

    Serving Size: 1 (137 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 9

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 410.7
     
    Calories from Fat 203
    49%
    Total Fat 22.6 g
    34%
    Saturated Fat 10.2 g
    51%
    Cholesterol 54.3 mg
    18%
    Sodium 286.0 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 48.8 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 30.1 g
    120%
    Protein 3.8 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes