Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Wacky Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Wacky Cake

    Average Rating:

    57 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 57

    Sort by:

    • on May 14, 2002

      This is by far the best homemade chocolate cake. We have used this recipe in my family for years. The best topping that we have for the cake is homemade applesauce. Wonderful comfort food!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2002

      I don't know the history of this recipe, but it has been around since I was a child, and continues to be a family favorite. It has a rich chocolate flavor and an unusual heavy, moist texture. For best flavor use real vanilla, not imitation. The best topping I've found is cool whip; but a thin layer of home-made chocolate peanut-butter cream frosting is also very good on this cake. It can be tricky to tell when Wacky cake is done; the best method is to insert a toothpick in the middle, which will come out clean when done. If overdone, the cake edges will be dry. This cake is very quick and easy to prepare, less than 10 minutes. I always double the recipe and bake in a 9X13 pan.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2011

      I was craving brownies but had some almond milk I wanted to use up, so I decided on cake instead. I've been meaning to try this recipe for a long time. I'm so glad I finally did. It came out wonderfully. I used 5 tb of cocoa instead of 3 and almond milk instead of water. I screwed up and used baking powder instead of baking soda, but it still rose. I skipped icing or powdered sugar and just served it with ice cream. I will definitely make this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2010

      I have been baking this cake for many years and have never had a failure. Any type of oil, shortening, butter, margarine, or even bacon drippings work in this forgiving recipe. Double the ingredients and bake in 2 round 9" cale pans for a 2-layer cake.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2007

      I have this same recipe and make this cake all the time. It's a family favorite. Notice the recipe doesn't contain eggs or milk? This recipe was used a lot during the depression era do to the lack of ingredients available and the lack of income for most families. I top this with a homemade white icing or even just some strawberries and a little chocolate syrup, DELICIOUS!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2013

      This cake saved the day! Had a birthday party at the last minute and whipped this together in no time. I made it in a round springform, popped it open while warm, grated chocolate over it so it melted, then topped with some sprinkles. It was done in about 25 minutes, so watch closely as it's nearing its time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2013

      What a blast from the past! My Mother-in-law kept talking about a cake her grandmother and mother used to make called a Wacky Cake. She even described the three wells and how it went together. Well, food.com to the rescue! I made this cake for her and I swear, she had tears in her eyes. I just love being able to re-create old family favorites for my loved ones! Thanks, LainieBug!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2012

      I cant believe how easy it was to make this! I upped the cocoa to 5tbsp and added half cup of cold coffee and half cup plain cold water to make it more chocolatey and topped with choc chips. Made a nice, light cake, very crumbly and slightly bitter though. I was too lazy to frost it, but probably should've since the cake was less sweet and too airy to eat by itself. Will definitely make it again with more sugar or frosting!
      Update: had the cake again the day after making it and it was amazingly soft and moist, less crumbly and seemed sweeter. thanks for this amazing recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2012

      So simple and so delicious!! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2011

      I make wacky cake all the time for relatives who are REALLY lactose intolerant. For icing I use tofu cream cheese with confectioner sugar and a little cocoa for flavour and colour. But the best part of wacky cake is that it is SO good: a moist, chocolate cake that everyone loves.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2011

      This brought back memories. I used to make this cake all the time when the kids were little. I'd totally forgotten about it. I love the ease of this and the fact it doesn't need eggs. Thanks for sharing. Made for PAC Fall 2011.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2011

      Awesome recipe, thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2011

      Love this recipe! Made it with Top Secret Peanut Butter Frosting (#87058) and it was exactly what I'd been craving for a couple of weeks! Yummy recipe, always have these ingredients on hand. (I did add some mini-choc chips into the batter before baking. Perfect size cake~thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2011

      I made this recipe a zillion years ago and completely forgot about it. This time I used Penzey's hi-fat cocoa. I also used 1/2 sugar-1/2 Splenda. Anyway, it's absolutely amazing how easy and fast this cake is to mix up, it takes no time at all, and comes out perfect. 20 minutes baking time is all mine needed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2010

      Absolutely the go-to chocolate cake, vegan or not. It's light, airy and so simple to make. I really like this one bowl method. As others did, I also added 4 tbsp of cocoa powder. Planning to make this again soon for a birthday cake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2010

      Wonderful cake, nice and moist and chocolatey!! I love that it only makes a 8 X 8 cake, as my family of 3 never finishes a 13 X 9 inch cake. I made a buttercream frosting and did use a 1/4 cup of cocoa and then used 1/2 cup water and 1/2 cup of coffee, otherwise made as written. I know we won't have any problem devouring this cake. Thanks for sharing the recipe. Made for you win in Healthy Choices Tag special.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2009

      Simple and tasty. The flavor of the oil comes through clearly in this cake so make sure the oil you use is a very mild one like safflower oil and very fresh. I used cold coffee in place of the water to really kick up the chocolate flavor. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2009

      This is a really GOOD cake! I frosted it with choclate/peanut butter and it was devoured in minutes!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2009

      Great basic recipe. I go back to it again and again. Cheap, easy for anyone, non dairy, no egg... brilliant oldie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2009

      I remember making this cake in grade 7 Home Ec class! I decided to try it again just for fun...and it's a really tasty chocolate cake that comes together quickly from pantry staples. Even plain, it makes a great, quick, cheap dessert!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Dessert Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Wacky Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (80 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 9

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 236.7
     
    Calories from Fat 71
    30%
    Total Fat 7.9 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 1.0 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 270.5 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 39.1 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 22.2 g
    89%
    Protein 2.4 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites