Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / "Wacky Cake" Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    "Wacky Cake"

    Average Rating:

    34 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 34

    Sort by:

    • on October 01, 2002

      YUMMY YUMMY YUMMY!!! Dont let the ingredients fool you! WOW! It was super moist and just plain good! Thanks for the new recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2002

      Made this tonite and it was soooo easy. The texture is wonderful, a little heavy, almost a brownie like texture. It is not overly chocolatey or sweet, which was perfect with the buttercream frosting I used. I did not have a square pan, so I used a 9" round pan and it took 30 minutes. Very good recipe for a quick, snack cake! Thanks :) P.S. I am posting a picture which I am sure will not do it justice, but you can still see it looks pretty tasty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2003

      My Mom used to make this cake for my family while growing up and all 6 of us loved it !!! She called it the 3-Hole cake or Poor Man's cake since it does not take eggs or milk. I now make it for my family and have the same results - they love it. I especially like it because it is not as sweet as other chocolate cakes and its extremely moist. Another excellent feature in the prep time is short and clean-up is a snap since you only use the pan to prepare and bake the batter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2003

      I had been looking high and low for this recipe! Thank you! This is the exact cake that was served in the school lunch room when I was in school. I had great feelings of nostalgia and longing for that cake. Now, I can have it any time. This is the best and easiest chocolate cake ever. I put a thinned out buttercream glaze on it to make the "wacky cake with white icing" that was on the menu.I LOVE this cake!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2009

      I love this recipe! It is my "go-to" solution for an easy chocolate cake. Seeing as it doesn't require eggs or milk or butter, It's easy to make when you're on a low budget!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2003

      My sister made this cake for our mom's birthday using Splenda in place of the sugar because mom is a diabetic. We topped it with Sugar-free frosting #56881. I liked how nice and moist the cake was. Very tastey but not too heavy. We enjoyed it very much.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2003

      I did not have cocoa, so I made it without. It turned out great. I had the kids help me make it. They enjoyed baking and eating the cake. I felt safe letting them lick the bowl too. Easy to follow directions and a wonderful outcome. This is a keeper.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2003

      oh i love this cake!!!! Its just superb! If i had a passion for chocolate before , this has just taken me to new heights. Its so good for a eggless cake. Thank you for a beautiful cake. thats my cake from now on

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2003

      This is the best cake! My mom has made this for years. This is everyones favorite cake. We're not frosting eaters, and this cake is GREAT all by itself. It's sooo moist, and just the right sweetness... We also call it "Wacky Cake" This is a MUST TRY if you haven't. =)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2003

      i still don't understand how this works, but it does-- so well. this produced a wonderful moist chocolate cake. i brought it to work and it was sampled by 10 people, everyone loved it, and no one can believe the small amount of cocoa powder and lack of dairy ingredients. easy to prepare, easy cleanup, quick cooking, and my lactose intolerant friends were begging for this recipe. need i say any more? thanks so much cindy lynn!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2012

    • on January 16, 2012

      Wow, I was really surprised how delicious this cake turned out! It's hard to tell the difference between this cake and a traditional one made with eggs. I used 4 tablespoons of cocoa powder to give it a rich chocolate flavor. I made Regular White Icing (Add Butter to Make Buttercream Icing) to go on it. If you are looking for a chocolate cake to whip together in a hurry, this certainly fits the bill.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2010

      I don't remember when Mom started making this cake but the one thing I will never forget is that through all the birthdays, anniversaries, weddings, graduations and church socials I attended growing up, the cakes were never as good as moms. The only difference I was aware of growing up was that no matter how good a cake looked, they were never as good as this one when it came time to put it in your mouth!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2009

      Made this for Easter, My four year old is allergic to eggs, and no-egg egg substitute doesn't always work well... So we gave this a go. It was amazing. I am making it again for a church social. Thanks for posting this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2009

      This is a fabulous tasting cake that is SUPER easy to make. I even made it for my 5 year old son's birthday party last month. I actually mixed the batter directly into the cake pan, as others have suggested, and it came out great. In today's economy it's nice to have a budget "go to" dessert recipe that can be made in a flash.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2008

      love love love this cake- especially with ice cream!! my MIL makes this and calls is Screwball Choc. Cake and weather you call it screwball or wacky it is definitely yummy. One note- When I make it I mix it right in the ungreased 8x8 pan and I have NEVER had it stick. Comes out perfect everytime and no bowl to clean!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2008

      Well, I had to make this cake twice because the first time I forgot the baking soda. Yeah. Don't do that. The second time it came out perfectly. My son even said it was "the best cake he has had in his life" (all 8 years!). It was really, really good. I am picky about my chocolate cake and I'll tell you, this one is just about perfect! Love that it is so simple, too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2008

      I made this for a friends birthday cake and used Grammie Bea's Special Vanilla Frosting on top. After I frosted, I took my knife and patted the frosting, to make soft peaks all over the cake. It made it look so pretty instead of a smooth cake. I sprinkled multi-colored sprinkles for decoration to make it look extra special, but you can decorate it any way you want, if your making it for a birthday or holiday cake. The taste is just perfect with this delicious frosting. My grandmother made this recipe for years when we were growing up and it brings back fond memories for me. This was a staple in our house along with her special recipe for the frosting listed. Everyone that came to visit always loved it too! AWESOME cake and easy to make which makes it even better! OOps.. Almost forgot. I double this recipe to make in a lg. baking pan for a crowd. Thanks for sharing Cindy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2008

      This cake is fantastic! At first I was surprized at the ingredients; eggs, butter and milk being subtituted with vinegar and vegetable oil, but it was one of the best chocolate cakes I have ever made! So simple! Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2007

      Very good & easy to make. I doubled the recipe. I wasn't sure if I had done everything correct because the batter was VERY soupy. But it firmed up nicely. I used a store bought whipped icing. Turned out wonderfully!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for "Wacky Cake"

    Serving Size: 1 (749 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 2252.6
     
    Calories from Fat 764
    33%
    Total Fat 84.9 g
    130%
    Saturated Fat 10.8 g
    54%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 2434.8 mg
    101%
    Total Carbohydrate 352.5 g
    117%
    Dietary Fiber 8.0 g
    32%
    Sugars 200.6 g
    802%
    Protein 22.3 g
    44%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites