Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Wacky Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Wacky Cake

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on February 26, 2002

      my mom makes this cake, except we call it crazy cake. it is an easy, good alternative to boxed cake mixes. and the best part is that you mix it in the pan you bake it in, so no clean up!! this doesn't last long at our house. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2003

      This is good .. I added an egg and 1-t baking powder .. very quick and easy .. thanks

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2003

      This is great! We didn't have cocoa, so I substitued dried skim milk powder, I used lemon instead of vanilla, and a very thick carrot-apple juice instead of water. Also, a teaspoon of baking soda was added to the flour (I'm paranoid). I also used the three holes method- vinegar in one, oil in another, vanilla in the last, pouring the juice all over while mixing. When done I layered it with cream cheese and sour cherry jam between the layers. It needed a little extra time in the oven to crust properly, but a very versatile and yummy egg free recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2014

      Delicious and easy cake. I made into cupcakes and baked at 375 degrees for 20-25 minutes. They rose beautifully! It's not a very sweet cake, though, which is a nice contrast with sweet frosting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2009

      I grew up eating this and it brought back great memories. Thanks again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2008

      Thank you so much for posting this recipe! My mother used to make Wacky Cake when I was a little girl and I haven't been able to find her recipe for years. It's delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2007

      I have been using this recipe for years and it it a favorite for sure! My recipe for Grammie Bea's Special Vanilla Frosting goes very well with this cake. It is sweet, but not overly sweet, and it is a great frosting for designs. After my cake is frosted, I often take the tip of a rounded knife and press down on the frosting and then pull away and it makes picks all over the top of the cake. Very pretty, especially with chopped nuts, sprinkles, Jimmys, or anything else you might want to add on top.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2007

      Good, it's good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2006

      I gave this 5 stars. I love this recipe. I've been making it for years. I got my copy from a community cookbook. This is so yummy! I frost it with homemade buttercream frosting also from a community cookbook. A friend of mine loved this and everytime she would come to visit she would request I make it. Thanks for posting a yummy recipe! Christine (internetnut)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2005

      This is brilliant. Definitely gets better overnight and takes really well to extra added flavours, I made it exactly as the recipe the first time and added the zest and juice of an orange the second time. I also drizzled over a simple mixture of icing sugar and water whilst the cake was still hot, and overnight it turned into a fantastic fudgey layer on top of the cake - this technique has endless variations. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2005

      Delightful! The surprise of this cake is full chocolatey taste despite the lack of eggs & dairy. It's good the first day but after an overnight rest it gets even better No frosting needed - a great moist snack cake. This is so easy to throw together that I've made it 3 times recently when I would have normally opted for brownies. Once I added 1- 1/2 tsp. instant coffee to the recipe with great results too - tastes a lot like Hostess cupcakes that way. Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2005

      super easy to make...and everyone loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2005

      same recipe as Grandmas, easy fast, when you want something to snack on, uses in the house ingredients.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2004

      This is the same recipe that both my mom and grandma use! I made this cake once when I was craving chocolate cake and we didn't have eggs in the fridge. It was so easy! We even adjusted the recipe for high altitude!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2004

      Great recipe, easy, fast, great alternative to a box mix, which I can't get. Thanks a bunch! Know of any others like this?????

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2003

      I can't wait to try this it sounds so fun! I gave it 5 stars just for originality. I will let you know how it turns out but I am sure it will be good and it doesnt look like it gets any easier than this so if its works out it will be a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Wacky Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (735 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 2160.5
     
    Calories from Fat 696
    32%
    Total Fat 77.3 g
    119%
    Saturated Fat 11.4 g
    57%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 2434.9 mg
    101%
    Total Carbohydrate 355.2 g
    118%
    Dietary Fiber 12.2 g
    48%
    Sugars 201.2 g
    805%
    Protein 23.5 g
    47%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites