Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / V's Tri-Tip Marinade Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    V's Tri-Tip Marinade

    Average Rating:

    34 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 34

    Sort by:

    • on January 30, 2011

      I was skeptical about this recipe--so many positive reviews, yet salt amounts seemed incorrect. Since few reviewers mentioned a salty aftertaste, I tried it too. On the plus side, the meat turns out very tender and juicy. On the negative side, there is a DEFINITE salty flavor, almost to the overwhelming point. No one even suspected I tried a new recipe until they took that first bite, and it was followed up with, "this is awfully salty." So it's not just me! I looked up the other similar recipe mentioned by another reviewer to see if salt amounts were comparable--Deane Carr's from Food Network.com. No salt in that version, but she uses 1/2 C garlic salt instead! This might be a delicious marinade, but only if you really, really like salt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2014

      Too salty. Look at the ingredients. Soy sauce has tons of salt. Other herbs are salted. Then you are asked to add salt. Tri tip came out tasting like soft salty jerky. I don't want to be too mean to the chef but us beginners really trust these recipes. Guess I'm on a learning curve. Oh, and I have a high salt tolerance. So, for me to say it's salty.....it's salty.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2013

      Sub the onion salt for onion powder and it's a 5 Star! My family loves it and we've tried every Tri-tip marinade out there, this one's a keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2011

      Marinated Tri-Tips for3 Days, they came out sooo o great

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2011

      So here it is, the recipe that my husband says allowed me to make the best meat he has ever eaten. It was sooo moist and tender and delicious. I saw that someone said it had a really salty taste to it, but we didn't think so at all. Definitely worth trying, you'll never have to try any other again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2009

      Delicious! DH said, "awesome flavor". And for me, who will salt a salt sandwich, this needed no additional seasoning. Fantastic! This will definitely be a staple marinade. Thanks Chef-V.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2013

    • on July 16, 2012

      I made this today, after marinating the tri-tip roast since yesterday.

      I don't know what went wrong, but the tri-tip was so tough, it was almost inedible. However the crust on it was DELICIOUS. I don't know if the grade of the meat was poor, or what happened. It was not overcooked, just very tough.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2012

      I had never fixed a Tri-Tip before but several good friends rave about them on a weekly basis. I got a 2.5 lb at the store and followed this recipe exactly. We didn't find one thing to complain about. Next time I will let it sit an entire day (or two). Grilled for 8 minutes on each side for the PERFECT MEDIUM RARE we so love. Meat was flavorful, juicy and tender. Thanks for making my first attempt at fixing this cut of meat a huge success!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2011

      This recipe was perfect. The meat had an awesome flavor, grilled well, was juicy and well flavored. Thanks for sharing. I added it into our recipe rotation.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2011

      The marinade was awesome. I did not have six hours but after five hours and grilling our tri tip it was so good. The kids even enjoyed it.

      I only didn't have the lemon pepper, but it was fine with out. Thanks for posting!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2011

      Tried it for the 4th of July cookout and it was AWESOME!!! Very tasty. Will definitely be using it all the time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2011

      Great flavor; easy to prepare. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2010

      We LOVED the flavor of this marinade. Actually thought I had defrosted some tri - tip when I chose this recipe, but it turned out to be a flank steak. Everything still turned out great! Very tender and juicy. I marinated overnight substituting the lemon juice for apple cider vinegar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2010

      I too used this recipe as written with 4 lbs of meat. Outstanding. I marinaded for 6 hours and it was amazing. I grilled it to almost well done (by accident) and it was still moist, juicy, and oh so tasty. We have a new benchmark at our house for meat marinades!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2010

      Perfection!!! We made the recipe as written, but used 4 lbs. of meat and marinated overnight. Thanks for this amazing recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2010

      This is going to be my new go-to steak marinade! Used it on tri-tip steak and marinated for about 3 hours, would have done longer if time permitted. Still had wonderful flavor throughout and very tender. I followed the recipe but added some Lawry's because I used onion powder instead of onion salt and a little rosemary. Grilled the steak and served with grilled potatoes and onions! Yummy!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2010

      This recipe, though modified by you, came from Deane Carr via a Food Network show.......very yummy marinade.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2010

      Wow, this was delicious! I bought tri-tip steaks because they weren't very expensive, but I had no idea what to do with them! I chose this recipe because of a comment that said it was one of the few non-asian tasting recipes (nothing against asian style food, I just wasn't in that mood last night). I was a little concerned because of all the ingredients (especially all the garlic and onion variations) but I subbed a few ingredients for what I had on hand (lime juice instead of lemon, specialty onion spice mix instead of onion) and marinated overnight. My DH grilled it to rare/medium rare. The flavor was so good, I didn't need steak sauce (I *always* use steak sauce). I want this again for dinner tonight, that's how good it was! It was so tender and flavorful. The sugar made a tasty crust and the flavors came together to make a delicious steak with no particular flavor overpowering any of the others. Thanks for sharing your recipe, I don't think I'll need to look for another!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2010

      I cannot comment on the cooking instructions because my DH did his thing on the grill, but the marinade was really, really good. We liked that it wasn't too asian tasting like some other tri-tip recipes we have tried. The first time I made it I was out of sugar so I used honey instead. Worked out fine. This time we added some bourbon to it. I used fresh onion and about 4 cloves of fresh garlic but otherwise made as directed. YUM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for V's Tri-Tip Marinade

    Serving Size: 1 (54 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 231.8
     
    Calories from Fat 166
    71%
    Total Fat 18.5 g
    28%
    Saturated Fat 1.4 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1837.2 mg
    76%
    Total Carbohydrate 16.6 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 1.6 g
    6%
    Sugars 9.6 g
    38%
    Protein 2.4 g
    4%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    lemon pepper

    tri-tip roast

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites