34 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I was skeptical about this recipe--so many positive reviews, yet salt amounts seemed incorrect. Since few reviewers mentioned a salty aftertaste, I tried it too. On the plus side, the meat turns out very tender and juicy. On the negative side, there is a DEFINITE salty flavor, almost to the overwhelming point. No one even suspected I tried a new recipe until they took that first bite, and it was followed up with, "this is awfully salty." So it's not just me! I looked up the other similar recipe mentioned by another reviewer to see if salt amounts were comparable--Deane Carr's from Food Network.com. No salt in that version, but she uses 1/2 C garlic salt instead! This might be a delicious marinade, but only if you really, really like salt.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ladyfingers January 30, 2011

Too salty. Look at the ingredients. Soy sauce has tons of salt. Other herbs are salted. Then you are asked to add salt. Tri tip came out tasting like soft salty jerky. I don't want to be too mean to the chef but us beginners really trust these recipes. Guess I'm on a learning curve. Oh, and I have a high salt tolerance. So, for me to say it's salty.....it's salty.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wayne1957 March 09, 2014

Sub the onion salt for onion powder and it's a 5 Star! My family loves it and we've tried every Tri-tip marinade out there, this one's a keeper!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sunkisdgrl October 13, 2013

Marinated Tri-Tips for3 Days, they came out sooo o great

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
docwalking July 04, 2011

So here it is, the recipe that my husband says allowed me to make the best meat he has ever eaten. It was sooo moist and tender and delicious. I saw that someone said it had a really salty taste to it, but we didn't think so at all. Definitely worth trying, you'll never have to try any other again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tyler's mom May 26, 2011

Delicious! DH said, "awesome flavor". And for me, who will salt a salt sandwich, this needed no additional seasoning. Fantastic! This will definitely be a staple marinade. Thanks Chef-V.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wealthave June 10, 2009

I made this today, after marinating the tri-tip roast since yesterday.

I don't know what went wrong, but the tri-tip was so tough, it was almost inedible. However the crust on it was DELICIOUS. I don't know if the grade of the meat was poor, or what happened. It was not overcooked, just very tough.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
digsblues July 16, 2012

I had never fixed a Tri-Tip before but several good friends rave about them on a weekly basis. I got a 2.5 lb at the store and followed this recipe exactly. We didn't find one thing to complain about. Next time I will let it sit an entire day (or two). Grilled for 8 minutes on each side for the PERFECT MEDIUM RARE we so love. Meat was flavorful, juicy and tender. Thanks for making my first attempt at fixing this cut of meat a huge success!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CindiJ July 14, 2012

This recipe was perfect. The meat had an awesome flavor, grilled well, was juicy and well flavored. Thanks for sharing. I added it into our recipe rotation.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jen_lynn_miller November 02, 2011
V's Tri-Tip Marinade