31 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Over the top, YUM-O! I can see why this made it on to the pages of "Taste of Home". Our grocery store offers several styles of rotisserie chicken and you know I picked the "Southwest Style", for the extra "Sizzle"! I dissolved a teaspoon of Chipotle Pepper Paste in some chicken broth and mixed in about 2/3 cup into the enchilada sauce (my cans were a few ounces shy from what your recipe calls for). I garnished with sour cream and chopped cilantro...Happy Family!! Thanks for the great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JT'sMom July 13, 2009

This was so easy to prepare and the taste was terrific. I used the only kind of enchilada sauce I could find at the time, but would definitely look for some that had more zing the next time. I was a bit concerned that the top layer of noodles was so thick while the bottom one was so thin, but I needn't have worried about that. It was great. I used a 9x13 Pyrex pan, and it boiled out all over the oven. Perhaps that was due to the type of no-boil noodles I chose. Next time I'll use the 10x15 pan. Thanks Chef~V!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tisherself July 07, 2009

I made this recipe printed from TASTE OF HOME (think it was also Chef~V's from bio info), which had slight variations. For a vegetarian version I just left out the chicken, and to keep with local tastes I substituted the canned enchilada sauce with a 14 oz. container of frozen New Mexican red chile puree, 1-1/2 cups of water, 3/4 tsp. salt, 1/2 tsp garlic powder (left out the minced garlic in recipe) and 1/2 tsp. dry Mexican oregano. I also subbed Mexican cheese blend for the shredded cheddar and jack (original recipe called for 4 cups, but 2 cups was plenty). It was DELICIOUS!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
George's Gma June 16, 2009

Awesome!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mattwright88 February 15, 2009

I made this (and used the Zaar conversion tool to cut the proportions in half). I bought a rotisserie chicken from the grocery store to make the prep time even faster. The single herb(cilantro) was surprisingly flavorful and brought out the spices in the enchilada sauce. The dish came out of the oven not looking like typical lasgna (think more like an open-faced enchilada) but was delicious. This makes for a great company meal.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Obag September 27, 2008

This dish is absolutely delicious. I was lucky enough to try it last week, and loved the creative hybrid between lasagna and enchiladas.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DriaDB September 22, 2008

I used regular whole wheat noodles for this one and did cook them before starting the lasagna. I also used FF cottage cheese in place of the ricotta and used my blender to mix it with the cilantro and eggs. It came out creamy and pourable, which was great to layer between the noodles. At serving time after setting for 15 minutes, it made a nice layer and was very tasty! This was a big hit all the way around the table! My grandchildren ate every bite and NO complaints! That is a feat in itself :) Thanks so much for this excellent recipe V!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Crystal Cooks September 19, 2008

Omg, i'm eating it right now and it is SOOOOO good. Everyone in the room is saying "oooh" and "aaahh" Everything is perfect-great flavors, great texture. A total hit and I will make it again and again. Thanks Chef V!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Liza at Food.com September 15, 2008

Great way to use up leftover chicken!! :D I used Homemade Enchilada Sauce for the sauce. I also used whole wheat lasagna noodles and low fat ricotta to make it a little healthier. It was great! Thanks for sharing!! :D

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SweetsLady May 22, 2008

Wow...can't believe I forgot to rate this! I added Balck beans, corn, galric and 1 can of rotel with jalapenos. Cooked the chicken in hot and spicy taco seasoning and some cumin. This recipe is the bomb!!! Have made it twice now and never any leftovers! The kids LOVE it! Thanks for posting such a great recipe. I'm sure I'll be making this for years to come!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lazy Chef 2 April 25, 2008
V's Mexican Lasagna