31 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Hi Volanda! I have made this recipe at least 6 times since I received my Simple and Delicious magazine a couple years ago. My family loves this lasagna so much. It was the first time using no boil noodles and I was nervous but they work great! I notice the ingredients here are a little different......my magazine calls for 30 ounces of enchilada sauce (I always buy a 28 ounce can of mild La Victoria red enchilada sauce, which is the only kind I will use, and I add 2 ounces of tomato sauce to make the 30 ounces), 1/2 cup minced cilantro instead of 1/4 cup, and 4 cups shredded Mexican cheese blend. I love the way it comes out so I wouldn't dream of doing anything different-it uses the 4 cups of cheese no problem! I very much prefer the noodles over the tortillas in Mexican lasagna. My family cheers when I say I am making this for dinner. I wish I could give this more stars.....it's completely craveable! The only thing wrong with this is that we can eat way too much, way too easily! Thanks so much for your wonderful recipe!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bad kitty 1116 October 20, 2009

This was delicious! I halved the recipe using an 8x8 pan. Turned out great. I also used pepper jack cheese along with the Mexican Blend. Made along with homemade enchilada sauce Enchilada Sauce. This will be made often! Thanks V!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chicagoland Chef du Jour February 24, 2011

I finally got around to trying this recipe and I'm so glad I did! It tastes great and is a neat alternative to preparing enchiladas. Plus, if you use a store prepped chicken and pre-packaged Mexican cheese, it's way quick and easy to assemble! I have a friend who lives in Mexico and dines pretty well down there...even he loves this dish. Thanks, Volanda, for another winner!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GREG IN SAN DIEGO June 10, 2010

We enjoyed this but I still like the Mexican Lasagna made with corn tortillas the best - only a personal preference. Mine came out a little dry-not sure what I did wrong.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DebS #2 July 05, 2009

Excellent recipe! I will be making this again. I also added a cup of corn and a cup of beans to the mix and it turned out awesome. The only thing I would change is really rinse the beans out well because they made the recipe a little too runny. Everyone loved it and we ate it with salsa and green onion.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JellyBean#86 February 25, 2009

Loved it! Perfect as written, and the flavors were just right. I know no-boil lasagna noodles are a big time-saver, but I still like to use the ones that require boiling in water. Thanks for a great recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kathy :-( October 01, 2008

I made this tonight using leftover Mexican pulled pork instead of chicken because that's what I had on hand. The pork was heavily seasoned with chilli powder, chipotle powder, oregano, etc. I was looking for a recipe that would tame and smooth out the seasonings a bit and this did the trick. Mixing the pork with the enchilada sauce/onions/garlic and letting it cook a bit before layering was just what it needed. The lasagna noodles work so much better than tortillas in this type of recipe because I always have trouble with the tortillas getting tough and difficult to cut through. I did cook my noodles first because that's the kind I had and since I did that, I eliminated the second smaller can of sauce. There was plenty of sauce. I also used small curd cottage cheese because I didn't want to go to the store for ricotta. We served this topped with sour cream, chopped tomatoes and shredded lettuce. We loved it! Thanks for posting the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hi-desertKath May 08, 2013

Absolutely fabulous!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mummaof2cuties January 24, 2012

I made this tonight... it was a hit!!! I even shared it on Facebook. My husband said to put it in the "keeper" file. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mathikaileigh January 15, 2012

This recipe is to die for, it's really, seriously great! I made this for a birthday celebration, and it was gone before I knew it! Everyone gobbled it up and it was a huge hit. Very easy to put together, and a terrific blend of flavours, we loved this lasagna! We have a hard time getting enchilada suce here, so my DH made some with crushed tomatoes, tomatoe paste, sugar, vinegar and some spices. Thanks for a terrific recipe V! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Leslie~ July 20, 2009
V's Mexican Lasagna