Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / V's Mexican Lasagna Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    V's Mexican Lasagna

    Average Rating:

    31 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 31

    Sort by:

    • on October 20, 2009

      Hi Volanda! I have made this recipe at least 6 times since I received my Simple and Delicious magazine a couple years ago. My family loves this lasagna so much. It was the first time using no boil noodles and I was nervous but they work great! I notice the ingredients here are a little different......my magazine calls for 30 ounces of enchilada sauce (I always buy a 28 ounce can of mild La Victoria red enchilada sauce, which is the only kind I will use, and I add 2 ounces of tomato sauce to make the 30 ounces), 1/2 cup minced cilantro instead of 1/4 cup, and 4 cups shredded Mexican cheese blend. I love the way it comes out so I wouldn't dream of doing anything different-it uses the 4 cups of cheese no problem! I very much prefer the noodles over the tortillas in Mexican lasagna. My family cheers when I say I am making this for dinner. I wish I could give this more stars.....it's completely craveable! The only thing wrong with this is that we can eat way too much, way too easily! Thanks so much for your wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2011

      This was delicious! I halved the recipe using an 8x8 pan. Turned out great. I also used pepper jack cheese along with the Mexican Blend. Made along with homemade enchilada sauce Enchilada Sauce. This will be made often! Thanks V!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2010

      I finally got around to trying this recipe and I'm so glad I did! It tastes great and is a neat alternative to preparing enchiladas. Plus, if you use a store prepped chicken and pre-packaged Mexican cheese, it's way quick and easy to assemble! I have a friend who lives in Mexico and dines pretty well down there...even he loves this dish. Thanks, Volanda, for another winner!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2009

      We enjoyed this but I still like the Mexican Lasagna made with corn tortillas the best - only a personal preference. Mine came out a little dry-not sure what I did wrong.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2009

      Excellent recipe! I will be making this again. I also added a cup of corn and a cup of beans to the mix and it turned out awesome. The only thing I would change is really rinse the beans out well because they made the recipe a little too runny. Everyone loved it and we ate it with salsa and green onion.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2008

      Loved it! Perfect as written, and the flavors were just right. I know no-boil lasagna noodles are a big time-saver, but I still like to use the ones that require boiling in water. Thanks for a great recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2013

      I made this tonight using leftover Mexican pulled pork instead of chicken because that's what I had on hand. The pork was heavily seasoned with chilli powder, chipotle powder, oregano, etc. I was looking for a recipe that would tame and smooth out the seasonings a bit and this did the trick. Mixing the pork with the enchilada sauce/onions/garlic and letting it cook a bit before layering was just what it needed. The lasagna noodles work so much better than tortillas in this type of recipe because I always have trouble with the tortillas getting tough and difficult to cut through. I did cook my noodles first because that's the kind I had and since I did that, I eliminated the second smaller can of sauce. There was plenty of sauce. I also used small curd cottage cheese because I didn't want to go to the store for ricotta. We served this topped with sour cream, chopped tomatoes and shredded lettuce. We loved it! Thanks for posting the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2012

      Absolutely fabulous!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2012

      I made this tonight... it was a hit!!! I even shared it on Facebook. My husband said to put it in the "keeper" file. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2009

      This recipe is to die for, it's really, seriously great! I made this for a birthday celebration, and it was gone before I knew it! Everyone gobbled it up and it was a huge hit. Very easy to put together, and a terrific blend of flavours, we loved this lasagna! We have a hard time getting enchilada suce here, so my DH made some with crushed tomatoes, tomatoe paste, sugar, vinegar and some spices. Thanks for a terrific recipe V! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2009

      Over the top, YUM-O! I can see why this made it on to the pages of "Taste of Home". Our grocery store offers several styles of rotisserie chicken and you know I picked the "Southwest Style", for the extra "Sizzle"! I dissolved a teaspoon of Chipotle Pepper Paste in some chicken broth and mixed in about 2/3 cup into the enchilada sauce (my cans were a few ounces shy from what your recipe calls for). I garnished with sour cream and chopped cilantro...Happy Family!! Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2009

      This was so easy to prepare and the taste was terrific. I used the only kind of enchilada sauce I could find at the time, but would definitely look for some that had more zing the next time. I was a bit concerned that the top layer of noodles was so thick while the bottom one was so thin, but I needn't have worried about that. It was great. I used a 9x13 Pyrex pan, and it boiled out all over the oven. Perhaps that was due to the type of no-boil noodles I chose. Next time I'll use the 10x15 pan. Thanks Chef~V!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2009

      I made this recipe printed from TASTE OF HOME (think it was also Chef~V's from bio info), which had slight variations. For a vegetarian version I just left out the chicken, and to keep with local tastes I substituted the canned enchilada sauce with a 14 oz. container of frozen New Mexican red chile puree, 1-1/2 cups of water, 3/4 tsp. salt, 1/2 tsp garlic powder (left out the minced garlic in recipe) and 1/2 tsp. dry Mexican oregano. I also subbed Mexican cheese blend for the shredded cheddar and jack (original recipe called for 4 cups, but 2 cups was plenty). It was DELICIOUS!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2009

      Awesome!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2008

      I made this (and used the Zaar conversion tool to cut the proportions in half). I bought a rotisserie chicken from the grocery store to make the prep time even faster. The single herb(cilantro) was surprisingly flavorful and brought out the spices in the enchilada sauce. The dish came out of the oven not looking like typical lasgna (think more like an open-faced enchilada) but was delicious. This makes for a great company meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2008

      This dish is absolutely delicious. I was lucky enough to try it last week, and loved the creative hybrid between lasagna and enchiladas.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2008

      I used regular whole wheat noodles for this one and did cook them before starting the lasagna. I also used FF cottage cheese in place of the ricotta and used my blender to mix it with the cilantro and eggs. It came out creamy and pourable, which was great to layer between the noodles. At serving time after setting for 15 minutes, it made a nice layer and was very tasty! This was a big hit all the way around the table! My grandchildren ate every bite and NO complaints! That is a feat in itself :) Thanks so much for this excellent recipe V!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2008

      Omg, i'm eating it right now and it is SOOOOO good. Everyone in the room is saying "oooh" and "aaahh" Everything is perfect-great flavors, great texture. A total hit and I will make it again and again. Thanks Chef V!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2008

      Great way to use up leftover chicken!! :D I used Homemade Enchilada Sauce for the sauce. I also used whole wheat lasagna noodles and low fat ricotta to make it a little healthier. It was great! Thanks for sharing!! :D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2008

      Wow...can't believe I forgot to rate this! I added Balck beans, corn, galric and 1 can of rotel with jalapenos. Cooked the chicken in hot and spicy taco seasoning and some cumin. This recipe is the bomb!!! Have made it twice now and never any leftovers! The kids LOVE it! Thanks for posting such a great recipe. I'm sure I'll be making this for years to come!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for V's Mexican Lasagna

    Serving Size: 1 (276 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 427.3
     
    Calories from Fat 213
    49%
    Total Fat 23.7 g
    36%
    Saturated Fat 12.1 g
    60%
    Cholesterol 154.6 mg
    51%
    Sodium 1633.2 mg
    68%
    Total Carbohydrate 17.1 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 3.0 g
    12%
    Sugars 11.6 g
    46%
    Protein 35.1 g
    70%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    no-boil lasagna noodles

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites