33 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

We loved this recipe. Like another reviewer, I used a crock pot because I had pork shoulder, but I had great luck with it. I made the rub 24 hours ahead of cooking, and the salsa as well. I didn't have a food processor last time I made this and it took me forever, but I am really slow at chopping.

To convert to pulled pork, I accordingly multiplied the rub ingredients per weight, then added a little extra. I also added a lot of extra juice and even a cup or so of ginger ale. I had no problems with this burning. I'll be making 11 lbs of pork in the crock pot this way for a party on Saturday. I am very excited to have a food processor this time around.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
emidttveit August 03, 2010

I made half a recipe, chilled for 5 hours then cooked inside as it is very cold here. Wonderful flavors that meld together. DH loved this one and look forward to doing it on the grill next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adopt a greyhound January 18, 2012

We loved this recipe, especially the salsa. Without the salsa, the pork would have been dry. I think I would make the salsa to serve over many other meats. It would be great with chicken.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Spencer #2 October 21, 2010

fantastic, beautiful, and super flavorful dish! i served this when my in-laws were in town. they were impressed! it was nice because i marinated the tenderloins the day before and made the salsa the day before too, so it was a total make-ahead dish! i loved how easy it was to throw together! thanks for this impressive keeper, v!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KPD June 07, 2009

the marinade and all that looks great and i am a huge jerk fan but i didnt like this jerk or neither the salsa ... sorry

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bobybaloony April 27, 2009

I won't add any stars, since I screwed this recipe up! I tried making it in my crockpot, but the seasonings burned (that's never happened before!) and the meat was dry. However, I am REALLY looking forward to making this the RIGHT way - we just don't have a grill available to us as we live in an apt - I'll put this recipe on the back burner for now. I'm just posting this review to warn fellow-crock pot-users. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
princessbride029 February 17, 2009

I decided give this salsa recipe a try as an alternative to tomato-based salsas. It was to be one of four salsas served along with tamales at a party. There were no ripe mangos available, so I used four kiwis in total. It was simple to make and had a bright, tangy flavor. The spoonful of rum added the perfect zing! The yellow-green color was ultra appealing. I can't wait to try it with mango!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dabbler December 14, 2008

Absolutely fab!!! Will make again and again-I can see it being very good on chicken too and will try that next. The salsa was great, and I would love to wrap the meat and the salsa up in a fluffy pocketless pita!!! Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kitchenslave03 May 13, 2008

I made this ages ago but forgot to review it. It was great, and the Salsa was exceptional. I used it on many things throughout the week!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PrairieHarpy February 01, 2008

lordy, lordy, Queen Bees and Chef V, you DO know how to do a Jerk recipe---royally!!!! This is a dish to serve the Queen,yeah, it was Moi! Loved every bite! Made for ZWT3.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Caroline Cooks December 17, 2007
V's Grilled Jerk Pork Tenderloin and Pineapple Mango-Kiwi Salsa