Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / V's Do-Ahead Slow Cooker Mashed Potatoes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    V's Do-Ahead Slow Cooker Mashed Potatoes

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on November 23, 2006

      I used russet potatoes as that's what I had on hand. I liked the large quantity the rec. made. They were delicious, and so easy not having to boil and drain a big pot of steaming potatoes. This is a keeper for my holliday meals from now on. Thanks for posting it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2011

      We enjoyed these. I didn't let mine go quite long enough, they could've stood another 1/2 hour to hour but I was in a time crunch, so mine weren't as smooth as we would have liked. We will make them again when we have more time. Served them with Creamy Pork Tenderloin from this website. I believe they will become a regular at our house. Thanks! UPDATE: Just made these again cooking full 4 hrs and they are so delicious and creamy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2010

      I've made this recipe several times and it is always one of the first things to go! I've also tried making it with less milk and adding sour cream, cheese, and bacon for loaded mashed potatoes and all anyone can every say is "Heavennnnn"!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2012

      The recipe is a no brainer and takes all the last minute work out of serving up steaming hot mashed potatoes. I used russet potatoes and water, not broth. I used the hand potato masher first and then finished them with a hand mixer since I like my potatoes smoooooth. I added 2 finely snipped green onions during the mashing process. I also added quite a bit less than 1 1/3 cups milk to get the consistency I prefer. I use my slow cookers for practically everything and this recipe is a definite keeper. Thanks V!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2012

      It's Thanksgiving and we just finished eating dinner. I took a big chance and decided to use your recipe for slow cooker mashed potatoes and I must say I am SO happy that I did! I used my 5-qt oval crockpot and found that the 5 lbs of potatoes did not fit, so I used about 4 pounds instead - but left the rest of the recipe the same. Because some reviewers stated that their potatoes weren't fully cooked, I started mine on LOW half an hour early and then switched to high for 4 hours and 15 minutes. They cooked perfectly, from the top of the crockpot to the bottom. I smashed them with a potato masher, not an electric mixer, and added warm half & half and just whipped them with a fork. I joked to my husband that I hoped he liked his potatoes with a few lumps, but in the end they were smooth and creamy as can be. I left them on the WARM setting until our turkey was done and they were just perfect and delicious. What a delightfully stress-free way to make hot mashed potatoes on a holiday! It couldn't have been easier - especially since hubby peeled all the potatoes - he said he felt like he was in the Army again, LOL! I am never going to boil my potatoes again. I plan to make a big batch of mashed potatoes in the crockpot once a week to use all week for meals. I stumbled across your recipe by accident while looking for something else and I am so glad that I did - they were DELICIOUS! Thanks so much for a real keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2012

      Phenominal recipe! Loved that it totally freed up my stove top on a busy Thanksgiving Day. I used 7 lbs of potatoes since I have an extra large slow cooker and these were perfectly cooked in 4 1/2 hours and mashed up and came together in the end in no time at all. Bonus is since the crock is already hot, just putting the lid back on top it allowed me time to finish putting things in serving dishes and it was still nice and hot. Thanks V for a keeper for doing mashed potatoes from now on!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2011

      I made these last night and they are great. They made a lot so I was able to put some away in the freezer for later. I used 1/2 & 1/2 and not milk and only use 1/2 cup. The garlic was a great idea for them. I might try to add some Cheese at some time since we really like cheesy mash potatoes.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2010

      I made these for Thanksgiving dinner. I also used russet potatoes and pealed them ahead of time. There were 8 of us and everyone said they were the best mashed potatoes they've ever eaten. I will never go back to boiling them again! So easy and tasty! Thanks for sharing!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2008

      We liked these, but I had problems getting them done. The potatoes near the bottom were perfect after four hours, but the ones on top that weren't in the milk weren't done and had discolored a bit. I'm wondering if it might be because I have the old fashioned kind of tall narrow crockpot rather than the new wider ones that would have allowed the potatoes to all sit in the milk. It worked out well as I nuked them for several minutes and then mashed them with no problem. I added a bit more salt at the end. We both enjoyed the addition of the garlic powder. Thanks Chef-V! Made for Beverage Tag, please see my rating system.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2014

      I have made this a few times with different kinds of potatoes, and it has come out perfect every time. The couple of times that I made it for a group, people were pretty interested in how it was done in the crock pot, so I guess you can say it is a decent conversation starter, too. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2013

      So easy - you can get the mashed potatoes out of the way hours before dinner, allowing more time for all the other details. They were quite buttery, though. I will try it with less butter next time. Although my 11-year old son loved them, and he has never liked my mashed potatoes before!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2013

      This is definitely delicious and EASY! I use russet potatoes, as I prefer them. I follow the directions exactly every time I make these and they always turn out right! Mashing seems to take less time with this method, which is just another reason to use it! This was such a time-saver during the holidays last year and this year! Plus, everyone loves the flavor and they stay warm in the crock pot with a warm setting! Will continue to use this recipe for years to come. Thank you so much! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2013

      family raved. they fought over the leftovers. i don't even like mashed potatoes and i ate these. the mash got super creamy the longer they sat on "warm". will make these again. thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2012

      I was disappointed that the color of the potatoes turned and the potatoes looked like thick apple sauce. They tasted good. I don't think I will do it again. Presentation is important on a holiday!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2012

      This was very easy and allowed me to concentrate on other more important dishes. Mine only took 3 1/2 hours to complete, but I thing that was because I had chopped the potatoes up really small.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2012

      Absolutely Fantastic recipe! So easy, So delicious! Thank You!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2008

      These worked great! I packed everything and took them to dd's new house where we cooked them in her new slow cooker! They were tasty and as amazingly wonderful as mashed potatoes done the traditional way! Thanks V! *Made for Bev Tag*

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2007

      So easy :) The taste is wonderful. I think I used only 1/2 cup of milk. I used only 1 tablespoon of salt. Next time, I'll try with less butter, maybe 1/2 cup. Just to make it healthier cause the taste is really good. I have leftovers, and I hope it's going to be good, cause usually I don't like mashed potatoes leftovers. thanks V :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for V's Do-Ahead Slow Cooker Mashed Potatoes

    Serving Size: 1 (192 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 224.2
     
    Calories from Fat 111
    49%
    Total Fat 12.3 g
    19%
    Saturated Fat 7.7 g
    38%
    Cholesterol 33.3 mg
    11%
    Sodium 592.6 mg
    24%
    Total Carbohydrate 25.8 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 3.1 g
    12%
    Sugars 1.1 g
    4%
    Protein 3.6 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites