20 Reviews

I used russet potatoes as that's what I had on hand. I liked the large quantity the rec. made. They were delicious, and so easy not having to boil and drain a big pot of steaming potatoes. This is a keeper for my holliday meals from now on. Thanks for posting it.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ohgal November 23, 2006

We enjoyed these. I didn't let mine go quite long enough, they could've stood another 1/2 hour to hour but I was in a time crunch, so mine weren't as smooth as we would have liked. We will make them again when we have more time. Served them with Creamy Pork Tenderloin from this website. I believe they will become a regular at our house. Thanks! UPDATE: Just made these again cooking full 4 hrs and they are so delicious and creamy!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
catmaniacs November 06, 2011

I've made this recipe several times and it is always one of the first things to go! I've also tried making it with less milk and adding sour cream, cheese, and bacon for loaded mashed potatoes and all anyone can every say is "Heavennnnn"!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tsobserver November 25, 2010

It's Thanksgiving and we just finished eating dinner. I took a big chance and decided to use your recipe for slow cooker mashed potatoes and I must say I am SO happy that I did! I used my 5-qt oval crockpot and found that the 5 lbs of potatoes did not fit, so I used about 4 pounds instead - but left the rest of the recipe the same. Because some reviewers stated that their potatoes weren't fully cooked, I started mine on LOW half an hour early and then switched to high for 4 hours and 15 minutes. They cooked perfectly, from the top of the crockpot to the bottom. I smashed them with a potato masher, not an electric mixer, and added warm half & half and just whipped them with a fork. I joked to my husband that I hoped he liked his potatoes with a few lumps, but in the end they were smooth and creamy as can be. I left them on the WARM setting until our turkey was done and they were just perfect and delicious. What a delightfully stress-free way to make hot mashed potatoes on a holiday! It couldn't have been easier - especially since hubby peeled all the potatoes - he said he felt like he was in the Army again, LOL! I am never going to boil my potatoes again. I plan to make a big batch of mashed potatoes in the crockpot once a week to use all week for meals. I stumbled across your recipe by accident while looking for something else and I am so glad that I did - they were DELICIOUS! Thanks so much for a real keeper!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nana-Banana November 22, 2012

We liked these, but I had problems getting them done. The potatoes near the bottom were perfect after four hours, but the ones on top that weren't in the milk weren't done and had discolored a bit. I'm wondering if it might be because I have the old fashioned kind of tall narrow crockpot rather than the new wider ones that would have allowed the potatoes to all sit in the milk. It worked out well as I nuked them for several minutes and then mashed them with no problem. I added a bit more salt at the end. We both enjoyed the addition of the garlic powder. Thanks Chef-V! Made for Beverage Tag, please see my rating system.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
puppitypup January 22, 2008

So easy - you can get the mashed potatoes out of the way hours before dinner, allowing more time for all the other details. They were quite buttery, though. I will try it with less butter next time. Although my 11-year old son loved them, and he has never liked my mashed potatoes before!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I try! November 29, 2013

The recipe is a no brainer and takes all the last minute work out of serving up steaming hot mashed potatoes. I used russet potatoes and water, not broth. I used the hand potato masher first and then finished them with a hand mixer since I like my potatoes smoooooth. I added 2 finely snipped green onions during the mashing process. I also added quite a bit less than 1 1/3 cups milk to get the consistency I prefer. I use my slow cookers for practically everything and this recipe is a definite keeper. Thanks V!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mycrocodile December 26, 2012

Phenominal recipe! Loved that it totally freed up my stove top on a busy Thanksgiving Day. I used 7 lbs of potatoes since I have an extra large slow cooker and these were perfectly cooked in 4 1/2 hours and mashed up and came together in the end in no time at all. Bonus is since the crock is already hot, just putting the lid back on top it allowed me time to finish putting things in serving dishes and it was still nice and hot. Thanks V for a keeper for doing mashed potatoes from now on!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HokiesMom November 22, 2012

I made these last night and they are great. They made a lot so I was able to put some away in the freezer for later. I used 1/2 & 1/2 and not milk and only use 1/2 cup. The garlic was a great idea for them. I might try to add some Cheese at some time since we really like cheesy mash potatoes.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LRMyers1968 August 23, 2011

I made these for Thanksgiving dinner. I also used russet potatoes and pealed them ahead of time. There were 8 of us and everyone said they were the best mashed potatoes they've ever eaten. I will never go back to boiling them again! So easy and tasty! Thanks for sharing!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nancyj09 December 04, 2010
V's Do-Ahead Slow Cooker Mashed Potatoes