Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / V's Crock Pot Bottom Round Roast Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    V's Crock Pot Bottom Round Roast

    Average Rating:

    23 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 23

    Sort by:

    • on September 18, 2011

      As with a few other reviewers, I found the time to be too short, but my roast was a bit larger. I think I had a 4 lb roast and it took 9 hours to be fork tender. It was an easy recipe and it tastes good - so I'm happy. I didn't think it would cook in 6 hours, though, so I counted on 8. We still ate an hour late :-). I did salt and pepper, then brown the roast on high heat in my Dutch oven, simply because I'm used to doing that and think it is helpful to do. It's the only change I made - it does make for more mess and add 10 minutes to the prep.

      I also agree with another reviewer who suggested using a wine you'd like to drink vs. a cheap wine that you wouldn't drink. It really makes a difference. I used to think it was a waste, but after some experiments, I found that it is more important than I thought.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2010

      FANTACTIC! This was my first try doing a Bottom Round roast in a crock pot. The flavor was terrific. I did add 3 minced cloves of garlic and 1/3 c minced celery and celery leaves along with the rest of your ingredients (our favorite :) ). It took longer than the written time (my roast just fit in a 5 qt. oval crock pot) but the results were worth the wait. It was perfect for slicing and I wanted the gravy to chill overnight so I could skim the fat off before I thickened the gravy your way. I did add a can of mushrooms because I had them.) & 1 1/2 tsp Kitchen Bouquet (only becsuse I didn't brown the roast before I put it in the crock pot - Old habits are hard to change :( .) I shouldn't have worried. This recipe "Rocks"! It's easy and delicious. I served it with Parsley Mashed Potatoes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2009

      FANTASTIC. I used Vidalia onions and added 4 oz. of "gourmet mix" mushrooms. When roast was done, I added just a little cornstarch to the gravy and blended it with an immersion blender. It was so delicious I wanted to DRINK it. Served with blue cheese mashed potatoes. We all ate so much no one could move afterwards. It was worth it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2010

      Very sorry I know that the ratings on your dish was all five stars, but mine came out tough. I followed the directions exactly as written. But when I crock pot a bottom round I always cook it for eight hours and it always comes out tender. We did love the flavor of the meat very much and my gravy was also excellent, it just needed to cook a little longer. Sorry, I would make this recipe again but just longer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2009

      Delicious! I made this exactly as written and used a very good quality red wine I had left over from another dinner. The only suggestion I would make here is to use a good red wine as opposed to a supermarket bought red cooking wine; it will make all the difference. Mashed red potatoes and sauteed tarragon peas and carrots completed the meal. This one is a keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2009

      Tender, moist and flavorful. I had a 5lb bottom round roast so I doubled the ingredients. Like a previous reviewer, I also thickened the juices with cornstarch and whizzed them to make gravy. Yum! Thanx for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2009

      This by far is the best Roast recipe I have tried. I followed the recipe exactly and it couldn't have been easier. GREAT RECIPE! Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2009

      ABSOLUTELY AMAZING! Last time I had pot roast, my parents WAY overcooked it, so I was wary to try it again. I got a bottom roast for super-cheap at the grocery store, so I tried this recipe since it had such great reviews. It pulled apart like string cheese and I can totally relate to the girl who couldn't wait for her husband to get home to eat it! This is very VERY good, kinda tastes like beef stew. I made this with mushrooms and substituted cranberry juice for red wine since I am 20. WONDERFUL!!! and easy :-D

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2008

      The meat is good, a tiny tiny bit dry, but it's still very yummy. And the onion sauce with the juices is my favorite food since today. The combination is more than anything in the earth, the salty meat and the sweet onions...wow. I blended the onions a little, not much. I can't stop eating, I have to wait for my husband and I can't stop. I cooked the meat for almost 7 hours, turning it after 6 hours.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2014

      The best pot roast recipe hands down. The only thing I did differently was instead of salt & pepper, I used a Montreal steak seasoning. No need to brown the meat beforehand. The juice makes an excellent gravy. Just thicken with corn starch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2014

      This receipt ROCKS!!!!! But the timing is a bit off..... I cooked my roast for 6 hrs as it said, the meat was Still tough.... I'd say it took about 8 hrs and prob about 30-45 mins.... anyhoo, the end product was very delish.... well deserved 4 **** stars..... Mayra V.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2013

      Excellent flavor thanks for sharing, super easy and so much easier than browning first, saves on the mess! It did take longer, half way in, I moved my setting to hight. Was moist and very tender!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2013

      this was very easy and delicious. i used our own "back yard" grass fed beef and it was very tender. however, we did cook it for about 12 hours (overnight for an afternoon potluck). browned the beef before adding it to crock pot, this seals in the juices. i also added 3 stalks of celery, 3 cloves of garlic and 1/2 dozen potatoes, cut in 1 inch pieces. will definitely make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2012

      The fam absolutely LOVED this! My roast was bigger (5lbs) so I doubled the ingredients and extended the cooking time. I also browned it a bit in my large skillet before I moved it to the crock pot...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2012

      This smelled like a quarter pounder while cooking. Tasted great, too. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2011

      This was great! we were tired of grilled food already this summer and I had the roast in freezer. The only thing I added were some chopped tomatoes and mushrooms and fresh herbs from my garden. Use wine you would drink!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2010

      This made a very lean and tuff cut of meat very tender! Excellent flavor. Will definitely make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2010

      Fantastic recipe. Great way to cook a piece of meat that is usually very tough. Meat was tasty, gravy was flavorful and overall this is a great sunday meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2008

      This was so easy, and so delicious. I did add the mushrooms, and it was amazing. My leftovers were too dry because we could not resist eating up all of the "gravy," so next time I will make sure to eat the roast in it's entirety right out of the pot!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2008

      I've made roast zillions of times. I've never used wine. It was different and delicious with the 'gravy'. yumm.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for V's Crock Pot Bottom Round Roast

    Serving Size: 1 (402 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 542.5
     
    Calories from Fat 136
    25%
    Total Fat 15.2 g
    23%
    Saturated Fat 5.1 g
    25%
    Cholesterol 207.5 mg
    69%
    Sodium 760.9 mg
    31%
    Total Carbohydrate 12.9 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 1.7 g
    7%
    Sugars 7.4 g
    29%
    Protein 77.8 g
    155%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes