Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Vortex World Famous Potato Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Vortex World Famous Potato Salad

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on April 18, 2003

      I just made this, and I have to say WooHoo this is GOOD! Normally I only eat mustard based potato salads, but this recipe has changed that forever. I do have a few comments though: 1.) The ingredients list says red wine, and the directions say red wine vinegar. I used the vinegar. 2.) If I would have cooked the potatoes for the amount of time specified, I would have had mush. I just cooked them until they were tender when I inserted a fork. 3.) I had to leave out the celery because when I opened my produce drawer it wasn't a pretty sight. 4.) I was out of seasoning salt, but I think that would have made it too salty for me. I will be making it again with the celery!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2010

      Just to make it clear, Vortex potato salad also contains hard boiled eggs, bacon and chives

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2007

      The dressing on this potato salad is just wonderful! I only made a small portion of this recipe, because I am only feeding two and this recipe makes quite a lot. I only had to cook the potatoes for about 25 minutes for them to be tender. Miss Annie always has the best recipes and this one is no exception! Thanks again, Miss Annie : )

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2006

      Great potato salad! I didn't cook the potatoes for the full hour, but just till they were tender. Also didn't add the salt, just using the seasoning salt. Thanks for sharing the recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2003

      This is a good potato salad recipe. I didn't change anything in it though I did only cook the potatoes until I could poke a fork through them easily. I had everything in the recipe though and it was creamy with a nice mild flavor. If you're used to a stronger potato salad like a mustard base it may be too mild.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2011

      This was an easy, fast recipe to use, I did add three hard boiled eggs though. I would highly recommend making and trying it for your self!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2009

      Probably the best potato salad I have made! I changed a couple of things though. I used russet potatoes and cider vinegar instead of red wine. I also used celery salt instead of seasoning salt and i did add a squirt of mustard. Next time I may try with miracle whip instead of mayo. Really good! Thanks for sharing Miss Annie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2009

      I was eager to try this because I wanted a creamy potato salad that had lots of flavor but without mustard. This has turned into our new favorite mayo-based potato salad with a couple of modifications: I reduced the sour cream to 1 cup, and the pepper to 1 1/2 tsp. I also cook the potatoes in my pressure cooker instead of following the directions listed here. Thanks for sharing this great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2008

      cooking time is just right if you cook it slow!! add seasonings to potatoes while boiling (onion, carrot, celery) any you have left over. plus a little salt and pepper, adds additional flavor to your potato salad if you potatoes already have some flavor. thanks, miss annie for the great recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2008

      This is great! No missing the pickles, relish or extra mayo! This is an awesome side for grilled steaks (a definite man's meal), chicken,and shrimp! On the batch I made to serve with grilled steaks I added several tablespoons of bumpy mustard which worked great though it was not needed with the BBQed chicken nor the shrimp. BTW I used Russet potatoes & Yukon Golds - both worked well. Thank you Miss Annie for this keeper we will be using often this summer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2007

      Miss Annie, what can I say. My family fought over the remains. Stole most of it before I could even serve it. Dd talked about it to her friends. I knew this was going to be a great recipe when I was making it. I followed as written but just had to add cooked eggs. As I had the dressing, cut veg & eggs mixed waiting for the potatoes to cool as stated in recipe. I thought I would have a taste. You would have thought I had found the remains of the chocolate cake frosting.I had to force myself to stop tastng it! Next time I am going to weigh my peeled potatoes before cooking so I will have the exact amount of dressing needed. Dd & I are potato conisors. We have eaten "many" potato salad recipes. I no longer need to look any further.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2006

      I've used this as my "show-stopping" potato salad for years now. I highly recommend it. It is creamy and well-seasoned.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2006

      I made this for the Summer 2006 Pick A Chef Contest. I would recommend this recipe to anyone. I gave this recipe a 4 Star since I thought that it was a little too WOW!! Since I am so use to regular Potatoe Salad. I think that eating it a little over a period of time I could get my liking for it very easy. But that would take a while since their is a lot of WOW!! I say WOW cause that is the only word I can come up for it!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Vortex World Famous Potato Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (259 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 297.1
     
    Calories from Fat 111
    37%
    Total Fat 12.4 g
    19%
    Saturated Fat 4.9 g
    24%
    Cholesterol 22.5 mg
    7%
    Sodium 779.2 mg
    32%
    Total Carbohydrate 42.8 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 4.6 g
    18%
    Sugars 6.0 g
    24%
    Protein 5.5 g
    11%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    seasoning salt

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes