8 Reviews

Kick BUTT Boomette! This recipe is fantastic! We made the marinade and shrimp as is, and halved the dipping sauce recipe. We have lots of dipping sauce left over, but no volcanic shrimp! I can't tell you how much we loved these. They are seriously spicy and just downright awesome. New recipe find, LOVE IT! Made for Pick-A-Chef Fall 2011.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DeeVaFoodie October 16, 2011

This recipe was included in Book#228608. March 22, 2008 -- What a FANTASTIC recipe!! The marinade flavored the shrimp nicely, without overpowering it. I wasn't sure if the dipping sauce would be too hot because of the amount of horseradish, but it wasn't -- the sauce was perfect and I loved the hint of lemon. It made more sauce than we needed, so next time I'll make half of the dipping sauce. It was so good that my husband took the shrimp I had set aside to take a picture of, and gobbled them down -- GRR. Thanks for this great recipe!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TasteTester January 30, 2009

Very nice! I used fresh oregano that I have growing and increased the amount x 3 since I was using fresh herbs rather than dried. Due to the comments left on reviews I was worried about the sauce. I do not think I should have been. This is a simple cocktail sauce very popular in the US. It does not really allow the flavor that is so wonderful on these shrimp though! The sauce alone is good and the shrimp alone are wonderful. They just do not compliment each other. I suggest maybe posting them as two separate recipes. You have two wonderful recipes that way! I did try the sauce first with half the worcestershire but after tasting I added the remaining portion. I did double the Tabasco after tasting but that is personal preference. We love hot stuff! This are great recipes Boomette! Thanks for sharing them! *Made for Bevvy Tag*

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mama's Kitchen (Hope) July 29, 2008

Ok first off this was a such a HARD one to rate.. DH and I agreed that we loved, adored, devoured the wonderful devine, delectable shrimp... but we didn't like the dipping sauce at all !!! Others who reviewed this obviously did and so it just goes to show how personal preference is EVERYTHING! We thought the the flavours in the shrimp worked magnificantly together and loved the heat that gives a lift to what might otherwise heve been a tasty but not too different taste combination. We used piri piri ( Portuguse pepper flakes) and it lifts this to a WONDERFUL new level. The dipping sauce we felt had too many conflicting flavours, we could taste the worcestershire sauce one second, the ketchup the next etc and they seemed to be falvours apart in one sauce instead of harmony together. We would have given sooo different ratings for just the sauce or just the shrimp, bit how to rate them together ? well... our best way was to look at the star of the show, deficiately the shrimp in our opinion LOL and to say that for us a different dipping sauce would be fine.. it's a Shrimp recipe after all and not a condiment one. Therefore please see my rating system: 5 excellent excellent stars for the shrimp, that we will be making over and over again, .. also with a different sauce :) DO make this for yourself and see for yourself how the sauce works for you. Thanks for a wonderful recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kiwidutch April 30, 2008

This is a good shrimp recipe, but for us, the oregano was a bit overpowering. I made two batches - one without red pepper and much lighter on the spices for the kids, and a batch as directed for DH and myself - we like things HOT! We both preferred the kids' batch, it just seemed to allow the flavor of the shrimp to come through more. The combination of flavors is very good, but I would cut the oregano in half, maybe more. The dipping sauce is excellent - it is very similar to how I have made my cocktail sauce to accompany shrimp and seafood for years. The addition of celery salt adds another layer which we enjoyed. I did use chili sauce instead of ketchup for added kick. Made for 123 Hits Game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gatorbek April 25, 2008

*WOW* this is awesome. I loved the combination of flavors and the kick of the hot pepper (I used Tapatia, all I had on hand) This was so simple to throw together, and the raves were ooooh and awwwhs all the way. I was asked for the recipe by several guest! Needless to say, this will be made again and again. It is now known by my friends as "That Spicy Shrimp!" Thanks Boomie for sharing this awesome recipe. The sauce was peeerfect too! ~V

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vseward (Chef~V) November 23, 2007

This is a robust, wonderful way to cook shrimp that brings all the flavors and shrimp together in a neat bundle that you will make again and again. Had all ingredients on hand, and was very easy and simple to put together. I LOVE hot foods so I added extra hot pepper flakes and extra Tabasco. I also added some large sliced big Vidalia onions to the the marinade along with the shrimp and cooked them both on the grill together. The onion flavor combined with the shrimp and other flavors and produced a wonderful taste. I served these shrimp sitting happily perched on some fettuccine noodles that were slightly buttered. Everyone decided to lick their plates to gather up the all the extra juice at the end. Thanks, Boomette for posting this.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andi of Longmeadow Farm November 06, 2007
Volcanic Shrimp With Dipping Sauce