Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Vodka Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Vodka Sauce

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on January 28, 2010

      Vodka sauce is my favorite, so i had to learn how to make it. This one was just about everything I wanted in a creamy vodka sauce. One thing I added was some crushed red peppers to give it a little spice. I also made it a little more chunky by using one can of petite diced tomatoes and one can of crushed tomatoes instead of two cans of crushed tomatoes. This is very popular among my friends at Penn State, so thanks a bunch!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2010

      Thanks for a great crowd pleasing recipe. We had 9 guest and they all enjoyed the sauce. I substituted evaporated milk for the heavy cream and used an entire can of tomato paste to lower the fat content. I also blended the sauce smooth so the kiddos couldn't see the tomato and onion pieces. Big hit. I will make again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2009

      This was absolutely delicious. My DD only wanted to try this with maybe 3 noodles and a tiny bit of sauce, because she tried it at Macaroni Grill and didn't care for it at all. After she tried mine she wanted a full plate full. I used shallots and 1 can crushed tomatoes and 1 can diced tomatoes. Worked out wonderful. Also I found it needed a bit of salt and pepper. I don't think this would taste the same without the fresh basil, dried would not work here I don't think. I will definitely make this again. Made enough for 3 other meals so in the freezer it went. Thanks so much for posting Chef Erin.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2009

      OH YES!!! This was very good and very easy. Most items were things I had "on hand" and so it will be a good "go-to" meal. The only thing I changed was to divide it in half. Only 3 of us here. I served it over a chicken & cheese ravioli that I had. With a salad and some Italian bread this made a fabulous meal! Thank you so much!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2006

      Wow!! Great sauce. I didn't have crushed tomatoes but used diced tomatoes with great success. I think next time I'll use 1 can of diced and 1 can of crushed. This recipe is very close to the Balducci's sauce from New York. Thanks!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2012

      Recipe was great. I added 1 cup of parmesan cheese for flavor and a little sugar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2011

      I love tomato vodka sauce. Even though this recipe is easy, it did not have nearly enough flavor for the effort. I will not be making this one again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2011

      So good! Like other reviewers, I added a little crush red pepper flake both to the onion/garlic while they were sauteeing and to the sauce while simmering. I also added coarse salt and black pepper to onion/garlic while sauteeing. Used dried basil since I didn't have fresh. This is so delicious! I will make this again and again1

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2010

      This is such a simple and delicious sauce! We like to put anchovies on top (my husband likes a lot; I like a couple!) and serve it with a salad. It also freezes well!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2010

      Really tasty... I used all diced tomatoes. Hubby is the one that requested it and he said that this is how he remembered it!! DS who is 9 ate it up and so did DD who is 5. It is really good with the sweet tomatoe chunks in the sauce. Hubby spiced it up with crushed red pepper flakes just on his. I LOVE garlic so I think next time I will use about 1 1/2 times the amount of garlic. I served it with penne and sauteed shrimp,... a true hit that I will make again. THANKS!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2007

      I've always wanted to try a vodka sauce and I had a bowl of seasoned vodka leftover from a marinated cherry tomato dish. This recipe was enjoyed by all.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2006

      Very nice sauce. I added a pinch of salt and a pinch of crushed red pepper flakes and served it over a box of Penne pasta. This makes a lot of sauce. I may see if I can freeze a quart. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2005

      The recipe is great!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Vodka Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (271 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 336.4
     
    Calories from Fat 199
    59%
    Total Fat 22.2 g
    34%
    Saturated Fat 11.6 g
    58%
    Cholesterol 65.2 mg
    21%
    Sodium 353.0 mg
    14%
    Total Carbohydrate 17.8 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 3.9 g
    15%
    Sugars 2.6 g
    10%
    Protein 4.5 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites