13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I enjoyed this on top of a caramel chocolate swirl ic cream and it was so good! I found the rum was not overpowering.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Studentchef May 02, 2011

This is the perfect replica of a real N'Awlins praline! I made this to go in Praline Iced Coffee and my DD ate it on vanilla ice cream. DELISH!! I will be making this from now on. Thank you-

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kellychris January 19, 2010

Oh so decadent... Rich and thick sauce that tasted just like a melted authentic praline you would find in New Orleans. I did not have any dark rum so I substituted some spiced rum. I made this just to use in Praline Iced Coffee... but I think I am going to have to get some ice cream just to pour this over and indulge!!! Thanks for posting such an easy and delicious dessert sauce!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
atlfitgirl August 05, 2007

I think I have a new favorite ice cream topping! I didn't have any dark rum, so I used Bacardi white rum. I left the pecans on the side, because Gram can't eat nuts. All I want to know is, how does anyone get this to stretch for 8 servings?!? I seriously considered using a straw with this stuff! Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Muffin Goddess July 02, 2007

I served this sauce with vanilla ice cream for a wonderful dessert tonight. Fantastic flavor and very rich tasting. Made for ZWTIII

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dreamgoddess June 09, 2007

I spread that awesomly delicious sauce over 5 dishes of Edy's Grand Vanilla! We scoffed this up like we'd never had ice cream before nor would ever have it again. i actually felt like a kid again I so enjoyed this. TFS Made this for ZWT3

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Julie B's Hive June 02, 2007

Very yummy! Smooth and thick and rich. The rum is just the right touch. I did toast the pecans first in a dry skillet and served with you Commander's Palace White Chocolate Mousse (talk about excess - we also had the raspberry sauce). Kate, we love your recipes!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evelyn/athens May 26, 2007

Wow! Great stuff! I couldn't find any maple extract, so I had to buy rum extract instead....it was to DIE for! Try putting it on Aunt Emma's Bread Pudding Aunt Emma's bread pudding!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bobba_Louie February 24, 2007

Absolutely fabulous!! Easy and so tasty...the rum is just the right amount. Ran out of vanilla ice cream so served it over Cappucino Caramel ice cream...I agree with bluemoon...to die for!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs Goodall July 12, 2006

Dangerously addictive is something of an understatement, so BE WARNED! I made this to use in Rita L’s Praline Ice Coffee Praline Iced Coffee and there was some left to try on ice cream. Heavenly in the iced coffee and on the ice cream. With Christmas coming up, this would be just such a scrumptious alternative dessert, over ice cream, for those – like me – who have never liked Christmas pudding. Be warned, be bold: but do try this recipe! Dark and delicious. I don’t usually use the expression, but it truly is to die for! Ah that there are only 5 stars available. This is a 5+++ Thank you, Kate!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bluemoon downunder November 26, 2005
Visko's Praline Sauce