12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Delicious! Made this with white wine vinegar and marinated my chicken pieces for 8 hours. It smelled amazing and tasted even better! Love the fact that it is made from common ingredients that I always have on hand. Thank you for sharing Marg!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mzkami March 21, 2011

This was easy to make and turned out juicy with a nice crispy crust. I thought the seasonings were a bit on the bland side, was looking for a more "in your face" flavor. I'm from the midwest so my idea of BBQ is a bit skewed.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
enigma535 August 05, 2010

Perfect, didn't change a thing. Hubby gave it 5 starts while licking his fingers. Looked exactly like the picture too. Can't wait to have it again with coleslaw. Thanks for an awesome and easy recipe. Elizabeth

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookingpompom July 05, 2010

5+ star recipe for BBQ chicken for sure! We couldn't stop eating this chicken and all the kids at the barbecue were stealing pieces off each others plates :) This is one recipe I don't want to EVER loose!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sherri T Is Me August 30, 2009

Thank you Marg for the top of the list go-to marinade - all with things always in the house. Used it on 12 thighs for the gas grill. Simply outstanding. Am going to give this whirl on some country style ribs & some catch-of-the-day bluefish or Spanish Mackerel here in the near future. Total treasure - can't be beat. Thank you again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Buster's friend July 21, 2009

Yummy! I didn't marinade as long as I wanted to either. I used chicken breast (bone in), but next time I want to try the whole chicken. I think the darker meat will take to the marinade better. Thanks marg! This is definitely a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ellestrange March 17, 2008

Excellent! I did not get to marinate as long as I wanted to so next time I will definitely plan to do it overnight. I love your photo Marg! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FLYing4Me December 27, 2007

*OMG* This is one of those recipes I wish I could give more stars! Outstanding marinade for chicken. I was a bit nervous about the vinegar and the amount of poultry seasoning but the end result was perfect all the ingredients blend soo well together. Three days later my family is still talking about Virginia Chicken!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Calee October 03, 2007

Excellent recipe! I used a gas grill, cooked the chicken using the indirect method for about 1.5 hours. Turned out crispy on the outside, juicy on the inside.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dad's a chef! May 21, 2006

Made only half a recipe and marinated chicken breasts in it for about 3 hours, but I really think it would have more flavor if left in the marinade longer than that. Nevertheless, it was delicious done on the outdoor grill. This really makes a lot of marinade, even for half a recipe. Thanks, Marg, for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marie April 09, 2006
Virginia Barbecue Chicken