Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Virginia Apple Pudding Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Virginia Apple Pudding

    Average Rating:

    46 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 46

    Sort by:

    • on November 17, 2002

      WOW this is good! I never heard of northern spy apples so I used Winesaps that we picked a couple of weekends ago and this was excellent! I served it warm on vanilla ice cream and mmmmmmm, this recipe is delicious! Thanks :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2011

      This turned out delicious! I made this vegan by using soy milk instead of milk and vegan butter instead of butter. Also based on other reviews I cut the amount of butter to a little more than a 1/4 cup (just enough for a thin layer on the bottom of the pan). Thank you and your neighbor for such a great dessert.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2009

      This is my all time favorite cobbler recipe. I use it with any fruit or fruit pie filling.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2013

      This is sooooo good! I used 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon and Fuji apples. Try this with vanilla ice cream.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2013

      Amazing! I completely omitted the butter, though. The recipe is very rich and i thought the butter would be too much. I just lightly greased my pan. I used macintosh apple, and it was absolutely divine. I got rave reviews from my guests. I myself enjoyed it as well ;) I cut it like a pie and served it warm w/ vanilla ice cream at my weekly dinner party. I seriously recommend this quick, easy, and tasty dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2012

      WOW! Who knew something so simple could be this amazing? I didn't measure the apples and I think I may have used more than two cups and they were sliced super thin. I did use a pinch more cinnamon and baked about 35 mins. Not too sweet or spiced. Loved the buttery flavor. Served with whipped cream. This will be a regular in our home. Thanks for posting this fantastic recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2010

      As easy as it is to put this together, it's shocking how tasty it turns out! We've had it a couple of times now and I've used granny smiths. Good stuff.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2009

      We did not like this. very greasy. Might try again with granny smiths

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2009

      So easy to make and so incredibly tasty! We served with cool whip on top and between the three of us in our family, ate almost the whole pan in one night! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2009

      I increased the cinnamon to 1 tsp. and lowered the sugar to 3/4 c. using Splenda, as I don't like things too sweet. I used McIntosh apples. This was awesome served with a dollop of whip cream for me and my DW had hers with ice cream! Don

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2009

      All hail Steve! Never seen a pudding like this before - it was delicious!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2008

      My husband really liked this dessert, but I myself thought it was a little strange. I increased the cinnamon like so many reviewers suggested (to 1 tsp) and used Stayman apples that we picked today. The bready part had a nice flavor and texture, but the bottom of it was rather oily from the butter. I must not have sliced the apples thinly enough, because after 35 minutes the crust was brown but they were still on the crisp side. Next time maybe I'll use a mandolin slicer to get them very very thin. We ate it with fresh whipped cream, which is always delightful with a warm cinnamony dessert.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2008

      Yep your neighbour steve does have good recipes....i had to use half white sugar and half brown becuse thats all i had but it turned out crunchy on top and so so yummy, thanks for sharing this one

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2008

      This was just so so for me. A little too rich. Maybe reducing the amount of butter would help but I won't be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2008

      Excellent recipe. It only served 4 but that's because everone liked it. Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2008

      I made this today as listed. I will reduce butter 1/3 cup next time,as you could taste the butter.My DH and myself liked this dessert alot..He isnt much for fruit and he had seconds of this....I will make this often..Thank U for this great apple recipe....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2007

      My husband and I both liked this - which doesn't occur very often! I used 4 Tbs butter, 1/2 wheat flour, and about 3/4 cup sugar. I also added a dash of nutmeg and used 1 tsp cinnamon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2007

      YUMMY...thank you Chuck in Killbuck and Steve. My family loved it. My husband does not like baked fruit but he loves this dish. I followed the recipe exactly except for reducing the butter to 1/3 cup and increasing the cinnamon to 1 teaspoon. It tasted great. I used a medium sized (13x9x2) oval au gratin dish (I wanted more edges because I love crusts). We all wanted more edges because they were so crunchy and buttery. My daughter and I thought it could have used more apples, my husband said "No, it's perfect the way it is." We served it with vanilla ice cream or whipped cream. They all preferred the ice cream. High praises all around.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2007

      Great, easy recipe. I had summer baking apples that needed used up. Any baking apple would do nicely with this recipe. Next time I will add more cinammon, and make sure that I have ice cream on hand. The taste reminded me of apple dumplings. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2007

      I made this this morning and had my BF take it to work. I didn't try it, I don't love cooked apples, but he does. Needless to say he arrived to work at 8:15 and he called me at 8:31 to say it was all gobe and everyone loved it. I think I took the recipe too literal, all my apples were in the middle, not spread around like the picture.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Virginia Apple Pudding

    Serving Size: 1 (157 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 389.2
     
    Calories from Fat 153
    39%
    Total Fat 17.1 g
    26%
    Saturated Fat 10.6 g
    53%
    Cholesterol 46.3 mg
    15%
    Sodium 374.0 mg
    15%
    Total Carbohydrate 57.3 g
    19%
    Dietary Fiber 1.6 g
    6%
    Sugars 37.6 g
    150%
    Protein 3.7 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites