Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Vintage Hamburger Goulash Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Vintage Hamburger Goulash

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on July 20, 2010

      I found this in a very old Jewish cookbook and was going to post it. It is a very good, easy, recipe. I left out the chili powder and this one time I left out the onion because I served this with a side of sauteed onions and yellow squash and didn't want to go over the top with the onions...it was very good and my husband said "This is Mary's Special"..."Um, no, it's hamburger goulash."...apparently this was the only thing his grandmother ever made so they called it "Mary's Special." So this is a very vintage recipe as Grandma Mary died in the 70s...I was happy to find a recipe my husband loved and reminded him of his childhood...I'll be making this over and over again...

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2013

      This is called American Chop Suey and every kid I know in New England ate some variant of this growing up.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2012

      Came out really good. I changed it up some. For one, while beef, onion, tomatoes were simmering I added about 3/4 corn. My mother always had corn hers. Then after 15 minutes of simmering on the pan, I preheated the oven to 380f. I combined the beef and tomatoe mixture with the noodles in a casserole pan (oven pan) and while blending I added about 1/2 cup shredded cheddar. I set it in the oven for about 15 minutes but before removing I placed slices of thin cheddar cheese on it and allowed it to melt. Over all it came out good. Very close to moms receipe which was lost.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2010

      Very good and very tasty! I used 1/2 t. each garlic powder and salt as I didn't have garlic salt. Excellent recipe. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2009

      This was super! Pretty dang close to what Grandma used to make. Just a couple of tweaks to consider: I used Italian Stewed Tomatoes & just cut up them into smaller pieces. I also added about 8 ounces of tomato sauce once everything was mixed together to "wet" it up a bit. Also, the Red Pepper Flakes are a MUST, in my opinion. Thanks for a great recipe. This one's a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2009

      We loved this goulash. I increased the black pepper to about 1 1/2 teaspoons (to suit my family's preferences). But other than that, I stuck to the recipe as written. And I thought it was a very good meal. I think maybe next time I'll add about 1 tablespoon of dried oregano leaves though, as I think it would complement that dish well. Made for 2009 Fall Pick-A-Chef.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2009

      My hubby is a big goulash-lover, and this is another good example. I probably used about 12 ounces of pasta instead of the full 16 ounces; we like a higher ratio of meat to pasta.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2009

      I followed the recipe as written other then I don't buy garlic salt so I used garlic powder and some salt. I used Dreamfield pasta and it was only 13 ounces. We enjoyed this but thought it could use more seasoning. My family used more salt and pepper, hot sauce and parmesan cheese.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2009

      We love this comfort food, thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2009

      My mom made this as I was growing up, as well. Her special touch was to add a can of drained green beans. When I made it tonight, I added freshly grated cheddar before serving with a green salad. Inexpensive, easy and tasty! Thanks for jogging my memory on this one, CelebrationFL. (OT: I'm in Artisan Park)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2009

      Ate this alot growing up and my family loves it today, real comfort food. My mother always added a few of Bacon and sauted with the onions and gr beef.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2009

      We also made this often. We have 9 children in our family and mom use to put a can of pork and beans in it to make it go farther. I make it the same way for my children and they always want beans added!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2009

      I can't tell you how many times I've eaten this in my life. Only diffence in our famliy is that we added diced bell peppers to the mix. Tastes like home!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2009

      Everyone loved your goulash recipe. I did add 1/2 pound more of the meat, an extra teaspoon of garlic salt and chili powder both. I might add an extra 1 teaspoon red pepper flakes if I'm not serving this to young children as I like a little kick to my food. Made for *New Kids On The Block 2009* tag game

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2009

      This sounded so good so I made it for supper today. I did add a couple of things that my family likes in this kind of dish: 2 celery ribs sliced and sauteed with the onion; lots of garlic powder in place of the garlic salt; and 2 tbsp. cider vinegar. This was so much like a dish my aunt used to make for me and my cousins called "skillet supper" and it brought back some halppy memories. Thanks for sharing this recipe. I know everyone else will like it as much as we did if they try it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Vintage Hamburger Goulash

    Serving Size: 1 (489 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 783.1
     
    Calories from Fat 176
    22%
    Total Fat 19.5 g
    30%
    Saturated Fat 7.1 g
    35%
    Cholesterol 77.1 mg
    25%
    Sodium 357.8 mg
    14%
    Total Carbohydrate 110.9 g
    36%
    Dietary Fiber 8.9 g
    35%
    Sugars 5.6 g
    22%
    Protein 40.9 g
    81%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites