Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Vinegar & Butter Pie Crust Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Vinegar & Butter Pie Crust

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on May 26, 2009

      I wish I could give this more than 5 stars. I loathe making pie crusts because I can never roll them out round and they always break and are crumbly. This was not crumbly at all-it was perfect. AND, I finally got the beautiful fluted crust I have always dreamed of. However, one of the things I liked best was it did not have lard. The taste was absolutely fantastic! I will never use another crust recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2010

      I have never baked a homemade pie in my life, but decided to give it a shot for my husband's and daughter's birthday. I was a little stressed out during the process, but it turned out amazing. I had to roll the dough pretty thin, because I have a 10 inch deep pie pan, but 2 crusts were enough and didn't fall apart on me while I was rolling them. I baked a little less than the 50 minutes. I also did another trick I found online and before filling the bottom crust, brushed with egg-white to prevent soggy-bottom. My husband was impressed, the pie was delicious, and i have conquered my pastry fear! Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2009

      Now that I've found this, I will NEVER make my usual pie crust again! I've never had good luck with butter crusts--I prefer lard--but this was truly excellent. Super soft and flaky and very buttery. I cut the recipe in half and it made enough for one 9" deep dish double crust pie. GREAT recipe, and very easy, too!! I was worried because my dough was so soft, but it rolled out beautifully and didn't stick. Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2013

      Thank you, thank you, thank you! I have struggled with making pie crust for years. I love my mother's pie crust recipe but sometimes it is a bear to deal with and finally I found one that rolls out so nicely and is just how I like it... flaky and buttery. I will never make any other pie crust again. Sorry Mom :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2011

      This recipe turned out very well! I made pumpkin pie and used the leftover dough to make little filled pizza pastries. I like the consistency and flavor of the chilled butter in this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2010

      Wonderful flaky crust, dough freezes well, foolproof recipe. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2010

      I wanted to give this 4.5 stars because the vinegar flavor wasn't strong enough. I have another vinegar pie crust recipe with better flavor (but this one still tasted better than regular pie crust!). I liked that this one uses butter, and it was easy to work with after being chilled (it's pretty wet before chilling!). It was easy to shape the crust and looked gorgeous after baking (I did cover it with foil to avoid burning, though I don't know if that mattered). Next time I am going to add more vinegar, but I will definitely try this recipe again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2008

      This is a great crust recipe! The dough was really wet so at first I was scared. I chilled it and tried it anyway and I still couldn't roll it out easily because it was still pretty moist but it baked up really flaky and great so there you go!!! I used this in a cheeseburger pie (Cheeseburger Pie) so I blind-baked it for 20 minutes before filling. Thanks for posting!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2008

      It is so hard to make pie dough with butter instead of shortening, but this recipe is terrific! It is pretty stiff, but it stayed together well and wasn't too sticky. I used this for Chicken Pot Pie, Delicious Chicken Pot Pie, and it turned out wonderfully--flaky and rich. And no trans fats!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Vinegar & Butter Pie Crust

    Serving Size: 1 (979 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 2395.8
     
    Calories from Fat 1493
    62%
    Total Fat 165.9 g
    255%
    Saturated Fat 103.2 g
    516%
    Cholesterol 520.0 mg
    173%
    Sodium 934.8 mg
    38%
    Total Carbohydrate 197.4 g
    65%
    Dietary Fiber 6.7 g
    27%
    Sugars 7.2 g
    28%
    Protein 30.6 g
    61%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes