9 Reviews

I wish I could give this more than 5 stars. I loathe making pie crusts because I can never roll them out round and they always break and are crumbly. This was not crumbly at all-it was perfect. AND, I finally got the beautiful fluted crust I have always dreamed of. However, one of the things I liked best was it did not have lard. The taste was absolutely fantastic! I will never use another crust recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wildeyeris May 26, 2009

I have never baked a homemade pie in my life, but decided to give it a shot for my husband's and daughter's birthday. I was a little stressed out during the process, but it turned out amazing. I had to roll the dough pretty thin, because I have a 10 inch deep pie pan, but 2 crusts were enough and didn't fall apart on me while I was rolling them. I baked a little less than the 50 minutes. I also did another trick I found online and before filling the bottom crust, brushed with egg-white to prevent soggy-bottom. My husband was impressed, the pie was delicious, and i have conquered my pastry fear! Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mapsmay April 02, 2010

Now that I've found this, I will NEVER make my usual pie crust again! I've never had good luck with butter crusts--I prefer lard--but this was truly excellent. Super soft and flaky and very buttery. I cut the recipe in half and it made enough for one 9" deep dish double crust pie. GREAT recipe, and very easy, too!! I was worried because my dough was so soft, but it rolled out beautifully and didn't stick. Thank you!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ewells September 26, 2009

Thank you, thank you, thank you! I have struggled with making pie crust for years. I love my mother's pie crust recipe but sometimes it is a bear to deal with and finally I found one that rolls out so nicely and is just how I like it... flaky and buttery. I will never make any other pie crust again. Sorry Mom :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
linnylouise July 05, 2013

This recipe turned out very well! I made pumpkin pie and used the leftover dough to make little filled pizza pastries. I like the consistency and flavor of the chilled butter in this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BluebirdBayLeaf November 01, 2011

Wonderful flaky crust, dough freezes well, foolproof recipe. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
benne373 December 12, 2010

I wanted to give this 4.5 stars because the vinegar flavor wasn't strong enough. I have another vinegar pie crust recipe with better flavor (but this one still tasted better than regular pie crust!). I liked that this one uses butter, and it was easy to work with after being chilled (it's pretty wet before chilling!). It was easy to shape the crust and looked gorgeous after baking (I did cover it with foil to avoid burning, though I don't know if that mattered). Next time I am going to add more vinegar, but I will definitely try this recipe again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nourishing My Life November 26, 2010

This is a great crust recipe! The dough was really wet so at first I was scared. I chilled it and tried it anyway and I still couldn't roll it out easily because it was still pretty moist but it baked up really flaky and great so there you go!!! I used this in a cheeseburger pie (Cheeseburger Pie) so I blind-baked it for 20 minutes before filling. Thanks for posting!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef*Lee September 25, 2008

It is so hard to make pie dough with butter instead of shortening, but this recipe is terrific! It is pretty stiff, but it stayed together well and wasn't too sticky. I used this for Chicken Pot Pie, Delicious Chicken Pot Pie, and it turned out wonderfully--flaky and rich. And no trans fats!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bearwacket March 02, 2008
Vinegar & Butter Pie Crust