14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I'm Vietnamese, and made this for my Vietnamese friends during one of our "drinking night" get togethers. Everyone LOVED it. How it is traditionally served is with a lemon pepper dip. You can use the premade one in the store. It can also be served with red rice (tomato fried rice). Two thumbs up on authenticity. :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sjvivi22 November 21, 2007

Very good recipe. But instead of fish sauce, I use low sodium soy sauce (less salty, healthier AND doesn't smell as ... fishy). Also, use butter instead of oil to fry. Om nom nom.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
itaintrite March 07, 2010

I took some liberties with this recipe. I used only a little watercress and added one whole thinly sliced cucumber. I also added bean thread noodles to the dish. I mixed up the whole thing with a lot of Sriracha sauce. I liked the dish, but thought it lacked a little flavor. Next time (and there will be a next time), I plan to use more fish sauce and more salt.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
buckybear206 March 31, 2009

Delicious! My family loved it. I made a lime, salt and pepper dip for the beef and salad. Great recipe and easy too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jennetclee February 20, 2009

I loved this recipe!! I have made it a few times now and everyone I make it for loves it. I put it over rice and sliced tomatoes!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
aliastwin December 03, 2008

The tastes were all very good, but to serve it as stated, there are some things I'll definitely change for next time. For one, if your using this as a entree, this is a 1 person recipe, I would never see getting 2 out of it, so I doubled it after seeing how little it was. Luckily I had double the ingredients on hand. I added an extra table spoon of oil to the meat marinade because it just didn't seem to cover the meat good enough for me. I also used green onions instead of one regular onion. To me it just suits a salad better, and the flavor is just greater with out a whole lot of bulk. (I used 5-6 whole green onions for 2 batches) Also, the next time I make this I'll slice the beef into thin strips instead of cubing it. It was just too much chuckiness for my mouth, esp in a "salad" type of dish. The flavors themselves were excellent, I felt as if I may have wasted a few cloves of garlic, and next time I'll probably try less, and try more of a marinade so they actually stick to the meat better. I LOVED the flavor of the rice vinegar with the onions and watercress. Next time I think I'll make a side of frittered potatoes to go with this one. Thank you Sue for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ophelliah September 02, 2007

I made this a while back and forgot to review it. I don't remember if I made any changes except I added sliced tomatoes as well. I remember it being an excellent meal that I made with some sushi for a small dinner with guests. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nsomniak6 January 01, 2007

An easy, healthy and delicious weeknight meal. Taking Latchy's suggestion, I cooked the sirloin steak whole, allowed the meat to rest for 5 - 10 minutes and sliced the meat prior to serving. I will definitely make this again. Thanks Sue!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
berna June 04, 2006
Vietnamese Shaking Beef - Bo Luc Lac