Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Vietnamese Sandwiches Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Vietnamese Sandwiches

    Average Rating:

    28 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 28

    Sort by:

    • on June 24, 2002

      I used to buy these sandwiches at a restaurant in Maryland called Ba-Le, it was a Vietnamese/French deli, and these are just like the ones I used to buy, very authentic. The vegetables are so good prepared this way, and with the bread toasted it's fabulous.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2002

      Thanks for posting this. It is just wonderful. A man pleaser.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2010

      Delicious!!! I used fish as the protein (poached cod in a bit of soy sauce, sesame seed oil, and veg stock) and it worked out beautifully. I agree, the 5-spice added a very nice touch. I will try these with tofu next and see if I can make them 100% vegan.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2009

      Loved this sandwich, it so captures the best of Vietnamese flavors. I used a store bought roasted chicken and also cut back on the jalapeno to half. Bought bulk 5 spice powder at the grocery store so it on cost 16 cents for about 3 tablespoons. This one is going in the favorites file. Thanks Dancer!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2012

      Tasted fine in a pinch... but not at all like the banh mi I ate growing up (from Banh Mi DC Sandwich in Falls Church, VA). I added sriracha for a spicy mayo and pickled cucumbers with the carrots.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2012

      These were absolutely delicious. Thanks for posting the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2011

      Enjoyed these very much! Used grilled chicken, doubled sugar after tasting and added a little fish sauce, too. Very yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2010

      These sandwiches are just right when you want something different, but not dramatically so. I served these to friends for lunch on fresh baked baguettes made from the "Artisan Bread in 5 Minutes a Day" cookbook. Everyone enjoyed them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2010

      This was great! I made a few tweaks, but only to use what I had on hand. I used baby carrots and sliced them lengthwise, used regular white vinegar and served it on wheat bread. It was awesome!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2010

      Superb ! I love the taste. It is both tasty and healthy :) I think the 5 spice powder really makes the difference in taste. Thanks for the recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2010

      Worked great! We didn't have any anise or fennel for the 5 spice powder, but we were still happy campers!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2010

      We loved this recipe. We substituted the chicken for some smoked tofu- and it was delicious. We have always loved Vietnamese sandwiches, but never knew what made them so good! Thanks for this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2009

      My hubby liked these, I didn't. Thanks so much for sharing!! :O)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2009

      I have made this twice. Both times my husband has loved it! It's easy to make and very tasteful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2009

      An amazing sandwich! Instead of the carrot salad in the recipe I used Pickled Carrot & Radish . I deleted the jalapenos as my family isn't overly crazy about heat. I also opted no 5 spice powder as I am NOT fond of it. I sprinkled the chicken with a bit of low sodium soy sauce instead, and added some English cucumber slices for the missing crunch of the jalapenos. Excellent. I was asked that the next time we have leftover chicken that we have these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2009

      Absolutely fabulous! I made mine with carrots grated on a microplane grater, so it was like carrot 'hair'. I'm going to try again with just a veg peeler to add more crunch - or I'll add cucumber slices as others have done. My 5 spice is ancient, so I added 1/4 tsp per sandwich and really couldn't taste it. So I'll up that or use the fish sauce, also as suggested. The carrot slaw-y slurry with onion slices SMELLED great. And I used the full two tablespoons of finely chopped jalapenos. I get nighttime indigestion from spaghetti sauce but got zip from these sandwiches. I couldn't even taste the jalapenos - they just brightened the flavor without adding heat. And they WERE hot - I had to use plastic gloves to chop! Whole wheat bread was great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2009

      Made this tonight (MINUS the cilantro- which is the only thing on earth I refuse to eat) and loved it, my husband aalso loved it! definitely worht making!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2009

      This is a great recipe. I have these sandwiches at Vietnamese Sandwich Shops often and love them. I added cucumber sliced lengthwise to the bottom of the bread before adding anything else and then proceed with the other instructions. I also add daikon ( large white root/radish) to the carrot mixture. However, I'm not a fan of five-spice powder so I use a sprinkling of fish sauce (only a sprinkling - too much is overpowering) and nixed the lime juice too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2009

      Loved it. Tastes just like the sandwiches my vietnamese friend and I used to buy in Westminster, CA. Used soft french rolls.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2009

      This recipe is AWESOME! I picked up the veggie ingredients fresh from the Farmer's Market on the way home from work, and used canned chicken and regular ol' hamburger buns that we had on hand. Everything else I followed precisely. Simple, light, summer fare, and there was not a bite leftover! Whoever selected this recipe for the featured No-Cook recipe definitely taste-tested it first!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Vietnamese Sandwiches

    Serving Size: 1 (198 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 327.6
     
    Calories from Fat 32
    94%
    Total Fat 3.6 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 0.8 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 54.4 mg
    18%
    Sodium 777.4 mg
    32%
    Total Carbohydrate 45.9 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 2.5 g
    10%
    Sugars 4.4 g
    17%
    Protein 27.0 g
    54%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    rice wine vinegar

    low-fat mayonnaise

    five-spice powder

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes