Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Vietnamese Pork Sandwich (Banh Mi Thit) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Vietnamese Pork Sandwich (Banh Mi Thit)

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on September 22, 2008

      We didn't have any ground pork; and I was just making this for my husband and I, so: I used 1 tsp. 5-spice powder, 1 1/2 tsp. oil, 2 TBS. chopped shallot, 1 small garlic clove, 1 1/2 TBS. soy, (I forgot the sugar), and 1 tsp. siracha. I pretty much followed the directions for the ground pork, but used 1/2 pork tenderloin sliced thin to saute instead. It turned out AWESOME. To the actual sandwich, I used a slight smear of mayo on the bread, and added cucumber, carrot, cilantro and a little red onion. Thank you for the inspiration--I will come back to this one A LOT!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2010

      Very good! We really enjoyed the aroma of the 5 spice powder as the pork cooked and it perfumed the house for the whole evening. We used pork tenderloin, which was very lean, and our only wish was that there was a little more sauce created from the ground pork to put on the sandwich. We used regular basil, cucumber, fried shallots and added grated carrots for the veges. We'll try cilantro the next time, just for a change

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2007

      I added carrots and cilantro - very good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2005

      It has been a long time since I asked you what I coukd substitute for the Thai basil. I finally tried this! The "regular" basil worked fine. I did make a couple of substitutions due to dietary restrictions and the limitations of my grocery - I used scallions instead of shallots, Splenda instead of sugar, and I used Carbdown Flatout breads instead of the baguette. This sandwich is to die for. My daughter & I had the spicy version, and I just left out the chili paste for the others. I will definitely make this again & again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2005

      Ran across this recipe cause my girlfriend try to make Banh Mi but not sure of all the ingredients. Eventhough this is an Americanized version of Banh Mi Thit it will do if you've never had a Vietnamese sandwich. Banh Mi is the bomb!! When I was little living in Saigon, Vietnam ....very time we were out and about we always make sure to hit up those sandswich stands for Banh Mi Thit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2004

      This is a great and "different" sandwich. The cucumber and greens make a good contrast to the spiciness/warmth of the rest of the sandwich. I would love to compare it to that McDonald's burger where they separate the two parts and say "so the hot stays hot and the cool stays cool" but Mean will just slap me around if I do. LOL One sandwich was plenty for an entire meal. Very filling. I think the choice of baguette is very important --had the bread been any more heavy I could not have finished the whole thing. The chili paste makes it darn hot (but good and tasty) so be careful with that if you don't care for spicy stuff.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2003

      Another keeper, Meanie! DH and I both loved it. DD2 loved it once I made her one with/out the chili paste (how can this be my child?) It was quick, easy and extremely flavorful. My mind is already think of other things I can do with these ingredients!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2003

      I was unable to find baguettes, so decided to use an unseasoned French bread (small loaves, cut in half like 2 6" subways, then in half length-wise). For the mesclun, I found an Italian salad mix that had radicchio in it. These were quick and easy to make. Although I reduced the recipe to serve four of us and my family loved them (me too!), none of us were able to eat an entire serving. We were all stuffed! ...and had to wait awhile before we could eat some of the dessert I'd also made. I did include the optional fried shallots. We'll definitely be having these again, but I think on a day when everyone is more ravenous 'cause they are very filling! Thank you for sharing this recipe Mean Chef and for answering my questions about a couple of the ingredients.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Vietnamese Pork Sandwich (Banh Mi Thit)

    Serving Size: 1 (203 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 888.8
     
    Calories from Fat 218
    24%
    Total Fat 24.2 g
    37%
    Saturated Fat 7.2 g
    36%
    Cholesterol 78.2 mg
    26%
    Sodium 1945.2 mg
    81%
    Total Carbohydrate 121.9 g
    40%
    Dietary Fiber 7.2 g
    28%
    Sugars 2.3 g
    9%
    Protein 42.6 g
    85%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    five-spice powder

    red chili paste

    mesclun

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes