Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Vietnamese Meatballs Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Vietnamese Meatballs

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on November 18, 2006

      I made this with ground turkey and broiled them (without the skewers, I have bad luck with those!). Wow! Yummy. I served with an assortment of sauces (duck sauce, pineapple chili sauce, teriyaki, and hoisin), fried rice, and wonton soup. These were a hit!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2010

      These are quite tasty, but as a previous reviewer pointed out, they're not really Vietnamese, as pork is the common meat for such a dish in Vietnam. These are more similar to Korean-style meatballs. In fact, I even posted a recipe for Korean meatballs on this site a long while back that's similar to this one (though it also included a dipping sauce).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2009

      Hmm, I have never come across nem (meatballs) made from beef growing up as a Vietnamese American in the largest expat Vietnamese community worldwide (five cities in "The O.C." in southern Cali), or when I spent over half a year traveling throughout Vietnam recently either. As far as I know, meat nem is traditionally only made from pork. The closest thing we have to a beef nem would be Bò Lá Lót, where beef is wrapped in betel leaves and grilled. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2008

      This was ok; didn't really have that much of a strong flavor but was nice and moist

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2008

      These were really nice meatballs. For personal preference I'd probably spice them up a little more next time. I made for Freezer Tag 2008 and ate a handful for lunch fresh, then froze a couple of serves in zip loc bags. Today I got one of the bags out of the freezer on the way to work and popped them in the work fridge to defrost. They were defrosted by lunch time and 2 mins on medium in the microwave made them just nice and hot. I served with Thai sweet chilli sauce. Would be great to have a stock in the fridge for last minute lunches or appetizers for unexpected guests.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2008

      these were very tasty, i made them nice and small for a party. i made them just as the recipe says except i forgot the cornstarch, next time i will be sure to include it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2008

      These were really good. I used lean beef and as I didn't feel like making the dipping sauce, I tossed them into the Eggplant with hot garlic sauce which went well but took the focus away from the meat balls. I have also had these with the dipping sauce and it was an excellent combination.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2005

      These are great, really tasty and easy to make. Healthy too as I grilled them. Fabulous served with #25375 Nuoc Cham as suggested by Sue L. I used wet hands to roll the meatballs and didn't put them on skewers. Thanks for a great recipe I will be making some to store in the freezer!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2004

      Delicious and very tender. I served this with my nuoc cham (Nuoc Cham (Vietnamese Spicy Fish Sauce)) as a dipping sauce and they went together very well. Great appetizer! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Vietnamese Meatballs

    Serving Size: 1 (802 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 85.7
     
    Calories from Fat 52
    60%
    Total Fat 5.7 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 2.0 g
    10%
    Cholesterol 23.1 mg
    7%
    Sodium 145.0 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 1.0 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.1 g
    0%
    Protein 6.6 g
    13%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites