Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Vietnamese Fish Simmered in Caramel Sauce (Ca Kho To) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Vietnamese Fish Simmered in Caramel Sauce (Ca Kho To)

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on August 17, 2005

      This is a favorite with my family everytime we go back to vietnam, so i can vouch for the authenticity of my tips: **for authentic "ca kho to", try leaving out the ginger, and when the pot comes to a boil, before simmering, add coconut juice (not coconut milk), just enough to cover the fish filets, which should be with the bone in, cross-sections, instead of traditional filets found in the west--if possible. then bring everything, including coconut juice, to a boil, then simmer until the sauce is reduced and the flavor is to your liking. without the coconut juice, it's just basic "ca kho"--still fantastic, mind you...**try this variation for a different "ca kho"...add garlic and finely diced fresh tomatoes to the shallots and chilli (still no ginger), and if possible, use sardines (like the kind found in mediterranean cuisine). this is also a fabulous version of "ca kho".

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2011

    • on October 19, 2010

      Love it! I was not sure about ginger, but I went ahead and use it, turn out great! Just 2 slices of ginger, it doesn't change the flavor. Dish turned out to be very authentic ca kho to dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2010

      Excellent, excellent, excellent. Tastes just as good as the dishes I had growing up. Yes, it is on the salty side (they usually are) so adjust accordingly if you're not a salt fan. I'm so glad to find such a simple recipe I can make at home!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2009

      good recipe. i added some coconut soda (1/4 cup) to it also to add flavor and juice. Otherwise, it would be a little too salty for me. I also boiled the fish beforehand to get all the dirty bubbles out (you'll know what I'm talking about once you boil it). This also gets rid of the "fishiness". I sauted some onion and added that in afterward to give it more flavor and made it smell really good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2008

      Excellent recipe! I found a similar recipe on another site before, which was good, but this one was even better. This is one of my dad's favorite vietnamese dishes; I was so happy that this recipe tastes just like the real thing! My husband, a picky eater, loved it too! Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2008

      FABULOUS!!!! I made some slight modifications based on feed back. I omitted the ginger and used garlic instead of the shallots and it turned out AMAZING. Exactly like the addictive dish at one of my fave Vietnamese restaurants.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2007

      I know a lot of people gave this a high rating and all..but it turned out to be really, really salty. I had to add about two cups of water just to neutralize the flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2005

      To go with this, I made jasmine rice, greens, and Vietnamese iced coffee. Mine was good, but insanely salty - but I reduced the recipe and I think I cooked it longer than it said, so I suspect there was user error involved.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2005

      Oh wow. I've tasted this dish but NEVER thought I'd one day be making it! It was so authentic and so delicious! Thank you so much Angelcakes for sharing this recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2004

      This was really good. I had never made a dish quiet like this, so I was not sure if I would like the sweet with the fish, but I was just crazy about it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2004

      I made this the other day. Very simple, very close to the one we have at home in Hanoi. But I didn't stir the fish. Depending on what kind you cook with, it may break up the meat to small chunks. Also, you can add 1 or 2 slice of galingale to the sauce. Galingale looks very much like ginger root, but it has brown/red dark colour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2004

      I thought this recipe was very simple to make and had an excellent flavor. It is almost like I was back at my grandmother's house again (South Vietnam). This recipe made it very easy to enjoy this dish without having to find an authentic Vietnamese restaurant.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2003

      This is almost exactly how the Vietnamese make Ca Kho To, except they use a heavy covered clay pot, and they do not stir while cooking. The saucepan works almost as well. Make sure it is very heavy. It is essential to have good heat distribution or the fish will stick to the pan. Also make sure that all of the fish has at least partial contact with the caramel sauce while cooking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Vietnamese Fish Simmered in Caramel Sauce (Ca Kho To)

    Serving Size: 1 (225 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 3

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 375.1
     
    Calories from Fat 121
    32%
    Total Fat 13.4 g
    20%
    Saturated Fat 2.9 g
    14%
    Cholesterol 124.6 mg
    41%
    Sodium 225.6 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 26.7 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 22.2 g
    88%
    Protein 35.2 g
    70%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    ginger

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes