18 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Nuoc cham is good on everything. Try dipping egg rolls in it. To die for. My mom makes nuoc cham without the vinegar though and it is always at our dinner table. we used it on scrambled eggs even. :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
YungB January 16, 2009

I made this exactly as written and it was absolutely a WONDERFUL sauce for my Thit Cot-let Chien(pan fried pork steaks)!!! This is absolutely going to be in my fridge at all times from now on!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pryjmaty December 04, 2013

Delish! I left the chile out altogether because my hubby can't take spice of any kind. This tastes just like the dipping sauce at my favorite Vietnamese restaurant! Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chongsah January 26, 2013

Just realised I've never reviewed this recipe! I love it! I've made it many times and followed the recipe. Sometimes I don't add too many chilis as my kids like it too, but not too spicy. Most recently I used it to top Vietnamese Vermecelli bowls (salad on bottom, rice vermecelli, grilled pork (Vietnamese grilled pork wrapped in Lettuce) and your dipping sauce poured on top. It was absolutely perfect! Thanks for the great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cheff Steff May 31, 2012

Love it! I think it is a good salad dressing also.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
misscain February 02, 2012

I loved this sauce!! I made it to go with http://www.food.com/recipe/spicy-thai-basil-lime-jumbo-shrimp-vietnamese-salad-316201. We havent had it yet, but i cant keep my spoon out of it! I cant wait to make summer rolls!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fyrfli September 13, 2011

Very good sauce! Used half a jalapeno instead of thai chili and it was still great.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GOODCOOK1976 July 17, 2011

Love it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
deathfuntaxes May 14, 2010

Easy to make and really really delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Super-Wife September 03, 2009

You don't have to use that much fish sauce in order to get the taste. My MIL only uses a few tablespoons per cup of water and her sauce is TO DIE FOR. I always request a bottle of it to take home whenever she makes it for dinner. I can never seem get the recipe from her because she says she doesn't measure anything, just eyeballs everything. I think she may just be too lazy to jot the recipe down. Anyway, I also omit the vinegar, it's really not needed in the sauce, so if you don't have it on hand, don't worry about it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cali_love January 24, 2009
Vietnamese Dipping Sauce (Nuoc Cham)