16 Reviews

This was awesome, just like mom's! So easy to make too. I put the whole egg in just like in the picture instead of cutting in half, less messy too. I did find it too sweet as some others did and would reduce the amount of sugar next time. Also, you don't mention when to add the fish sauce but adding some after I added the water turned out ok. In addition I would add a bit of maggi seasoning, or soy sauce. I've made this 3x's now and love it. I've added all kinds of things, pork, chicken, even imitation crab :) but the eggs are best. Even without adding anything this serves as a great sauce for rice.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Puffnstuff April 09, 2009

The next time I make this dish, I will at least double the sauce because this dish tastes even better upon reheating, and made as is, there is hardly enough sauce. Wonderfully tasty dish. Thank you for sharing. Definitely one to repeat.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ilovemy4kids December 02, 2007

I love clay pot pork and I'm so happy I found a good recipe here. I've made this 3-4 times already and the only change I would recommend is to reduce the sugar amount to about 2 TBS. Other than that, everything else is just right. I say let it simmer just a little longer as suggested because it becomes tastier the longer you let it simmer. It's become a regular in our household. Thanks for a tasty recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jle430 November 20, 2007

This dish was amazing! <br/><br/>I beg you, if you choose to make this, to not skip the eggs; the eggs were easily the best part. I chose to poach my eggs and then simmer in the pork until the yolks hardened. I just hate peeling hard boiled eggs.<br/><br/>Following the lead of previous reviewers, I only used 2T of sugar which was definitely the right call. I also added a touch of Siracha and cayenne pepper. (If you do thus, I suggest being light on the spice even if you like spicy things. This dish us about simple flavor.) I served over white tide but think brown would actually be better. Served next to steamed edamame (get it in the frozen section and it microwaves in 5 minutes- delish!)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CoraIleneV November 11, 2014

It smelled wonderful. We have too many eggs so I was looking for a way to use extra eggs. I live in a meat and potatoes with gravy family so this was pushing it. I didn't have fish sauce so used Worchestershire and used a good squirt of siriacha instead of chilis, and dried onion flakes and some diced celery. The brown eggs just grossed me out. Otherwise the meat (I used sliced pork loin) and sauce was very tasty.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sheepdoc October 02, 2011

I love this recipe! It reminds me of my childhood. I followed the recipe almost exactly, I just added a little more fish sauce and garlic to fit my taste. My husband tried this for the first time today and he loves it! So easy to make and the taste is amazing. I will definitely make this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
eager cook June 26, 2010

I'm so full but I just couldn't wait for my dinner to settle before writing up my review & sending my friends this link. My god this dish was delicious!! I was a bit hesitant about how it was going to turn out especially with the eggs but we're always up for something new, I do love eggs & the previous reviews were all golden so thought I'd give it a whirl... oh, it was sooo good!! Nothing like I had imagined, so rich & flavourful, perfect amount of spice, definitely restaurant quality! I used less sugar, added an onion, carrot & some celery for veg & about 1/2c of coconut milk for a bit more sauce & it was absolutely devine! Definitely one of my top 5's!! Thank you, thank you, thank you!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bondnz October 19, 2009

great recipe. Add water after step 2. u can cut the eggs at the very last step to prevent the egg yolk from crumbling apart and getting messy. i sometimes add the full size eggs in step 2 and let it brown a bit for more flavour.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tndang February 10, 2009

Delicious and easy to prepare. I used 2 1/2 lbs pork butt so I increased the ingredients a bit more. I used 1 can of coconut juice with 1/3 cup of water. I added about 4-5 tablespoons of fish sauce and I left out the ginger and chili out of personal preference. I cooked it for about a total of 1 and 1/2 half hours simmering over a low heat. The meat was fall apart tender and the broth was delicious--it made the eggs out of this world. Thanks for a fantastic recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PKG December 09, 2007
Vietnamese clay pot pork