Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Vietnamese clay pot pork Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Vietnamese clay pot pork

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on April 09, 2009

      This was awesome, just like mom's! So easy to make too. I put the whole egg in just like in the picture instead of cutting in half, less messy too. I did find it too sweet as some others did and would reduce the amount of sugar next time. Also, you don't mention when to add the fish sauce but adding some after I added the water turned out ok. In addition I would add a bit of maggi seasoning, or soy sauce. I've made this 3x's now and love it. I've added all kinds of things, pork, chicken, even imitation crab :) but the eggs are best. Even without adding anything this serves as a great sauce for rice.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2007

      The next time I make this dish, I will at least double the sauce because this dish tastes even better upon reheating, and made as is, there is hardly enough sauce. Wonderfully tasty dish. Thank you for sharing. Definitely one to repeat.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2007

      I love clay pot pork and I'm so happy I found a good recipe here. I've made this 3-4 times already and the only change I would recommend is to reduce the sugar amount to about 2 TBS. Other than that, everything else is just right. I say let it simmer just a little longer as suggested because it becomes tastier the longer you let it simmer. It's become a regular in our household. Thanks for a tasty recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2011

      It smelled wonderful. We have too many eggs so I was looking for a way to use extra eggs. I live in a meat and potatoes with gravy family so this was pushing it. I didn't have fish sauce so used Worchestershire and used a good squirt of siriacha instead of chilis, and dried onion flakes and some diced celery. The brown eggs just grossed me out. Otherwise the meat (I used sliced pork loin) and sauce was very tasty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2010

      I love this recipe! It reminds me of my childhood. I followed the recipe almost exactly, I just added a little more fish sauce and garlic to fit my taste. My husband tried this for the first time today and he loves it! So easy to make and the taste is amazing. I will definitely make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2009

      I'm so full but I just couldn't wait for my dinner to settle before writing up my review & sending my friends this link. My god this dish was delicious!! I was a bit hesitant about how it was going to turn out especially with the eggs but we're always up for something new, I do love eggs & the previous reviews were all golden so thought I'd give it a whirl... oh, it was sooo good!! Nothing like I had imagined, so rich & flavourful, perfect amount of spice, definitely restaurant quality! I used less sugar, added an onion, carrot & some celery for veg & about 1/2c of coconut milk for a bit more sauce & it was absolutely devine! Definitely one of my top 5's!! Thank you, thank you, thank you!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2009

      great recipe. Add water after step 2. u can cut the eggs at the very last step to prevent the egg yolk from crumbling apart and getting messy. i sometimes add the full size eggs in step 2 and let it brown a bit for more flavour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2008

    • on December 09, 2007

      Delicious and easy to prepare. I used 2 1/2 lbs pork butt so I increased the ingredients a bit more. I used 1 can of coconut juice with 1/3 cup of water. I added about 4-5 tablespoons of fish sauce and I left out the ginger and chili out of personal preference. I cooked it for about a total of 1 and 1/2 half hours simmering over a low heat. The meat was fall apart tender and the broth was delicious--it made the eggs out of this world. Thanks for a fantastic recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2007

      i substituted chicken for the pork, because that was all i had, and it still turned out great. only thing i would change is the amount of sugar; although i reduced it, it was still a little too sweet for my taste. next time, i will only add maybe 2 tbsp of sugar. my friends found the dish delicious! thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2007

      My whole family enjoyed this. I am always on the lookout for easy and tasty recipes which i could pass on to my daughter who's studying in Aust. Thanks for posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2006

      This is so tasty! I've been missing my mom's cooking for a while and was so happy to find this recipe. Sometimes I add fried tofu to it to stretch it a little. Also, I substitute coconut soda for the water to make it taste more like my mom's version. Thanks for sharing!!! ^_^

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2006

      This was absolutely wonderful! I didn't use any chili (as my mom and children are rather picky about spices) and I used 1 tbs soy sauce instead of the fish sauce. this smells heavenly while cooking and my nine year old insisted on licking out the pan. And it was really easy too -- thanks so much EV_food.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2004

      Yummy, yummy. This is my favorite recipe yet . . . so easy and so simple. Better than my mom makes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2004

      Clay pot pork is one of my favorite things to order at the Vietnamese restaurant. Believe it or not I like this version even better. I followed the recipe exactly and used a regular saucepan since I don't have a clay pot. It is very easy to prepare and tastes great. It is now a regular recipe in our house.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Vietnamese clay pot pork

    Serving Size: 1 (190 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 327.7
     
    Calories from Fat 117
    35%
    Total Fat 13.0 g
    20%
    Saturated Fat 2.5 g
    12%
    Cholesterol 110.5 mg
    36%
    Sodium 836.0 mg
    34%
    Total Carbohydrate 15.1 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    0%
    Sugars 12.8 g
    51%
    Protein 35.9 g
    71%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    chili

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites