Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Vietnamese Chicken Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Vietnamese Chicken Salad

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on March 15, 2006

      This was excellent! I was initially a bit sceptical about the combination of some of the ingredients but they really worked well together with the yummy marinade. It didn't take me as long as indicated to make this, I think because I cut the chicken into strips before roasting it, so it baked faster. This is very good but very hot and spicy as well. If you aren't a big spice fan, I'd recommend deseeding the chilies before you mix up the dressing or even just leave them out entirely. The recipe has lots of flavour regardless. Since I first made this I've returned to the recipe many times and have made it as well with salmon in a teriyaki sauce on top.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2002

      This is absolutely luscious. What a combo of textures and flavors! I cut back on the oil by 3/4, but added a bit of xanthan gum to thicken the dressing. Never tried it before, but it works great. Dieting (boo hoo) never tasted so good. Don't leave out the peanuts! They really add that final coup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2002

      It's a nice, light salad with different textures, but I would try going light with the peanut oil, so that I could cut down w/the calories and such. For additional flavors, I bought shrimp chips that were already prepared at my Asian store to indulge along w/the salad! Very yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2014

    • on December 24, 2009

      This was quite good. I decreased the sugar, fish sauce and oil in the dressing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2008

      Great salad.I have been making this for years and am glad to see it posted here.I find the dressing too tart as written,so now I skip the vinegar and increase the sugar a bit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2008

      Fantastic salad with plenty crunchynes and flavours!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2007

      We really liked the dressing and vegetables. A little too much cabbage for our taste so next time will do a salad/cabbage mix. We used leftover grilled chicken. Definitely will make again. Thank you for sharing a terrific recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2007

      Very good, crisp & crunchy salad. I use "Rainbow Slaw" which is a mix of cabbage, carrots & broccoli. For the chili, I used a Thai Green Chili. Cooked the chicken breasts for 35 minutes at 350 with just a little salt and pepper. All of this can be prepped the night before to make it easier.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2006

      This is really delicious! I pounded flat and then marinated 4 skinless boneless chicken breasts in the dressing, before grilling them. Very good. The only mistake for me was in not slicing the cabbage thin enough. Next time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2006

      This is a fabuloius salad! I used 1/2 the head of cabbage and two chicken breast halves but kept the other ingredients the same. I did double the dressing to have extra on hand, and I'm glad I did...It's delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2006

      This was good. Kind of time consuming, but I knew that going in....DH and I both enjoyed it. Very good company salad. Thanks Mean Chef !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2005

      Magnificant! Very fresh and tasty with great colour and the dressing is just perfectly balanced. I grated my capsicum, carrot and cucumber with a grater which julienned nicely and alot quicker than individually cutting. I also only used half a cabbage but all the dressing. I did cut back on the peanut oil to two tablespoons which I don't believe affected the tasty at all. I used a cooked BBQ chicken which I shreaded. Bought the chilli/garlic sauce in my local asian supermarket. Thanks for posting Mean Chef - this one will be perfect for our Aussie Christmas day menu.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2005

      Super, really fantastically good. Makes a ton, more than four lunch servings in my book. I only dressed half the salad, and we'll have the other half tomorrow, can't wait. Lots of chopping work here, I didn't use the chili, but did use the chili garlic paste, and it was plenty hot for us with that. I wasn't looking for a really fancy presentation, so I just shredded-chopped-sliced everything and mixed it all together in 2 big salad bowls. This gave us our more than 5 veggies for the day! I too think the peanuts add a necesssary touch, it would be a shame to leave them out. This would be great served on half a plate with some, say, big grilled shrimp on the other half of the plate. A new salad to go into the rotation-- even I, who don't particularly like mint, and hate cilantro, found it to be just fine in this. The guy at the market gave me a bouquet of parsley with the bouquets of mint and cilantro, so I chopped up some of that in there too. Half of the chicken I used was picked off a carcass, and the other half breasts that I grilled and shredded. You could use any chicken you happened to have, I would think.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2004

      Great and different salad. Very light and refreshing -- yet filling. I'm sounding like a beer commercial now. LOL Omitted the carrots because I don't care for them :). Usually my complaint with Asian food is too much sweetness but the dressing was not overpowering and I felt the veggies and spicy elements did a good job of balancing everything out. I really liked the touch of peanuts on top -- like an Asian crouton. Yummy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Vietnamese Chicken Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (308 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 561.5
     
    Calories from Fat 372
    66%
    Total Fat 41.3 g
    63%
    Saturated Fat 7.3 g
    36%
    Cholesterol 46.4 mg
    15%
    Sodium 1695.6 mg
    70%
    Total Carbohydrate 28.2 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 4.8 g
    19%
    Sugars 16.4 g
    65%
    Protein 24.2 g
    48%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    chili-garlic sauce

    rice wine vinegar

    savoy cabbage

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites