Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Vietnamese Chicken Curry Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Vietnamese Chicken Curry

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on April 05, 2002

      We loved this tasty curry. I will be making this again and again. I just added a bit of fish sauce at the end but it would have been fine without it too. I used green curry paste as the curry paste so I left out the chilli as the paste was pretty spicy. I threw in some zucchini and snow peas towards the end as suggested. Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2002

      Real taste sensations in this chicken dish, I didnt have any fresh chillis so used dry chilli flakes, and a lite can of coconut cream. Thanks for posting. =)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2002

      This was delicious, only change I made was that I used skim evaporated milk and coconut essence instead of coconut cream. I used Thai red curry paste because that was all I had, will be definitely keeping this one, have already passed it on to a friend. Not too strong taste just a great blend of flavours.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2003

      This was delicious although I did find it a little too sweet - so I added lime juice, fish sauce and corriander for a bit of zing. Will definitely make this one again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2009

      I used green beans and red curry paste. I thought the leftovers were even better. Served over brown rice. Very good, Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2009

      I made this but used leftover roasted chicken. I made the sauce as written and then added the chicken near the end just to warm through. Great flavor and very easy recipe. Served with Perfect Rice Everytime.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2009

      This is yummo!!! I made this as is and did what Jan suggested and added zucchini, green beans, red capsicum and also some spinach as I wanted to use it up. This was just so tasty and what a wonderful smell it left through the whole house. This is easy to make as well which is always a bonus when you want a great tasting no fuss meal. I used red curry paste and the whole family raved about how great the flavour was. I will be making this again soon as I have already had repeat requests. Absolutely loved, loved and loved Jan a truly fantastic recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2007

      So good. Just like the way I remember this dish...not too spicy but full of flavor. My DD said the flavor bursts in her mouth. I served this with coconut rice and everyone loves it. I pretty much followed the recipe. The only change I did was I used 1 chopped jalapeno since that is all I have and reduced the sugar to 2 Tablespoons. I also didn't have chicken stock, so I use 1/2 cup of water plus 1 1/2 Tablespoon of bouillon. Thanks for posting such a wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2007

      This recipe is FABULOUS!!! This is exactly what I was looking for when researching Vietnamese Curry Chicken. I want to make it again tonight. The flavor is so good I just couldn't wait to take the next bite. Thanks for posting this JanRoundOz!!!! I give this 5 stars!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2006

      Very tasty. I used a medium curry paste and left out the chilli. Cut back slightly on the sugar. I did add some veggies which were red capsicum, zucchini and 1/2 cup of baby peas. Personally I love peas in a curry as they hold so much flavour. Thanks for posting Jan.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2006

      This is a really good recipe. I used Madras curry powder this time and left out the lemongrass and it was fine. In the past I've used red curry and added fish sauce, and it was really great too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2005

      This is beyond five stars (quote from DH)! What a great curry Jan, this was so delicious! I used a mild curry paste so left the chilli seeds in; I found it was still a little sweet for our tastes so added some chilli paste with garlic and a little more curry paste to spice it up; next time I just won't use as much sugar. I threw in a sliced carrot at the end and used lite coconut cream and served with rice and channai roti coz we love any excuse to eat our favourite bread. Thanks for an awesome recipe which I already can't wait to make and eat again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2005

      Excellent! This was like the chicken curry in my fave Vietnamese restaurant. Could use some more heat -- next time maybe I won't take the seeds and veins out of the chili. Ingredient note: I've never seen such a thing as Vietnamese curry paste. I've seen Thai curry paste, and Vietnamese curry powder, so I went with the latter (which has a very different flavor from Thai curry paste) and added a couple tablespoons of oil. I also added a quarter cup of water at that point since it seemed a little dry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2004

      Sorry, but this was too hot for us. It could be due to the red curry paste I used. But I left out the red chili so I figured it would be okay. This tasted like it needed something else. Maybe I should have added the veggies as suggested.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2003

      I used sliced chicken breast meat cooking for 15 mins only, and toned down the lemon grass and ginger to 1 tblspn lemon grass and 1 tspn of ginger. I also only used 1/3 cup of lite coconut cream. But it turned out great and I will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2003

      I wanted to make Vietnamese chicken curry similar to some I tried at Le Cheval restaurant in Oakland, CA. I was very pleased with the outcome of this recipe - it was delicious! I substituted firm tofu for the chicken and added 4 sliced italian squashes. The chicken meat adds nice texture, but I think it's just as good without.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Vietnamese Chicken Curry

    Serving Size: 1 (616 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1162.3
     
    Calories from Fat 750
    64%
    Total Fat 83.3 g
    128%
    Saturated Fat 36.2 g
    181%
    Cholesterol 282.1 mg
    94%
    Sodium 374.2 mg
    15%
    Total Carbohydrate 28.2 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 3.8 g
    15%
    Sugars 19.4 g
    77%
    Protein 74.7 g
    149%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    mild curry paste

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites