28 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made this for my husband (whos Vietnamese) when he said he felt like Vietnamese but didnt want to go out. The first time I made it I didnt have any lemongrass, so I put in the zest of 1 lemon. Everyone, including our 3 and 4 year olds ate seconds. The left overs were better the next day and he was told by a co-worker that it tasted like the Bo Kho his mom made back in Vietnam. Will be making it for Christmas at his brothers.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KacerPie December 20, 2008

Thanks for a great recipe. It worked for the entire family so I will definitely be cooking this again during the cold winter months in Sydney. I was cautious with the Chinese 5-spice powder as it can be overpowering but it turned out just fine. I agree with one of the reviewer that it was a bit finicky picking out the broken pieces of star anise so I would suggest using a herb bag made of muslin (can be bought at Asian stores). I won't forget to use it next time. Never one to do anything in small proportions (my 19 year old son has a bottomless pit!), I actually doubled the recipe and it was perfect. Best to do it the day before you eat it as the flavours develop further in the fridge. Yummy and thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
suziwombat May 16, 2013

Just finished making this - it's delicious! I'm always a bit nervous to try and cook dishes that I enjoy at my favourite ethnic restaurants 'cause I think they'll never turn out as well. This recipe is fantastic and I will definitely make it again. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
P. Ariel February 20, 2013

Good flavors but mine should have cooked longer. My meat wasn't tender.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adopt a greyhound February 27, 2012

Great recipe! Coming from a Vietnamese family, my mom used to make this for dinner when I grew up. The only difference is that we use some hot chili peppers or some nuoc mam (a fishy spicy yummy sauce that I eat with almost eveything!). Served it with steamed jasmine rice and I was a kid again!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
flirtyfunchick January 27, 2010

A clarification of my earlier "the gristlier the better" comment: it is the gristle, i.e. connective tissue, that gives this stew its body, without it the broth is too watery. Mind you, this type of stew is not meant to be as thick as European or American stews, where the liquid is expected to coat the back of a spoon. It should be thought of instead as a chunky soup with a very hearty broth. Another good garnish to add at the table is deep-fried shallots or deep-fried garlic (or both), both of which can be found in Asian markets.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jerry_daszko September 29, 2009

Made this once for my husband's coworkers and they have been requesting this dish ever since. It is so .....so... flavorful! Thanks so much for posting this. Oh! I double the fish sauce because I love fish sauce. It made it even tastier.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chrisandnol June 08, 2009

This was good, just not quite as flavorful as I thought it would be.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HeatherN April 13, 2009

it was flavorful, but missing some depth. maybe it was because i didn't have lemongrass. i put my carrots in at the same time as the beef and cooked it. i also added a can of condensed beef broth to try to add that something. it was the perfect saltiness.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tyk February 11, 2008
Vietnamese Beef Stew (Bo' Kho)