Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Vidalia Onion Dip Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Vidalia Onion Dip

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on April 27, 2002

      This is seriously wonderful! So few ingredients to produce such a creamy, tasty hot dip. This goes really fast so have lots of tortilla chips around when you make it. Really not hard to make -takes a little time to chop all the onions, but after that its a breeze! This will be one of our appetizer regulars!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2002

      This is delicious. Always a favorite at parties. Living close to Vidalia, I use the onions very often and this is one of my all time favorites.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2002

      For anyone, who is looking for something low in fat, this is not the recipe to try. As mentioned in other reviews, this is very rich and creamy so a little goes a long ways. Try this dip when you want something special.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2002

      I made this for a Memorial Day Picnic -- It was wonderful! Everyone liked it -- I didn't have any leftovers. I also made it later and used a little to season a fish I baked in parchment paper -- that was terrific.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2002

      I hate to throw water on the fire, but this just wasn't our cup of tea. There is SO much mayonnaise (and, admittedly, I used Hellman's/Best Foods, which is very rich) and then the added fat from the cheese, it was just too much. The flavor was good, though - how can you miss with sweet onions? Perhaps this would be much better with lowfat mayo, but I won't make it again to try.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2010

      This was just okay to me. I feel that if I'm going to eat something this fatty it should be 5 star all the way. This was a bit too sweet for me and I felt that I wanted more zing. I made it with lite mayo and as others mentioned in their reviews (that I read AFTER I made it) it could be what's causing a lot of unappetizing greese on top.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2010

      Brought this dip to bunco last night, and it was a hit. The onions were nice and soft--in fact, some people thought they were potatoes and were eating the dip by itself with a fork! One person said it seemed almost quichelike and another said it reminded her of fondue. Very easy and very tasty. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2009

      I made this for the Steeler game yesterday and the guys loved it! Could it be any easier? Served with garlic bagel crisps and Tostidos. I would half the recipe if you only have a few people. Whole recipe fits nicely in an 8x8 square baker. Keeper recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2008

      Made this today for a party at work and it smelled so good while it was baking...then I took it out of the oven and it was covered in huge pockets of grease. I tried to stay calm by thinking, "maybe it just needs to rest". Not the case. Then I was thinking, "What could I have possibly done to screw this up? There are only 3 ingredients!" Then the light bulb went off. For months now, I have been using mayonnaise made with canola oil because we like it better than light mayo. I've subbed light mayo many times in recipes with no problem, so it didn't occur to me that there might be a problem. There was. Don't use the canola oil mayo...that's the only thing I can think of that would have caused the problem. I did taste a bit of the creamy part and it was very good. I'll try again with real mayo.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2005

      Very yummy & easy!! Made this for a girls weekend and we all loved it! Served on warm bread & tortilla's. Making again tonight for a card party! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2005

      This is fabulous! I didn't make it myself, but a friend made it for us to munch on while watching movies during a girls weekend. We ate it with tortilla chips and warm French bread. Very rich, but very delicious! I will definitely make this myself someday.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2004

      I've been making this for about a year and everyone asks for the recope. Haven't found anyone that doesn't love it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Vidalia Onion Dip

    Serving Size: 1 (139 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 465.5
     
    Calories from Fat 322
    69%
    Total Fat 35.8 g
    55%
    Saturated Fat 10.8 g
    54%
    Cholesterol 56.3 mg
    18%
    Sodium 601.7 mg
    25%
    Total Carbohydrate 25.8 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 7.8 g
    31%
    Protein 12.1 g
    24%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites