19 Reviews

I made this recipe on 12/15/11 for the " Let's P-A-R-T-Y 2011 " Event. I don't know what to say about this recipe that hasn't already been said. But I'm going to try " It's fast,easy,and the taste is just so good and it's very moist ". And since I like the crunchy tops of coffee cake, everything for the topping was doubled except for the nuts.. Thanks for posting a recipe that will be made many,many times in the future. " Keep Smiling :) "

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef shapeweaver � December 15, 2011

Very good & easy recipe. I did cut up the apples a little and used a little more topping. Made one 8 x8 and 8 muffins. Muffin tray came out very sticky btw, be careful!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. Cassandra Foxx July 08, 2010

Just made this . Great recipe .I added a touch of cinnamom and brown sugar to the batter and baked in a Bundt pan.Wonderful cold.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
oreosherriden April 14, 2010

I was hesitant to try this--after all, how good could a three ingredient cake be? Pretty darned good! Everything about this recipe is wonderful. Even if you are not pressed for time or ingredients, it is worth making. I did listen to other reviewers and doubled the topping mix and chopped up the apples a bit. That worked out well--thanks, Dienia and Vicki.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ladyfingers January 23, 2010

I made this for a brunch that I catered today and it got rave reviews! Everyone thought it was wonderful! It was quite easy to make and it smelled absolutely delicious while it was cooking. (I may have tasted a bit of the batter and it was really good!). I followed the recipe to a "t". I'll definitely be making this again (for myself next time!). Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shimmerysummersun May 17, 2009

This is delicious!! I used a Butter pecan cake mix like beachgal did and it was a perfect combination of flavor. I did kind of chunk up the apples with the spoon as I was mixing just so they wouldn't be in slices after baking. Will for sure make again

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChefWendyMG February 25, 2009

I made this cake for a block party, but it was rained out. So hubby and I had some of it for dessert. He liked it a lot (that is why the 4 stars), but I thought it was way too sweet, tho it was nice and moist. If it were just up to me, I would not make this again as there are other cakes I like better. I wonder if just using canned apples (without the sugar) would have been more appealing to my taste....??? Anyway, I didn't want to have him eat the whole thing, so we took it to our tai chi class tonight and most of it was eaten. Of course, they said it was very good, but I didn't ask for a rating from them. I will keep this recipe in case I need to make a dessert the last minute as others have suggested, but it is not one that I would go out of my way to bake again. Thank you for posting, Dienia B.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maggie in Florida March 13, 2008

I doubled the topping and used more apple filling (not quite two cans, afraid it would overflow)and it was delish! Nice and easy and good texture. I used Duncan Hines Yellow Cake Mix. Thanks Vicki..PS: made a confectioner's sugar frosting with apple juice and drizzled over top.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marich January 21, 2008

So Moist! This was so easy to make, and was gone just as fast. Everyone just loved it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Erin Harris January 13, 2008
Vicki 's Apple Coffee Cake