Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Very Yummy Whoopie Pies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Very Yummy Whoopie Pies

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on November 03, 2003

      A tried and true recipe. It isn't just a Maine recipe. They have been a long time recipe here in Pennsylvania since I was a kid. These are sold at local markets and especially by the Amish. Mmm..good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2008

      thanks so much this recipe was awesome!!! i think my husband loves whoopie pies more than me lol... he loves them so do all the kids. i have 6 had to double the batch . made enough extra filling that i stuck the extra in the freezer and secretly nibble it a teaspoon at a time.. GREAT RECIPE !!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2007

      Just wasn't my favorite - not chocolate-y enough for me. Sorry, I just thought they were average.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2006

      It's not just a Maine thing! I grew up in Pennsylvania and we called them "Gobs". Now, 21 years later, I see the same recipe going around and it has many different names but the recipe is the same. This is an absolutely wonderful little cookie!! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2006

      This whoopie pie is really bad. The cookie come out so hard to eat except the cream and a little too sweet. I will never make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2005

      I don’t care where they came from as long as they taste this good! There is a bakery in town that makes the best whoopie pies in the whole world. That is until I tried to make them myself using this recipe. From now on this is the best whoopie pie ever! The cakes are moist yet firm enough to be handle. I did limit the amount of sugar in the filling to 4 cups. Thank you for a great dessert!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2005

      These are good pies and am a maine native but am sorry to say they did not start in maine, the amish brought this recipe with them when they came to the united states in the 1800's.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2004

      I won first place in the cookie baking division of a local Exhibition several years back. Funny thing is my sister won first place in her local exhibition with the same recipe in the same year! It's an excellent cookie and a real treat. My kids always loved them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2004

      A Pennsylvanian here who loves whoopy pies too. The chocolate whoopy pies are very good but you've got to try pumpkin whoopy pies Pumpkin Whoopie Pies. If you like pumpkin, you're in for an awesome treat!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2004

      Wow! A little rich, but if you like rich, they are the best thing happening. I saw another recipe by this person and that was great, so I took another look. Thanks for posting them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2004

      Thank you so much for posting this recipe! I haven't had Whoopie Pies since my grandmother made them for us when we were kids. They are fun to make and very delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2004

      Yummy Maine classics! Whoopie pies freeze well also.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2003

      My husband says these rate Ten Stars. I had a neighbor from Pensylvania and she would make these for us every now and then. I forgot all about them until I came across your recipe. I dropped the dough by heaping tablespoons about three inches apart and made twenty eight cookis halves and had more batter left so I decided to use a teaspoon and was able to have enough to make another 12 Mini ones. These are sinfully good with a nice tall cold glass of milk.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Very Yummy Whoopie Pies

    Serving Size: 1 (163 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 15

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 684.0
     
    Calories from Fat 302
    44%
    Total Fat 33.5 g
    51%
    Saturated Fat 8.8 g
    44%
    Cholesterol 14.6 mg
    4%
    Sodium 556.3 mg
    23%
    Total Carbohydrate 93.6 g
    31%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 66.7 g
    267%
    Protein 3.6 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites