Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Very Vanilla Cupcakes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Very Vanilla Cupcakes

    Average Rating:

    26 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 26

    Sort by:

    • on November 04, 2013

      These cupcakes are delicious. They are a little dry. And a little too sugary.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2012

      made these this morning. they are good but not great. mine turned out a bit oily for some reason. i followed the recipe and only used real butter, real vanilla etc. the flavor is slight, not bad in any way, just wish they had more vanilla flavor. maybe next time i'll experiment with vanilla bean. this is a good base recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2011

      I selected this recipe to use as "a part" of another... "Boston Cream Cupcakes" recipe that I saw last week on TV with Chef Lydia - a well known Italian lady and cook. I used this recipe after reading about 10 - as it seemed just perfect for my needs. I admit to "doctoring" the recipe a little... I added more vanilla extract, another 1/4 tablespoon or so; added 1/4 teaspoon almond extract and the grated peel of a quite small lemon - could have used orange peel also, but I had the small lemon right at hand. All I can say is these were killer!!! I don't actually adore dessert, not a big sweets eater but had 12 women for dinner at home and needed to provide dessert. So, I made these cupcakes; let them cool, sliced off the top - 1/4" or 1/2".... I put a big tablespoon of cooked vanilla pudding on the bottom half, put the top back on and squished them down a little so both sides stick together. Then I put the cupcakes on pan with a rack insert, poured Bakers Semi-Sweet chocolate I had melted into a thick pourable consistency to use as a topping". The result? One delicious cupcake with pudding in every bite and a little chocolate topping - YUM, YUM, YUM!

      Even though I'm not a real dessert person, I thought these were just delicious. Everyone loved them. I will make these again and again, the hardest part? Mixing the cooking pudding, it tkes a lot of time and you have to stay there so it doesn't scorch/burn..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2011

      These were SO good! Made them for an office party and everyone loved them, so easy to make also. The recipe made more then 24 standard cupcakes, I got 12 mini cupcakes also out of the batter. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2010

      I just LOVE this recipe. I actually use gluten-free flour and they still come out perfectly. Sometimes I'll throw some chocolate chips or some crushed pecans in the batter at the very end and no matter what they still come out nicely. I use the cinnamon-creme fraiche frosting recipe with it. My family LOVES them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2010

      These cupcakes are perfect! I have been using this as my "basic" recipe and just adding whatever other ingredients I need to suit my needs. So glad I found this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2010

      To put it mildly THESE ARE FANTASTIC!!! My one and only problem with these is the fact that I used all my butter making the cupcakes, and I really wanted to make buttercream frosting to put on them. But still was not disappointed in the least in the flavor and texture. What a perfect cupcake! Never again will I buy them at the store, not with this recipe on hand. In order to not over mix these, I beat the dry ingredients and milk in the butter, sugar mixture by hand. Wonderful!! HMMM. It's 4am, I wonder if anyone would notice this only made 12 and not 24? yummmmie. Thank you for sharing

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2010

      I made these one lazy Sunday afternoon. The recipe is simple and the results were tasty (great clean vanilla flavor). I halved the butter (only one stick) and used 1 and 1/3 cup of nf milk to bring down some of the fat but keep consistency-- probably not as moist, but still very good and not crumbly. Paired with a low fat rasberry cream cheese frosting-- so good! Thanks for this recipe staple!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2010

      Really enjoyed the flavour, the texture was light and fluffy but...mine sunk before they got out of the oven??? Made 48 mini cupcakes with half the recipe. Will make again & hope they stay up because the taste & texture was very good. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2009

      I loved it! It's very vanilla indeed. Just a note: if you accidently put in baking soda instead of baking powder like I did, cupcakes *may* explode...but the vanilla flavor still comes through. I'll make it again for sure and be positive I use baking powder! I split the recipe in half with no problems and frosted these with a yummy strawberries and cream frosting from SophistiMom's website. It was a B-day present for my awesome friend :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2009

      These cupcakes freaking ROCK. I absolutely love them...so does my family. They're not too sweet, but just right. I'll never use another recipe for vanilla cupcakes. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2009

      have made twice and will make again. i have changed this up by using fruit puree and small fruit chunks in place of the milk to have mango vanilla cupcakes as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2009

      I did use vanilla sugar (Dr. Oether's original vanilla sugar) and topped mine with a handful of fruit loops before baking. When cool I sprinkled with confectioners' sugar and the kids went wild. Made for Prop It Up, a tag game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2008

      These were soooo good. They tasted just like the yellow cake Publix makes-Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2007

      I made these for a dinner party and everyone loved them! The kids gobbled them up! The cake was very moist with the perfect sweetness. Maybe the other reviewers mixed the batter too much. That tends to make cake batters turn out dry and crumbly when baked. I had great success with this. The batter was light and fluffy like it said and I followed the recipe exactly. I frosted with my homemade buttercream icing and sprinkles. I would definitely recommend! If you like vanilla, you will love these!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2007

      Well, like Neneldae said the batter tastes much better than the finished product. After baking it did have the texture and flavor of cornbread. It was really dry and rough. Maybe I mixed it a little to much?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2007

      I followed the recipe exactly, and the cupcakes turned out great. The batter was so light and fluffy that I wanted to just eat it rather than bake them (possibly a pregnancy craving), but the finished product was great, too. My kids and husband loved them. I do think they make more than 24--I probably could have made 4 more and been fine. As it was, the cups sort of overflowed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2006

      The batter tasted better than the finished product. My children described them as "cornbread with sugar" I am not sure why they had a course texture? I followed the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2005

      The cupcakes came out very moist with wonderful flavor. I have a gas oven so I only had to cook for 19 minutes. I will definately make these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2005

      Nice vanilla flavor but not as moist as I like.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Very Vanilla Cupcakes

    Serving Size: 1 (1363 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 191.9
     
    Calories from Fat 80
    42%
    Total Fat 8.9 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 5.3 g
    26%
    Cholesterol 52.7 mg
    17%
    Sodium 178.6 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 25.2 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 14.6 g
    58%
    Protein 2.8 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites