Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Very Slow Cooking Red Beans and Rice Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Very Slow Cooking Red Beans and Rice

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on February 12, 2014

      Wow! This was really, really good! I didn't change a thing and will make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2010

      My husband is from Louisiana and he's been telling me how red beans & Rice are his fav. I didn't know what the big deal was until I made this last night. I never had Red beans and Rice in my life, but your dish was AWESOME!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2009

      I am a native of New Orleans, and grew up eating Red Beans & Rice. I had never had then with tomato sauce and tomato paste added. I thought I would try a new way to fix them. They were very good. I added choppped onion to the beans when I started them in the along with the garlic and other spices. I let the beans cook soft in the crockpot and then I cut up the Cajun Sausage (not Andoulille) and fried it in a cast iron skillet and rendered the fat. Drained on paper towels and added to beans. All in all a very tasty meal with just a few changes. Will make again. Prepared for the Rajun Cajun Photo Tag game Sept 2009.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2008

      I've never used dry beans before and this was a great recipe for my first try! I tried it after 6 hours but still had several hard beans so I cranked up my crockpot and they were great in about 2 more hours. Like a previous poster said, it probably depends a lot on your crockpot. My husband doesn't eat spicy foods and he loved this recipe. I loved it too and was able to add hot sauce to my portion and it was still delicious! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2008

      This is really delicious! I used 1.75 teaspoons cajun seasoning (w/o salt, from this site). I've never seen cajun kielbasa (how do you make Cajun Polish sausage anyway?), so I used turkey kielbasa (great lower cal/fat alternative). Also, I cooked it on low for 6 hours (after trying other recipes, I think you don't need more than 6 hours for beans, but it does depend on your crockpot). Next time, I think I'll add 2.25t cajun seasoning or just add a little more cayenne to my mix for more kick.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2007

      we didn't like this. it was dry and reminded us of beans & weenies from a can.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2007

      This is a wonderful recipe! The only change that I made was to use spicy soy sausage as I cannot eat meat products. Everyone around here kept commenting on the wonderful aromas while it was cooking. Great flavours and thanks for taking the boring out of some vegetarian bean recipes! - cgyvegan

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2007

      Grrrrrrrrrrreat ! I used healthy choice sausage but other than that did not change a thing. We l-ov-e-d it !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2006

      This was easy and very good. I added some celery to it. Used approximately 2 tsp. cajun seasoning and probably could have used more. I used a smoked sausage rather than cajun sausage.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2006

      Wonderful! I made these yesterday for my DH and he just loved them! I used andouille sausage and DH added some hot sauce to his. I made as posted ~ a very easy recipe. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2006

      This was fabulous! I didn't have any kielbasa, but I was too antsy to wait until grocery day, so I made it without, and it was still very tasty. Lots of leftovers to take for lunches next week, too. This will become a standard at my house, I'm sure!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2005

      Wow Lanae...this is a wonderful dish! I wanted to make it a little meatier, so I added some boneless pork ribs and a few chunks of leftover ham. Other than that I did not change a thing. The beans were nice and thick and the flavors blended together perfectly. Who would have thought something so simple would be this good. We served it with a little diced onion on top and some extra hot sauce on the side. Thanks for a real keeper!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Very Slow Cooking Red Beans and Rice

    Serving Size: 1 (228 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 219.3
     
    Calories from Fat 143
    65%
    Total Fat 15.9 g
    24%
    Saturated Fat 5.3 g
    26%
    Cholesterol 37.3 mg
    12%
    Sodium 1419.6 mg
    59%
    Total Carbohydrate 10.3 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 1.4 g
    5%
    Sugars 4.7 g
    19%
    Protein 10.7 g
    21%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites