39 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Excellent! Everyone enjoyed this drink and I had several request for the recipe. Yes, it does make a large batch, so some of you may want to cut the recipe in half.

25 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charlotte J November 23, 2001

I had never had Hot Buttered Rum before, but this was so rick it was decadent! I am going to keep the mixture in my freezer all winter! We made both alcholic and non-alcoholic drinks and everyone gave it a thumbs up!

20 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mysterygirl December 26, 2001

This is great! I plan on making this for the holidays. Although the rum was a bit much! I made the drink again the next time with about half the rum called for and it was perfect.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kathleen Jones November 10, 2001

I have been using this recipe for years and it is GREAT for everyone in the family. It is just as sumptuous without the Rum as it is with, so the children, the pregnant, and the teatotaler can toast the new year in with the rest. Thank you much for having this in your collection.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kay Kolves December 19, 2001

I actually made this recipe for the first time two years ago but apparently forgot to rate it - probably because I was in sweet sugar high after tasting this drink! It's wonderful: smooth, rich, sweet and comforting. I prefer to start by creaming together the butter, the sugars and the spices and then adding the soft ice cream: gives a smoother batter with no butter lumps. This is a great recipe and will get made over and over again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stormylee December 27, 2004

Delicious, warm and comforting! Very easy to prepare and store (I have the remaining batter in an airtight container in my freezer) - perfect for serving to last minute guests coming in from the cold. The taste is so rich and creamy. I halved the recipe and everything came out great - very accurate measurements.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HeatherFeather November 14, 2002

I've never had hot buttered rum before and I had no idea how fabulous it is! Very easy to make and very rich indeed. As another reviewer suggested, I'm looking forward to trying in my coffee. I made a 1/4 recipe which should last my husband and I through the winter. The amounts for a 1/4 recipe are as follows: 1/2 cup (1 stick) butter, 1 cup powdered sugar, 1/2 cup brown sugar, 1/2 tsp. cinnamon, 1/4 tsp. nutmeg, and about 1 cup ice cream.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Delicious as it Looks August 29, 2013

Excellent recipe-I keep this in freezer at all times. I have also used hot cider and spiced tea in place of the hot water and both are excellent. I like to divide the mixture evenly and place in muffin cups lined with cupcake papers, freeze, then place each "muffin' in a zippered freeer bag. I empty the contents of 1 "muffin" into each mug when getting it ready to serve. Freshly grated rather than dried and ground nutmeg makes a world of difference to the overall taste!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CookiesMommy December 27, 2012

This is my treat for me for the winter. Delicious!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Briteyz March 26, 2010

I've never had Hot Buttered Rum before, but I thought it was very good. It's really rich, so I don't think I'd have it very often, but we shoveled snow all day and this hit the spot after being in the cold for so long!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jenny B@IL February 10, 2010
Very Rich Hot Buttered Rum