54 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is such a delicious recipe! Really reminded me of vegetable korma, my favorite when ordering out. I was afraid it would taste too tomato-ey when I tasted it in the pan, but over basmati rice it was amazing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hollygolightly12 January 17, 2013

This recipe is great for a weeknight meal. It's easy and it's flavorful. DH said, "it's very filling" (and we didn't even eat all of it, like we sometimes are bad and do). I subbed half and half and a can of organic cream of tomato soup. I'd use half and half again, but might experiment with the soup or brand of soup next time (there will definitely be a next time). We served over basmati rice and with a side of Trader Joe's garlic naan. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dr. Jenny January 09, 2013

This is great! I used ghee instead of oil, and diced tomatoes instead of the soup, omitted cilantro. And I halved the measures of spices - turned out that was the perfect amount for us. I wanted to add paneer cheese, but had no time to make any so I used cubed feta and it was fabulous. I will make this often because it's so versatile. Next time green peas, paneer cheese, and cauliflower for potatoes as another reviewer suggested. Thanks so much !

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kathy228 December 07, 2012

I found this recipe years ago on Allrecipes (posted by sushi0306), and it has since become one of my absolute favorite dishes EVER. I always use homemade tomato sauce rather than the canned soup, but otherwise follow this simple recipe to a T. I've doubled it for company, and it turns out fantastic no matter what I do. This is truly one of those dishes people cannot believe is homemade--it's restaurant-quality. Another, healthier variation I often follow is to substitute roasted cauliflower for the potatoes; I just add the cauliflower in later to the end time than I would the potatoes. Basically, a perfect recipe I'll be making probably forever!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hannahactually December 02, 2012

This. Was. Awesome!!! I love butter chicken and I really couldn't get over how fast this was - it took longer for me to boil the potatoes! I think this will definitely be a go to for days I want something fast. Faster than a frozen pizza!! Made for ZWT 8

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cadillacgirl August 23, 2012

Quick, easy, and very tasty. My non-vegetarian husband like me to make a double batch on Sunday so he can eat the left overs for lunches the following week. We like to serve it over brown rice for extra texture.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bebefisher June 24, 2012

oh this was so awesome!!! I think this is my new favorite vegetarian meal. THANK YOU Karen Elizabeth, I could kiss you! I subbed milk for cream and used Muir Glen creamy tomato bisque because I'm trying to avoid HFCS for the kiddos (Campbell's tomato soup has it in the states). I also added a little sour cream to theirs to cut the spicy. Served it over couscous - and used 1 cup of dried couscous, next time I'll use 1.5-2. I actually snuck back in the kitchen after the kids were in bed and had another bowl... It was truly great.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lolablitz January 06, 2012

Easy and yummy! We made it with brown rice, which wasn't quiet as good. Stick with the jasmine rice.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AllergyGirl January 05, 2012

This was excellent - fast, adaptable and nutritious - what more could you ask for? After reading the reviews I was confident to make substitutions: milk istead of cream, peas instead of potatos, red pepper soup in place of tomato and it was lovely. I expect this would be good sauce for any number of vegetable combinations.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mgnbos November 01, 2011
Very Quick Butter Chickpeas (Vegetarian Butter Chicken!)