Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Very Quick Butter Chickpeas (Vegetarian Butter Chicken!) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Very Quick Butter Chickpeas (Vegetarian Butter Chicken!)

    Average Rating:

    54 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 54

    Sort by:

    • on September 24, 2011

      This dish rates at the top of my favorite chickpea dishes. The flavors were perfect and we loved the combination of chickpeas and potatoes with the delicious butter sauce. I served this dish along with your "I love Palak Paneer" (Spinach and Cheese Curry) and we had a wonderful Indian dinner at home. I will definitely be making these dishes again! Made for the AUS/NZ Tag Game, Septmber, 2011.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2011

      This is delicious - and even more so when you take into account how easy this is to make. I did cook my own chickpeas - it's easy to do and if you freeze them in can-sized portions, you have them ready at all times. I also used fresh ginger instead of the powdered, used half-and-half instead of cream and added perhaps 1/2 cup of peas. I did not add any salt, not needed. I will try to figure out a good way to substitute for the tomato soup to reduce the sodium, but will keep a can of tomato soup around for those emergency needs for a curry. Rose made a very nice accompaniment. A complete winner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2011

      I use this site all the time but I actually signed up to rave about this amazing recipe. I couldn't believe how quick it was. I am used to slaving over my curries for hours and when this came out so well I was honestly shocked. I cooked it for my boyfriend who LOVED it and was practically doing back flips when he tasted it and now he wants to eat it every day. I used Philadelphia Cream For Cooking (I'd never tried it before - it was new in the shops) and it was fantastic. This is going to become a regular dish in our house, thankyou so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2011

      My family really enjoyed this dish and it had a wonderful flavor-it was one of the simplest but tastiest Indian dishes that I have ever made. I made this for Best of 2010 Cookbook Tag. Thanks for a new family favorite!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2011

      Loved this quick and easy version of an Indian classic. Using canned chickpeas and a can of soup isn't exactly traditional, but it cooked up so quick and with great flavor. I'll definitely be adding this to my list of vegetarian recipes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2011

      Delicious. I love Indian food, but always thought it was too complicated to make for myself. Not all the case with this easy recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2010

      Really, really good. I only left out the coriander since I don't have any on hand and added some paneer, which went really well with the flavors. Next time, I think I will try substituting some of the solid items with tofu to give it some more low calorie protein. Everyone who tried this dish said it was even better than the butter chicken we've had at restaurants.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2010

      Oh. My. God. DELICIOUS! This is a fantastic dish; when I first tasted the sauce before putting in the chickpeas I gasped out loud it was so, so yummy! I took Eatrealfood' advice and pureed the sauce in a blender before putting in the chickpeas and I really feel it helped the dish a lot by making it super-creamy and smooth. I'm also not a tomato fan so it was nice to use the soup instead of chopped tomatoes because it wasn't too acidic or tomato-y. I'm excited to take this to work tomorrow for lunch and will absolutely be making it again! Thanks for the great recipe :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2010

      Great! I used 2% milk instead of cream, and it still had a pleasant richness. I served it with rice cooked in coconut milk.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2010

      Very good! I took another reviewer's suggestion and tossed the sauce in the blender (saved even more time on prep cutting onions) The spices are perfectly balanced and the tomato soup really works to give a little extra something. I did make one mistake though. I ended up simmering my sauce to long and it lost some of the original flavor. I really recommend that you follow the recipe and only simmer for 5 minutes or so. Next time I may sub in cubed tofu for the potatoes. Thanks for this one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2010

      I have made this again and again and again. It's quick and easy, inexpensive, nutritious...who could ask for more! It makes a mild curry that actually tastes better than some vegetarian curries that I have slaved over for hours. I will continue making it again and again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2010

      Really enjoyed this, but it did need longer for the chickpeas to be done. Lovely flavour though!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2010

      I was afraid, with all that condensed soup, this was going to taste something like chickpea ketchup. No fear! The magic of indian spices (and, added by me, a touch of lemon juice) create a creamy and succulent meld of flavours. I just wish I'd made a double batch! I used unsweetened soymilk and diced regular potatoes. Yet another prop for this dish is that it was on the table, including basmati rice, in 35 minutes. I'd call it a keeper, for sure! Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2010

      This was so quick and easy, and tasted AMAZING! I have never bought condensed canned soup before this, but I think I might keep a can on hand to throw this together if company ever shows up, LOL. I did sub half almond milk and half soy creamer for the heavy cream to make it vegan. Thanks for sharing this!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2010

      DH enjoyed this for his dinner. I enjoyed how easy it was to put together. I did use olive oil instead of canola oil. Made for NA*ME Tag

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2010

      Oh. My. Goodness. This is great!!! I am glad DH wasn't home to have some of this, as I think he would never take me out for aloo chole ever again LOL! I used only 1 T of oil, and used 1% milk instead of cream (really didn't seem to make a huge difference). The portions of this dish are HUGE and quite hearty. I served it over cooked brown rice, but really wish I had taken the time to make buttered basmati rice or, even better, fresh naan. Thanks so much for posting! Made for our VIP chef, Veg*n Swap #19.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2010

      How easy was that? I think this is going to be my new method of putting together a very quick curry when I don't have the 'proper' makings. Very yummy and perfect with a good nan bread. Made for vegetarian swap.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2010

      Wow! What a keeper this one is! I don't know what I was expecting, but this is knock-your-socks off good! And I even substituted almond milk for the cream, and sweet potatoes for the potatoes. The spices were a great combination, they all melded together to form a single outstanding flavor. And on top of being good, it was so easy to make. I'm definitely saving it in my "good enough for company" cookbook. This would be perfect when guests drop in on short notice because it uses mostly pantry staples (or quick substitutes).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2010

      This was outstanding! And it lends itself to some variations. We used vegetarian "chicken" instead of the chickpeas and potatoes, and milk in place of the cream, The soup was Trader Joe's (uncondensed). And we did not have the coriander. And the recipe still tasted just like restaurant butter chicken. The spicing is perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2010

      My husband is Indian and we're both vegetarians, I cook Indian food about 3 times a week. I have never been very good at making tomato based curries but this turned out so well, the idea of using a condensed tomato soup is ingenious. We both loved it and set very high standards for Indian food. I think I will start using the soup from now on for creamy tomato based dishes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Very Quick Butter Chickpeas (Vegetarian Butter Chicken!)

    Serving Size: 1 (276 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 3

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 448.9
     
    Calories from Fat 214
    47%
    Total Fat 23.8 g
    36%
    Saturated Fat 8.7 g
    43%
    Cholesterol 44.2 mg
    14%
    Sodium 1101.6 mg
    45%
    Total Carbohydrate 52.9 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 8.4 g
    33%
    Sugars 10.5 g
    42%
    Protein 9.3 g
    18%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites