Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Very Quick Butter Chickpeas (Vegetarian Butter Chicken!) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Very Quick Butter Chickpeas (Vegetarian Butter Chicken!)

    Average Rating:

    54 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 54

    Sort by:

    • on October 03, 2010

      This is really great! I love how versatile this is, sometimes I skip the soup and cream and throw in yogurt. I've added frozen peas, carrots or squash too and its always great. Cinnamon, nutmeg and cayenne are nice additions. If it's too runny I throw some in the blender and toss it back in to thicken it up. Really good over bulgur, couscous or brown rice. Freezes well too, I make enough for four meals and freeze it. Thanks for such a lovely recipe.

      Made it last night again DD came in and couldn't stop raving about how wonderful the house smelled. I had to bar everyone from the kitchen since it was oamc day and they wanted it now! thanks again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2012

      Delicious, thanks! I used a can of tomato soup and yogurt in place of the condensed soup and cream, and it turned out great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2011

      I was hesitant to make this recipe because I've used some of the spices it calls for with no success. I'm glad I did try it (most recipes on this website with 5 stars are delish!) because it turned out to be the first good indian-style dish I've ever made. Thanks!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2011

      This recipe is one of the best I have found on the internet. So simple. So versitile. SO DELICIOUS!!! Only difference I made was I made it with fake chicken cutlets instead of chickpeas. YUM!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2011

      I used dried chickpeas soaked overnight and grated fresh ginger instead of the dried kind, so my version wasn't as quick but still very tasty.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2011

      A friend of mine made this when we had a baby and my four year old son said: "This delicious meal is too good for me!" Needless to say, I've been making it ever since. Good and easy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2014

      I simply loved this last night. I subbed tomato sauce for the canned soup ( just can't stand that stuff) and it came out wonderful. It was much enjoyed with a brown and wild rice mix and a crisp green salad. Would most certainly make this again with a smile.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2013

      Easy and delicious! Loved all the spices. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2013

      Very tasty! I cut back a little on the spice quantities for my diners who are not used to seasonings, but there was still plenty of flavour. I had to make one substitution, using stewed tomatoes instead of the soup. Added some actual butter to the top and a squeeze of lemon to suit my taste buds.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2013

      This was delicious! I think I may have put too much cream in, but it was so lovely and creamy I might use that amount any time. Made pretty much as written, with the coriander left out since I really don't like it. I served on rice. Managed to get 5 meals of of this recipe and am freezing three of them. I used mild curry powder and it was just the right heat for me. Thanks for a wonderful, easy and quick dinner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2013

      This is such a delicious recipe! Really reminded me of vegetable korma, my favorite when ordering out. I was afraid it would taste too tomato-ey when I tasted it in the pan, but over basmati rice it was amazing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2013

      This recipe is great for a weeknight meal. It's easy and it's flavorful. DH said, "it's very filling" (and we didn't even eat all of it, like we sometimes are bad and do). I subbed half and half and a can of organic cream of tomato soup. I'd use half and half again, but might experiment with the soup or brand of soup next time (there will definitely be a next time). We served over basmati rice and with a side of Trader Joe's garlic naan. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2013

    • on December 07, 2012

      This is great! I used ghee instead of oil, and diced tomatoes instead of the soup, omitted cilantro. And I halved the measures of spices - turned out that was the perfect amount for us. I wanted to add paneer cheese, but had no time to make any so I used cubed feta and it was fabulous. I will make this often because it's so versatile. Next time green peas, paneer cheese, and cauliflower for potatoes as another reviewer suggested. Thanks so much !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2012

      I found this recipe years ago on Allrecipes (posted by sushi0306), and it has since become one of my absolute favorite dishes EVER. I always use homemade tomato sauce rather than the canned soup, but otherwise follow this simple recipe to a T. I've doubled it for company, and it turns out fantastic no matter what I do. This is truly one of those dishes people cannot believe is homemade--it's restaurant-quality. Another, healthier variation I often follow is to substitute roasted cauliflower for the potatoes; I just add the cauliflower in later to the end time than I would the potatoes. Basically, a perfect recipe I'll be making probably forever!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2012

      This. Was. Awesome!!! I love butter chicken and I really couldn't get over how fast this was - it took longer for me to boil the potatoes! I think this will definitely be a go to for days I want something fast. Faster than a frozen pizza!! Made for ZWT 8

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2012

      Quick, easy, and very tasty. My non-vegetarian husband like me to make a double batch on Sunday so he can eat the left overs for lunches the following week. We like to serve it over brown rice for extra texture.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2012

      oh this was so awesome!!! I think this is my new favorite vegetarian meal. THANK YOU Karen Elizabeth, I could kiss you! I subbed milk for cream and used Muir Glen creamy tomato bisque because I'm trying to avoid HFCS for the kiddos (Campbell's tomato soup has it in the states). I also added a little sour cream to theirs to cut the spicy. Served it over couscous - and used 1 cup of dried couscous, next time I'll use 1.5-2. I actually snuck back in the kitchen after the kids were in bed and had another bowl... It was truly great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2012

      Easy and yummy! We made it with brown rice, which wasn't quiet as good. Stick with the jasmine rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2011

      This was excellent - fast, adaptable and nutritious - what more could you ask for? After reading the reviews I was confident to make substitutions: milk istead of cream, peas instead of potatos, red pepper soup in place of tomato and it was lovely. I expect this would be good sauce for any number of vegetable combinations.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Very Quick Butter Chickpeas (Vegetarian Butter Chicken!)

    Serving Size: 1 (276 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 3

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 448.9
     
    Calories from Fat 214
    47%
    Total Fat 23.8 g
    36%
    Saturated Fat 8.7 g
    43%
    Cholesterol 44.2 mg
    14%
    Sodium 1101.6 mg
    45%
    Total Carbohydrate 52.9 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 8.4 g
    33%
    Sugars 10.5 g
    42%
    Protein 9.3 g
    18%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites