54 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is really great! I love how versatile this is, sometimes I skip the soup and cream and throw in yogurt. I've added frozen peas, carrots or squash too and its always great. Cinnamon, nutmeg and cayenne are nice additions. If it's too runny I throw some in the blender and toss it back in to thicken it up. Really good over bulgur, couscous or brown rice. Freezes well too, I make enough for four meals and freeze it. Thanks for such a lovely recipe.

Made it last night again DD came in and couldn't stop raving about how wonderful the house smelled. I had to bar everyone from the kitchen since it was oamc day and they wanted it now! thanks again

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nomadic_heart October 03, 2010

Delicious, thanks! I used a can of tomato soup and yogurt in place of the condensed soup and cream, and it turned out great.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
EB212 April 13, 2012

I was hesitant to make this recipe because I've used some of the spices it calls for with no success. I'm glad I did try it (most recipes on this website with 5 stars are delish!) because it turned out to be the first good indian-style dish I've ever made. Thanks!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kacie27 March 29, 2011

This recipe is one of the best I have found on the internet. So simple. So versitile. SO DELICIOUS!!! Only difference I made was I made it with fake chicken cutlets instead of chickpeas. YUM!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
krauonL March 06, 2011

I used dried chickpeas soaked overnight and grated fresh ginger instead of the dried kind, so my version wasn't as quick but still very tasty.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ummrabiah January 25, 2011

A friend of mine made this when we had a baby and my four year old son said: "This delicious meal is too good for me!" Needless to say, I've been making it ever since. Good and easy!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sarahalldesign January 08, 2011

I simply loved this last night. I subbed tomato sauce for the canned soup ( just can't stand that stuff) and it came out wonderful. It was much enjoyed with a brown and wild rice mix and a crisp green salad. Would most certainly make this again with a smile.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annacia July 13, 2014

Easy and delicious! Loved all the spices. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 December 06, 2013

Very tasty! I cut back a little on the spice quantities for my diners who are not used to seasonings, but there was still plenty of flavour. I had to make one substitution, using stewed tomatoes instead of the soup. Added some actual butter to the top and a squeeze of lemon to suit my taste buds.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Garlic Gnome April 16, 2013

This was delicious! I think I may have put too much cream in, but it was so lovely and creamy I might use that amount any time. Made pretty much as written, with the coriander left out since I really don't like it. I served on rice. Managed to get 5 meals of of this recipe and am freezing three of them. I used mild curry powder and it was just the right heat for me. Thanks for a wonderful, easy and quick dinner.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Satyne March 12, 2013
Very Quick Butter Chickpeas (Vegetarian Butter Chicken!)