Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Very Moist Banana Nut Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Very Moist Banana Nut Bread

    Average Rating:

    245 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 245

    Sort by:

    • on December 22, 2009

      I have used this reciepe for yrs also. It is the best ever. Very moist!! But I use 1 1/2 cups of sugar ,1 cup white n 1/2 brown. I find 2 cups to be to sweet. Also if you are n a hurry and don't have time for bananas to turn black or don't have any in the freezer, you can buy bananas n put them in the freezer till they freeze(about an hour) take them out, let them thaw, put them in a baggie in the fridge over nite. It will turn them black n mushy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2010

      Very good banana nut bread. I made 1 loaf and 12 small muffins. I used PAM to prevent the bread from sticking and it worked well. I baked my substituted whole walnuts in the oven for a few minutes, until they smelled roasted. Then chopped them and per another review, dusted them in flour, so they didn't all sink to the bottom when adding to the batter. I also added about 1/2 tsp cinnamon and a couple of dashes of nutmeg. Next time will add a smidge more of both! I cooked the muffins for 25 minutes and the bread for the hour recommended. I'm not a huge banana bread person, but I managed to scarf down 2 muffins with my coffee this morning! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2011

      I have made this bread about half a dozen times for my friends at work (we all take turns bringing stuff). It never fails to please. It is moist and sweet and delicious. The ripeness of the bananas is the most important thing in this recipe. I put 4 - 5 bananas in the fridge for about 2 weeks until they are solid black. The flavor is at it's peak at that point. Any longer could cause them to go bad. When they just turn all black, they are ready.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2011

      This is my ONLY banana bread recipe since I've found it! It is the most moist banana bread I've ever had! This is a new favorite at my job. I work as a daycare teacher, and when the bananas in our kitchen start to get to black to serve, I take them home to make this recipe. I have never been so excited about overripe bananas in all my life!!! So far, I've made it with pecans and chocolate chips, but it's also really good plain. I also never have buttermilk on hand, so like some of the other reviewers suggested, I use 1 Tbsp white vinegar and 1 c milk to substitute, other than that I wouldn't change a thing. Excellent recipe peppermintkitty!!! =]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2010

      Truly an EXCELLENT banana bread receipe!! I made a couple of tweaks due to lack of ingredients. I used 1/2 sugar 1/2 Splenda. I didn't have any buttermilk so found out you can use 1 Tbsp. of white vinegar and 1 cup of milk as a substitute, so I mixed that and then poured my 1/4 C. of "buttermilk". I also used pecans because I like extra nuts and its what I had!! I baked it in 4 mini loaves in my stoneware pan and it could not have been any yummier!! Thanks for sharing the receipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2009

      This is the best banana bread recipe I've ever come across! Not heavy or dry like so many, the texture is perfect and so moist. I didn't have buttermilk, so I used regular milk, but it came out so good both loaves were gone within an hour!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2008

      GREAT Recipe!! Absolutely loved it. Made some minor adjustments. Recipe called for 2 cups of sugar and I used 1 1/2 cups instead. It was very sweet still. I feel if I used the amount called for it would have been too sweet. I used Reduced Fat buttermilk. I also took another guests suggestion of letting the batter sit for 20-30 mins before putting in the oven. I am glad I choose this recipe to make my banana bread I had been crazing for so long...THANKS for a great recipe a definte keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2011

      This is the best recipe for banana nut bread that I have ever tried. My husband loved it! I used all organic ingredients and substituted the buttermilk for Kefir mixed with a little whole milk.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2011

      Really nice moist loaf. I folded in 1 cup of fresh picked raspberries instead of nuts and it was loved by all!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2010

      This was a very good banana bread. I used buttermilk and it came out very moist and heavy, but my son and husband loved it. It is a milder banana flavor so I would possibly add MORE banana to it and cut the liquids elsewhere. I also used 1/2 of the called for oil and substituted applesauce and it required about 5 extra minutes of baking time but still came out great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2010

      I really like this banana bread. This was my second time making it. This recipe makes a very sweet, very moist, dense (but not heavy) bread. It does get dark brown along the edges (due to the high sugar content) before the center is at that perfect, almost clean toothpick stage. The only reason for the 4 star rating is the ingredients are not in order of the steps for the recipe. Like another reviewer, I almost forgot to put the sugar in. I had poured it in the bread pans and tasted the batter. Knew that I missed something. Reviewed the ingredients and realized it was the sugar. Thanks peppermintkitty for sharing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2010

      I was looking for a new banana bread recipe for thanksgiving and stumbled upon this one. THEN i totally forgot the sugar...... haha it turned out amazing!!! My family ate it up within 2 hours and it made a huge loaf and a dozen muffins. The bananas added just the right amount of sweetness without the tons of calories.Give it a try if your looking for a healthier option :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2010

      My wife and I made this together ...shared it with friends ..nothings but raves

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2010

      Definitely a keeper! I did separate the eggs and beat the egg whites, then folded them in the batter. And I added a teaspoon of cinnamon because I've always done that with banana bread. It was moist, but not heavy as some have stated - perhaps beating the egg whites made it lighter????

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2009

      A Big Hit. I tried this recipe for my family and they loved it. My husband took some to work and they loved it there too... It is the perfect Banana Nut Bread Recipe. I also used sour cream instead of buttermilk and I used walnuts instead of pecan. I turned out perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2009

      Great texture but WAY TOO SWEET.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2008

      My boyfriend made these and they were to die for. We ate them for two weeks. Had to stick our bananas in the microwave for a bit because they weren't getting black enough. Also made sour milk using cream of tartar and milk. These turned out moist and perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2007

      Thank you for sharing this recipe! I altered it by doing the following: 4 banana's, 1 table spoon of Vanilla, 1/4 whole milk, 1/8 of a cup of malibu white rum (for extra added flavor and moisture), 1/4 tsp of cinnamon, and a touch of nutmeg Everything turned out wonderfully!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2013

      Just made this recipe, & it made 3 loaves (Med. size)!!...I have tried MANY Banana Bread recipes throughout the years & this is the Best & Easiest, I've ever come across!!..What a Great way to use up those overripe bananas & sour milk, too!!..I added Walnuts, instead of the Pecans!!...Gave a loaf to a neighbor & they even asked for the recipe!!..It is so Moist & it has a Wonderful Flavor, I will Definitely be making this, Again!!..I can't wait to try it for Banana Muffins!!..It will be added to the Holiday Gift Baskets, this year, for sure!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2014

      So moist and better than any I've ever bought from a bakery. I did make a few minor changes: I used half white sugar half brown sugar, I used 5 bananas-they had black dots all over but were not totally black as mentioned. I also used water instead of milk cuz I had no milk on hand and it came out amazing!!! I did not mix by hand- I combined dry ingredients in a bowl and put it aside, then starting with the bananas, I used a standing mixer, added all wet ingredients then added the dry ingredients 2 cups at a time until all was well combined. I did crush my own walnuts so the pieces were a little chunky which I didn't like so next time I will buy crushed walnuts. This recipe made me 2 mini loaves and 12 muffins. So if you're not making for a lot of people be prepared to freeze some or cut the recipe in half. Perfection!! Oh, and do not over cook it as it will lose its moistness.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 13

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Very Moist Banana Nut Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (68 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 24

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 226.7
     
    Calories from Fat 97
    43%
    Total Fat 10.8 g
    16%
    Saturated Fat 1.4 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 23.3 mg
    7%
    Sodium 130.5 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 30.9 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    5%
    Sugars 19.4 g
    77%
    Protein 2.7 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites