248 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I have used this reciepe for yrs also. It is the best ever. Very moist!! But I use 1 1/2 cups of sugar ,1 cup white n 1/2 brown. I find 2 cups to be to sweet. Also if you are n a hurry and don't have time for bananas to turn black or don't have any in the freezer, you can buy bananas n put them in the freezer till they freeze(about an hour) take them out, let them thaw, put them in a baggie in the fridge over nite. It will turn them black n mushy.

18 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cass_i2002 December 22, 2009

Very good banana nut bread. I made 1 loaf and 12 small muffins. I used PAM to prevent the bread from sticking and it worked well. I baked my substituted whole walnuts in the oven for a few minutes, until they smelled roasted. Then chopped them and per another review, dusted them in flour, so they didn't all sink to the bottom when adding to the batter. I also added about 1/2 tsp cinnamon and a couple of dashes of nutmeg. Next time will add a smidge more of both! I cooked the muffins for 25 minutes and the bread for the hour recommended. I'm not a huge banana bread person, but I managed to scarf down 2 muffins with my coffee this morning! Thanks!

9 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gidget265 May 21, 2010

I have made this bread about half a dozen times for my friends at work (we all take turns bringing stuff). It never fails to please. It is moist and sweet and delicious. The ripeness of the bananas is the most important thing in this recipe. I put 4 - 5 bananas in the fridge for about 2 weeks until they are solid black. The flavor is at it's peak at that point. Any longer could cause them to go bad. When they just turn all black, they are ready.

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mewmew August 24, 2011

This is my ONLY banana bread recipe since I've found it! It is the most moist banana bread I've ever had! This is a new favorite at my job. I work as a daycare teacher, and when the bananas in our kitchen start to get to black to serve, I take them home to make this recipe. I have never been so excited about overripe bananas in all my life!!! So far, I've made it with pecans and chocolate chips, but it's also really good plain. I also never have buttermilk on hand, so like some of the other reviewers suggested, I use 1 Tbsp white vinegar and 1 c milk to substitute, other than that I wouldn't change a thing. Excellent recipe peppermintkitty!!! =]

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Krystal-Belle February 06, 2011

Truly an EXCELLENT banana bread receipe!! I made a couple of tweaks due to lack of ingredients. I used 1/2 sugar 1/2 Splenda. I didn't have any buttermilk so found out you can use 1 Tbsp. of white vinegar and 1 cup of milk as a substitute, so I mixed that and then poured my 1/4 C. of "buttermilk". I also used pecans because I like extra nuts and its what I had!! I baked it in 4 mini loaves in my stoneware pan and it could not have been any yummier!! Thanks for sharing the receipe!!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CDMatt April 05, 2010

This is the best banana bread recipe I've ever come across! Not heavy or dry like so many, the texture is perfect and so moist. I didn't have buttermilk, so I used regular milk, but it came out so good both loaves were gone within an hour!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vampkatt65 September 17, 2009

GREAT Recipe!! Absolutely loved it. Made some minor adjustments. Recipe called for 2 cups of sugar and I used 1 1/2 cups instead. It was very sweet still. I feel if I used the amount called for it would have been too sweet. I used Reduced Fat buttermilk. I also took another guests suggestion of letting the batter sit for 20-30 mins before putting in the oven. I am glad I choose this recipe to make my banana bread I had been crazing for so long...THANKS for a great recipe a definte keeper.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SUZIQ80 April 14, 2008

This is the best recipe for banana nut bread that I have ever tried. My husband loved it! I used all organic ingredients and substituted the buttermilk for Kefir mixed with a little whole milk.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lwgrl01 February 21, 2011

Really nice moist loaf. I folded in 1 cup of fresh picked raspberries instead of nuts and it was loved by all!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
under12parsecs August 18, 2011

This was a very good banana bread. I used buttermilk and it came out very moist and heavy, but my son and husband loved it. It is a milder banana flavor so I would possibly add MORE banana to it and cut the liquids elsewhere. I also used 1/2 of the called for oil and substituted applesauce and it required about 5 extra minutes of baking time but still came out great.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ibdsassy1 December 13, 2010
Very Moist Banana Nut Bread