15 Reviews

Yum Yum! I did as most other reviewers suggested and played with this a bit. I used 5 sweet potatoes, 1 onion, 1 apple, 1 can of condensed chicken stock and topped up with water. once it all cooked, I removed a lot of liquid (I was worried it would be too runny, and always easier to add liquid back in). I added it back until I got the consistency I liked (I also added cream to taste/consistency). And a nice big sprinkle of all spice. It was a huge hit at our Thanksgiving lunch. My almost 1 yr old daughter loved it too!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sandra E. October 09, 2011

Loved this! Had to have something rich to warm me up on the first truly chilly day this Fall, and I'm so glad I found this recipe. Like some of the other reviewers, I opted to include some extra ingredients (onion, garlic, nonfat greek yogurt in lieu of half-and-half), and the soup was simply phenomenal! Satisfying, and VERY low in fat! Do yourself a favor and try this...

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Handsome Duo October 11, 2009

I'm not joking when I say this, but this is only about the 3rd or 4th from scratch/not from a packet soup I've ever made in my life, and its the very first "creamy" one I've ever attempted, in a crock pot no doubt. I'm a bit of a novice, (at 29 sadly) but what I'm getting at, is that this recipe was was so easy and basic and fool proof even I didn't screw it up. I even added 2 cut up apples and milk used a split of milk and 1/2&half. I was actually quite proud of myself for cooking something I would actually serve to another person and not be worried if it was good enough. A small spoonful of low fat sour cream and sliced green onion on top? hells ya.<br/>Thanks so much for this cooking boost of confidence- totally gonna try more healthy recipes now!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jenna M. February 24, 2014

Delicious! I used 3 sweet potatoes and added an acorn squash. I also substituted vegetable broth and greek yogurt, and added garlic. Next time though, I want to add the garlic at the very beginning because it was still kind of crunchy when I added half-way through. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Keee January 04, 2011

I altered the recipe a bit. I left the skin on the sweet potatoes before dicing, to get all the nutritional value. Instead of chicken broth, I used 4 cups water & 1/2 of a vegetable boullion cube. I also added 2 cloves minced garlic. Turned out deliciously creamy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nutrition&Fitness March 21, 2010

Too good. Tastes bad for you but really is good for you. Love it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hotcooking_21 July 26, 2009

Great soup! I didn't have time for the crock-pot so I made it on the stove by boiling the sweet potatoes in the broth (I added an onion like other reviewers have noted) and then pureeing in my food processor - I did halve the allspice. The end result was a thick and creamy sweet tasting soup. I didn't use the splenda either - the sweet potatoes were sweet enough!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brooke the Cook in WI March 12, 2009

I used 2 large sweet potatoes instead of 4 medium, added nutmeg & cinnamon instead of allspice. Added 1/2 t salt, 1 c half-n-half + 1/2 c skim milk, and 3 pkts splenda. Everything fit in my mini crock pot perfectly. I used my hand mixer to puree the cooked sweet potatoes b/c I didn't want something else to wash! :) The soup was delicious, not knock-your-socks off, but very tasty... and filling! I liked the subtle flavors quite a bit. The soup was thick but it was not like eating mashed sweet potatoes. Next time, I want to try adding a cut up apple or pear.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Impera_Magna March 10, 2008

I can say that I loved this recipe before adding the half-and-half. Funny thing is, after that, I just liked it! I will definitley make again and just leave out the creamy part. Personal preference I guess.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
punkarooni March 18, 2007

I made this twice. The first time I added one small onion and two cloves of garlic, and the second time I added three carrots. I much preferred the carrots, although I generally find heavily onion/garlic flavored foods a bit nauseating (e.g., roasted garlic mashed potatoes). Also, the recipe was a little thick for. It worked best for me with 3 medium sweet potatoes and 2 cups of chicken broth. What I love about this recipe is that there so much leeway for tweaking! I used less Splenda, replaced the allspice with copious dashes of cinnamon, and halved the half-and-half. It's incredibly healthy, creamy, and delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
db8_girl February 24, 2007
Very Low Fat Cream of Sweet Potato Soup in the Crock Pot