Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Very Low Fat Cream of Sweet Potato Soup in the Crock Pot Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Very Low Fat Cream of Sweet Potato Soup in the Crock Pot

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on October 09, 2011

      Yum Yum! I did as most other reviewers suggested and played with this a bit. I used 5 sweet potatoes, 1 onion, 1 apple, 1 can of condensed chicken stock and topped up with water. once it all cooked, I removed a lot of liquid (I was worried it would be too runny, and always easier to add liquid back in). I added it back until I got the consistency I liked (I also added cream to taste/consistency). And a nice big sprinkle of all spice. It was a huge hit at our Thanksgiving lunch. My almost 1 yr old daughter loved it too!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2009

      Loved this! Had to have something rich to warm me up on the first truly chilly day this Fall, and I'm so glad I found this recipe. Like some of the other reviewers, I opted to include some extra ingredients (onion, garlic, nonfat greek yogurt in lieu of half-and-half), and the soup was simply phenomenal! Satisfying, and VERY low in fat! Do yourself a favor and try this...

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2014

      I'm not joking when I say this, but this is only about the 3rd or 4th from scratch/not from a packet soup I've ever made in my life, and its the very first "creamy" one I've ever attempted, in a crock pot no doubt. I'm a bit of a novice, (at 29 sadly) but what I'm getting at, is that this recipe was was so easy and basic and fool proof even I didn't screw it up. I even added 2 cut up apples and milk used a split of milk and 1/2&half. I was actually quite proud of myself for cooking something I would actually serve to another person and not be worried if it was good enough. A small spoonful of low fat sour cream and sliced green onion on top? hells ya.<br/>Thanks so much for this cooking boost of confidence- totally gonna try more healthy recipes now!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2011

      Delicious! I used 3 sweet potatoes and added an acorn squash. I also substituted vegetable broth and greek yogurt, and added garlic. Next time though, I want to add the garlic at the very beginning because it was still kind of crunchy when I added half-way through. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2010

      I altered the recipe a bit. I left the skin on the sweet potatoes before dicing, to get all the nutritional value. Instead of chicken broth, I used 4 cups water & 1/2 of a vegetable boullion cube. I also added 2 cloves minced garlic. Turned out deliciously creamy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2009

      Too good. Tastes bad for you but really is good for you. Love it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2009

      Great soup! I didn't have time for the crock-pot so I made it on the stove by boiling the sweet potatoes in the broth (I added an onion like other reviewers have noted) and then pureeing in my food processor - I did halve the allspice. The end result was a thick and creamy sweet tasting soup. I didn't use the splenda either - the sweet potatoes were sweet enough!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2008

      I used 2 large sweet potatoes instead of 4 medium, added nutmeg & cinnamon instead of allspice. Added 1/2 t salt, 1 c half-n-half + 1/2 c skim milk, and 3 pkts splenda. Everything fit in my mini crock pot perfectly. I used my hand mixer to puree the cooked sweet potatoes b/c I didn't want something else to wash! :) The soup was delicious, not knock-your-socks off, but very tasty... and filling! I liked the subtle flavors quite a bit. The soup was thick but it was not like eating mashed sweet potatoes. Next time, I want to try adding a cut up apple or pear.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2007

      I can say that I loved this recipe before adding the half-and-half. Funny thing is, after that, I just liked it! I will definitley make again and just leave out the creamy part. Personal preference I guess.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2007

      I made this twice. The first time I added one small onion and two cloves of garlic, and the second time I added three carrots. I much preferred the carrots, although I generally find heavily onion/garlic flavored foods a bit nauseating (e.g., roasted garlic mashed potatoes). Also, the recipe was a little thick for. It worked best for me with 3 medium sweet potatoes and 2 cups of chicken broth. What I love about this recipe is that there so much leeway for tweaking! I used less Splenda, replaced the allspice with copious dashes of cinnamon, and halved the half-and-half. It's incredibly healthy, creamy, and delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2006

      Great recipe. Mine was really, really thick though! Like mashed potatoes. I ended up doubling the broth and it was still a very thick soup. Maybe my potatoes were just really big though. I also switched the sugar for garlic and onions. The aroma is great. The flavor is good, but didn't particularly wow me. Thanks for the post <3

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2006

      I made this by the directions. Part of us (including me) loved it as is. Another part of my family wanted it sweeter. I think next time I'll try the onions & garlic with it. I LOVE the fact that it's so low in calories & fat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2006

      Oh yumm, this was good! I followed another raters lead and added some onions and garlic as and left out the sugar as well. Next time I make this I'll try it with soy instead of dairy, but this is really great and a nice treat. Servied with a large green salad. It was super easy to make but looked like I spent hours in the kitchen making it. Thanks for posting, would make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2006

      This is sooooo wonderfully thick, rich and delicious (and simple, too)! I can't believe how low-fat it is. The texture is more like a bisque and it tastes like it should be 1000 calories. I used nice big yams and added the spices in while they cooked along with a little chopped onion. Using a stick blender makes it even simpler! My 16-month-old really devoured it! I'll make this again; thanx for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2005

      Couldn’t be simpler to make! Or more delicious! I added some onions and garlic, probably from some sort of insecurity about there being so few ingredients (!!!), and I left the soup bubbling away for six or seven hours, on high. Fabulous aroma as it cooked! I omitted the sugar: the sweet potatoes (and the ones I used were very fresh and juicy) were sweet enough for my taste, and I used Greek yoghurt instead of half-and-half. Just loved this soup, as did those whom I served it to, including the hard to please 85 year old whose chief pleasure seems to come from finding causes for complaint. This soup outfoxed him! Thank you, ladypit, for sharing such a fabulous recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Very Low Fat Cream of Sweet Potato Soup in the Crock Pot

    Serving Size: 1 (224 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 115.9
     
    Calories from Fat 9
    71%
    Total Fat 1.0 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.5 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 3.0 mg
    1%
    Sodium 445.0 mg
    18%
    Total Carbohydrate 23.6 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 2.6 g
    10%
    Sugars 7.2 g
    29%
    Protein 3.3 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes