90 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made this last year and never reviewed it. I loved it because it DIDN'T have tomato. I make one with tomatoes, but I tried this because it didn't for a change.
I loved it.
I did make 2 changes, just because I really love deep flavors and for me a bit or garlic flavor was needed. So I added a scallion or two and some minced garlic.
Otherwise, perfect.
I used frozen corn, but obviously, no difference with that.

A great recipe. And for a couple of reviewers who said it didn't keep well over night. Try adding the leftover to a quesadilla (where the texture is not as important) and top with cheese and grill. Serve some salsa and sour cream on the side for a great quick lunch. It makes an awesome quesadilla.

I loved the recipe, thx

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SarasotaCook April 28, 2011

Yum! 5 stars as an addition to tacos/burritos or as a salsa (not as much a fan of this just as a side dish). I used one can corn and one can black beans and left the other measurements the same. I didn't use any cilantro. I think I would add some tomato in the future, possibly even some cheese.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mandabacca November 09, 2010

I just made this to go with a tamale casserole I'm making for dinner. First of all, I love it because it's fast! I'm not chilling overnight, but it tastes very good anyway. I like light flavors when it comes to salads, so this is perfect for me. My four-year-old daughter took a bite and said, "You have to make this for dinner tomorrow, it's scrumptious!"...enough said :)

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
keramil May 24, 2011

This is a great recipe. I added chopped fresh tomato and a half an avocado. We eat with chips and also spoon over grilled chicken. Yum!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
usafwifeof4 October 08, 2010

I have never made nor eaten a bean salad before. So I thought this one looked good. Good is an understatement, it is fabulous. I followed the recipe exactly, well almost, I omitted cilantro and used parsley instead because I despise cilantro. This recipe is awesome, and it tastes better the second and third day. It's still in my fridge. This recipe is a keeper, thank you so much for posting it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mwils33 September 23, 2011

Yummy! Added avocado and it was fantastic!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BakerBeth April 12, 2011

Fantastic I ate it by itself, it didn't need tacos or burritos to with it. A fantastic dish to bring to work/school! And only 4 ww points.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bananabreadeater March 31, 2011

Only had one can of black beans so I used a can of red also - only had key lime juice and no cilantro so I used a little dried coriander (same flavor family). I made this for a church mexican food lunch and was afraid because the seasoning was so simple. Left out the red pepper for all of us light weights. Should not have worried. This was fresh and yummy and I look forward to compliments. Thank you for listing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ntludu January 06, 2008

This is so good! I make this as a side dish whenever I make Enchiladas or tacos and we always enjoy it. I've made this many times but for some reason I thought I had already reviewed it so I realized I better! Its light and refreshing and very easy to make!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Little Bee November 12, 2003

As a recently diagnosed diabetic, this recipe is perfect for me. I only added tomatoes and put it in a whole wheat wrap. Thanks for sharing it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hootyhoo February 16, 2015
Very Low-Fat Black Bean And Corn Salad