Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Very Low-Fat Black Bean And Corn Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Very Low-Fat Black Bean And Corn Salad

    Average Rating:

    86 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 86

    Sort by:

    • on April 28, 2011

      I made this last year and never reviewed it. I loved it because it DIDN'T have tomato. I make one with tomatoes, but I tried this because it didn't for a change.
      I loved it.
      I did make 2 changes, just because I really love deep flavors and for me a bit or garlic flavor was needed. So I added a scallion or two and some minced garlic.
      Otherwise, perfect.
      I used frozen corn, but obviously, no difference with that.

      A great recipe. And for a couple of reviewers who said it didn't keep well over night. Try adding the leftover to a quesadilla (where the texture is not as important) and top with cheese and grill. Serve some salsa and sour cream on the side for a great quick lunch. It makes an awesome quesadilla.

      I loved the recipe, thx

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2010

      Yum! 5 stars as an addition to tacos/burritos or as a salsa (not as much a fan of this just as a side dish). I used one can corn and one can black beans and left the other measurements the same. I didn't use any cilantro. I think I would add some tomato in the future, possibly even some cheese.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2011

      I just made this to go with a tamale casserole I'm making for dinner. First of all, I love it because it's fast! I'm not chilling overnight, but it tastes very good anyway. I like light flavors when it comes to salads, so this is perfect for me. My four-year-old daughter took a bite and said, "You have to make this for dinner tomorrow, it's scrumptious!"...enough said :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2010

      This is a great recipe. I added chopped fresh tomato and a half an avocado. We eat with chips and also spoon over grilled chicken. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2011

      I have never made nor eaten a bean salad before. So I thought this one looked good. Good is an understatement, it is fabulous. I followed the recipe exactly, well almost, I omitted cilantro and used parsley instead because I despise cilantro. This recipe is awesome, and it tastes better the second and third day. It's still in my fridge. This recipe is a keeper, thank you so much for posting it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2011

      Yummy! Added avocado and it was fantastic!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2011

      Fantastic I ate it by itself, it didn't need tacos or burritos to with it. A fantastic dish to bring to work/school! And only 4 ww points.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2008

      Only had one can of black beans so I used a can of red also - only had key lime juice and no cilantro so I used a little dried coriander (same flavor family). I made this for a church mexican food lunch and was afraid because the seasoning was so simple. Left out the red pepper for all of us light weights. Should not have worried. This was fresh and yummy and I look forward to compliments. Thank you for listing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2003

      This is so good! I make this as a side dish whenever I make Enchiladas or tacos and we always enjoy it. I've made this many times but for some reason I thought I had already reviewed it so I realized I better! Its light and refreshing and very easy to make!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2013

      This was very tasty and nice and light for a hot summers day. <br/>Here are the changes I made. I mixed the lime juice and oil and then added cumin and 1/8 teaspoon of cayenne. Added 4 cloves of chopped garlic and the onions. Let that marinate while I prepped the other ingredients. Chopped 3 small tomatoes, rinsed the beans as directed, and cut the corn off the cob . (leftovers from a bbq) Let it sit for a couple of hours.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2013

      So good and easy. I love this as a side dish nestled on a bed of crisp lettuce!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2013

      I loved this. I didn't have cilantro so I used cilantro essential oils. And garlic olive oil. thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2013

      I didn't have a red onion, so I substituted green onions and then added half a can (about 5 oz) of Red Gold Diced Tomatoes & Green Chilies. The latter provided the heat that we enjoy in Mexican dishes. These two recipes paired with Mexican rice, provided a filling dinner with a total of 12 PointsPlus.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2012

      thanks for post this recipe, I have been make this for years the only difference is. that i add garlic and minced jalapeno.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2012

      I make this regularly as a side dish for diner, or I serve it on jasmine or basmati rice as a main course for lunch. I love it! I sometimes mix it up by adding chick peas and/or chopped red bell pepper. Yum! Peaches and cream corn add a little sweetness to this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2011

      Very good - lots of flavor. Be careful not to stir too much so it doesn't get mushy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2011

      We weren't crazy about this salad. I thought it had too much lime flavor. It overpowered everything else. If I made it again, I would definitely taste it before putting in the full amount of lime juice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2011

      Yummm!! This is a very light, refreshing salad! I cut the recipe in half & had to use dried cilantro & lemon juice - what I hand on hand. Served this with chicken chimichangas.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2011

      This is a fresh,light summery dish. I GRILL fresh corn on the cob for extra flavor and the cut it off when it cools-but use frozen when in a time crunch. I serve with my "Margarita grilled chicken"

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2011

      I make this with a package of frozen white corn. It helps keep it cool when transporting, b/c I take this to almost every party during the summer. I use a little less cumin, just a personal taste thing. I very rarely bring any home.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Very Low-Fat Black Bean And Corn Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (137 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 105.3
     
    Calories from Fat 9
    40%
    Total Fat 1.1 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 384.2 mg
    16%
    Total Carbohydrate 20.9 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 5.4 g
    21%
    Sugars 2.2 g
    8%
    Protein 5.0 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites